Stayed while on business in Ahmedabad. Usually I would take a hotel near the office, but this time decided to venture elsewhere.
The check in was good, with quick service, and an explanation of the restaurants, breakfast buffet and free 24-hour wifi procedure. The rooms are not too large, but quite comfortable. Mine overlooked at main road, but from the 7th floor, it was a great view of the city and a beautiful sunrise both days of the stay. The room has a writing desk, TV, safe, mini fridge, tea-coffee maker. There is no cupboard, though there was an array of clothes hangers. The bathroom was adequate in size, with the entry door, when fully opened sealing the shower area tightly shut - clever piece of designing. The toiletries were inadequate, and only soap from a dispenser available. The shower area is separated from the room by transluscent glass - this is becoming more and more common, and I wonder what's the point?
They have a small in-room dining menu from an attached restaurant (not owned/managed by the hotel I presume), and also options to order from Mac Donald's or Subway - but for the latter one has to go and personally collect the food from the reception and pay to the delivery person in cash. I ordered a tomato-basil penne dish which came in plastic casserole packaging and tasted average. Air con worked well, the bed was queen size and comfortably gave me a good night's sleep. The TV had about 40 channels including foreign language channels.
Got a shock while showering when realized the soap dispenser was empty - bad housekeeping! Came out wet from the bathroom and filled up a glass with the soap from the dispenser next to the wash basin. Breakfast, included in the packages, was an adequate affair with sufficient choices of food and beverages. There was also variety on the two days that I was at the breakfast. Seating in the food area (it's open, so can't be called a restaurant) is limited to at times you have to share tables with others or wait for someone to finish eating.
I was disappointed that when I complained to the front desk about the missing soap in the dispenser, I did not even get an apology, rather a curt 'we'll tell the housekeeping to fill it up'! Coming to housekeeping, when I got back in the evening, I saw the bed made up, but the food plate (unused) from the last night was left behind, as was a salt sachet on the floor, some used creamer sachets in the middle of the room, the runner that I folded (not so neatly) and threw over the sofa the previous night just lying like that..........
The next day morning, history repeated - and I apparently had not learnt from my mistake. Again, mid shower I was made to realize - no soap in the dispenser! This time round I called the duty manager, who came, profusely apologized, took photos of the messy housekeeping. At checkout, to their credit, they gave me a Rs 300 discount on laundry charges, and an additional apology with an additional offer of arranging a vehicle for me should I need it to move about, which I declined.
In all, the stay was a let down and it will be a long time before I go back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
Greetings and thank you very much for taking time out of your schedule to leave such a detailed feedback. We are glad you had a comfortable room, hassle free check-in, a good night's sleep and a great view of the city.
However, the feedback we have received from you enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. I have passed your comments to the respective departments and certain issues have been addressed.
I would like to assure you, that we do endeavour to provide a consistently excellent standard of service with personalised care and attention. Your comfort and care is our primary concern and it would be our pleasure to welcome you through our doors once again, only so that we may restore your faith in us.
If you have any further queries or comments please do not hesitate to contact me.
Express Manager - Holiday Inn Express Ahmedabad Ashram Road
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.