We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Ahmedabad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Neemrana's Divan's Bungalow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Neemrana's Divan's Bungalow to your Saves list
Neemrana's Divan's Bungalow
Opposite Gaikwad Haveli, Raikhad II | M.B. Kadri Marg, Ahmedabad, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Sabang, Indonesia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Oasis in Ahmedabad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Such a beautiful building and sweet staff . The room very clean and large, with all the things you need . Hot shower and very comfortable bed with wi-fi access in your room. Great fresh breakfast by their garden. Highly recommend !! Note: to eat lunch or dinner book in advance.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Divan's Bungalow, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is with joy and gratitude that we at Neemrana receive your positive feedback about the Divan’s Bungalow heritage hotel in Ahmedabad.

Your appreciation about the kind service has been conveyed to the Manager and the team. We have also conveyed your compliments about the maintenance to the housekeeping team.

We thank you for your patronage to Divan’s Bungalow and the Neemrana brand in India. While we are grateful that you complete the viability cycle for any heritage ruin to be restored and then maintained for future generations, we urge you to continue on this less-travelled path.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
oosterbeek
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Airport pick up was smooth as was communication before arrival.
Wellcome very friendly.
Check in efficient.
Nice and clean room in an old bungalow built by a tax collector under the Raj.
Bathroom clean and good. Bed o.k.
Small garden adjacent to veranda where we took breakfast and dinner.
Tens and tens of sparrows in adjacent trees.
Manager helpfull and allso good and and reliable autorickshaw driver arranged by the hotel.
We would certainly stay here again when in Ahmedabad,

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Divan's Bungalow, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about the Divan’s Bungalow heritage hotel in Ahmedabad.

Your compliments about the efficient service have been conveyed to the Manager. We have also conveyed your appreciation about the maintenance to the housekeeping team.

It is heartening to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the dining experience as well as the birdlife.

We hope that as you continue to discover real India with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed in Divan's bungalow for 2 nights. We had a very bad experience reaching the hotel as it is located in a very narrow and congested area and the directions were very vague & at one point the person speaking to us was not sure of the access to even major landmarks near the hotel. We were driving almost 10 hours that day without lunch etc. and were looking forward to a quick checkin, shower and dinner. But due to the location and the absence of good directions our driver (who was also unfortunately not very familiar with this area), we took almost 2 hours going around before we landed at the hotel. Infact we had to request a hotel employee to meet us nearby and escort us as we were passing by repeatedly near it but missing it. It is badly lit which makes it even more difficult to locate (unless you are landing in Ahmedabad and get picked up by hotel transport). We reached around 9.30PM and the hotel was good enought to arrange a good dinner quickly.

We had the hotel to ourselves for most of the stay as we were the only guests. The rooms are decent and well fitted. But the place is very noisy as it is in a crowded locality with traffic till late in the night. To compund this on the night of checkin (when we were very tired), there was a Dussera Garbha dance with lots of high decible noise from the auditorium next door which made sleep impossible till beyond 1PM.

There is no room service and the rooms also don't have intercom. This is very big issue as we need to go down and request for every small thing (towels, supplies, travel information etc.). They made an exception and served most of our meals in our room. The cook and his support are wonderful and produced very good food to our tastes. The help who waited on us was very good and would not hesitate to go down and up many times to satisfy our requests. The staff clearly is working at sub-optimal conditions.

The property is a nice small gem, once inside. But there is nothing special otherwise for children etc.

As the price is quite high, it may be better to stay in better appointed places like MG House for a small increment, which is worth the effort due to better location and overall ambience & comforts.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Divan's Bungalow, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about the Divan’s Bungalow heritage hotel in Ahmedabad.

We are sorry to learn that your visit did not work out as expected. We are writing to apologise and to offer an explanation.

Since the property is located in the old city, all guests are sent a route map along with the booking confirmation email. The property is also registered on Google Maps for the convenience of our guests. Nevertheless, please be assured that the front office team has been given the necessary support and training so that incidents like this do not recur in the future.

Your appreciation about the cuisine and the warm hospitality has been conveyed to the Chef and the service team.

Your suggestions have been noted and we shall be taking the requisite action at the earliest. It is our endeavour to constantly improve our services and feedback such as yours helps us to do so.

We thank you for your visit and do hope that you will give us a fair chance to overlay your past experience with a fresh and memorable one.

Warm regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@nemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

A lovely week-end in a marvelous place. We spent two days with friends and really felt as "guest" of the house. The service was very nice, always trying to suit our needs. The breakfast were excellent - we had only breakfast. Staying at Diwan's Bungalow is like feeling at home.
A Great place to stay and visit a city out of the beaten tracks.

Room Tip: Choose either the big Divan room with the colourfull balconies or the rooms on the left side, a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Divan's Bungalow, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about the Divans Bungalow heritage hotel in Ahmedabad.

We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay in the Siraj Khana suite and have conveyed your compliments to the entire team.

Your appreciation about the breakfast has been conveyed to the Chef.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you at our 28 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at Divan's Bungalow for 6 nights and loved the place. In the middle of this ultra busy city :) an oasis of calm. Of course you hear the noise of the city, thats just India :)) But not to the extend it would bother.
The manager Pankaj and staff couldn't have been more attentive and helpful. A great place to be, breakfast was superb! a great variety of fresh fruit, fresh coconut water, always a cooked Indian dish, and toast and jam and or eggs. Sitting out in the garden enjoying our breakfast was the best start to the day :)
Our room and en suite bathroom was kept ultra clean. Always fresh bottled water in the room each day. We had some dinner there to, again superb food, yammy :)))
Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, A big thank you to Pankaj and staff for making our stay such a welcoming one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Divan's Bungalow, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about the Divan’s Bungalow heritage hotel in Ahmedabad.

We are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay at the property.

Your compliments about the warm and attentive hospitality have beenconveyed to the Manager and the team. We have also conveyed your compliments about the food and beverages to the Chef.

We hope that as you continue to travel with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

First, this is not cheap or budget accommodations. If you want to splurge a bit on character, this is the place. Not as good as the advertisement, but close enough I won't be to hard on them. Staff is nice with a good breakfast in the morning. Rooms are great and have very good bathrooms and showers. Negative is street noise is constant and pretty loud. This would apply to any inner city hotel though, so again hard to complain about the reality of a city this size. Like mentioned take ads with a grain of salt but I was still pretty happy.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Divan's Bungalow, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about the Divan’s Bungalow heritage hotel in Ahmedabad.

We are pleased to learn that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the facilities of the property.

Your compliments about the hospitality have been conveyed to the team.

We hope that as you continue to travel with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Ahmedabad is a busy city and Divan's Bungalow is a quiet haven. Yes it's in a relatively busy part of the old city but I'd much rather be in the character filled old city over the generic new any day! Rickshaws are at the door and its a few minutes to many of the attractions. We stayed in a lovely ground floor room, yes there was a little noise in the bathroom but close the bathroom's heavy wood door and it was quiet. The room was very large, with everything we needed. It was stylish, with lovely linens and bed covers, the beds comfy and the whole room impeccably clean. The garden courtyard where drinks, snacks and meals are served was a cool, quiet refuge. Best of all was the service, everyone was kind and helpful in every way from providing a hair dryer to sorting out a driver issue. I thought this was a bargain hotel and I will definitely return. If you are looking for something with character and creature comforts then this is the place!

Room Tip: Breakfast is delicious and definitely have at least one meal here as the food is good and it's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Divan's Bungalow, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to receive your warm and appreciative feedback about the Divan’s Bungalow heritage hotel in Ahmedabad.

Your compliments about the service and the warm hospitality have been conveyed to the team.
We have also conveyed your compliments about the cuisine to the Chef.

The 27 Neemrana 'non- hotel' Hotels across India are instrumental in and custodians of much of India's restored and revitalised architectural heritage. Seven hundred years of history, await humbly for you to extract all the joys of travelling and living out the essence of India in all its nobility and simplicity.

We thank you for your patronage to Divans’ Bungalow and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Neemrana's Divan's Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's Divan's Bungalow

Address: Opposite Gaikwad Haveli, Raikhad II | M.B. Kadri Marg, Ahmedabad, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 194 Specialty Lodging in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Neemrana's Divan's Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neemrana's Divan's Bungalow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.