We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third class experiance” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad to your Saves list
Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bhawan's College Road, Ahmedabad 380001, India (Formerly Hotel Sarovar Portico)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 143 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Pune, India
1 review
“Third class experiance”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

WE have there in 18th to 20th of December 2014.

It was very bad experience.

Room was not clean. Bathroom fittings are not working properly.
Late service.
High rate.
Not matching to price what they have charged.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    92
    57
    17
    9
See reviews for
21
12
28
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently stayed at Sarovar Portico at Ahmedabad and its a pretty nice hotel. The price at which I got a room there was a steal for a hotel of this level. However I feel that this hotel is situated not at the center of the city and on the outskirts. But overall experience was good. Although I did find a lizard in my room which was promptly taken out by the hotel staff, but nevertheless I had a sleepless night thinking that there might be another one.

Room Tip: All rooms are good unless they have a lizard....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard_Fernandez, General Manager at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you, for your recent stay at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad and for your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor. We deeply regret the inconvenience caused to you during your stay . Please accept my apologies for the same.

Your positive comment is much appreciated. We have noted the concern you have highlighted and please be assured that the same has been shared with the concerned team and the department heads for corrective measures and improvement.

Our efforts are always driven to ensure that the guest satisfaction is of prime importance. I truly believe that improvement is a continuous process and I assure you my personal attention will be put to the concerned area, which is highlighted by your good self.

We assure of a better and friendly product, on your next visit to the hotel.

We once again thank you for your comments and look forward to welcome you with an assurance of better and improved services.

Yours sincerely,

Bernard Fernandez
General Manager
gmapo@sarovarhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is a relatively newer property as compared to and adjacent to Cama Hotel on the old city side of Ahmedabad. Fantasic location, very close to Nehru bridge and on the banks of the Sabarmati river.
Check-in process was smooth with no hiccups and the front office desk is manned by helpful people. Room allotted was on the 7th floor. It was neat, clean and well kept. Room size is apt for a business traveller for 1-2 nights. The air-conditioning is good and not at all noisy, beds cosy and comfortable and washrooms are basic.
Breakfast spread is pretty well done considering the pricing. Didn’t check out the restaurant. Doesn’t have a health club or gym. Also got to know that complimentary wifi was available at the time of check-out hence can't comment on the connectivity.
Overall, value for money and would go there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Sabarmati river side have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard_Fernandez, General Manager at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you, for your recent stay at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad and for your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that our service met your expectations.

Sir, we do have a Fitness Centre with state-of-the-art equipment at the basement, please accept my sincere apologies for the communication gap which I have shared with the concerned team and the department heads for corrective measures and improvement.

We thank you for your kind words of appreciation and look forward to welcome you back soon

Yours sincerely,

Bernard Fernandez
General Manager
gmapo@sarovarhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fantastic place to stay in Ahmedabad. Great location on the bank of Sabarmati close to Nehru bridge. The rooms were elegant and clean with all the amenities. The staff was cheerful and made sure of the comfort of the guests. The check-in was swift and smooth, so were other services. The other USP for travelers from Outside Gujrat is a Govt run liquor shop where one can get a permit and enjoy drinks in the prohibition state. The food and breakfast spread was sumptuous. Highly recommended for both families and business travelers.

Room Tip: Left side rooms have a beautiful view of Sabarmati RIverfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard_Fernandez, General Manager at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you, for your recent stay at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad and for your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that our service met your expectations.

We thank you for your kind words of appreciation and look forward to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Bernard Fernandez
General Manager
gmapo@sarovarhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Food was OK. The location was old city. The hotel did not provide me a Xerox copy of the bill. There were hardly any non-veg dishes that were included in buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. The wi-fi facility provided by Tata is a pain.

Room Tip: Book a room that is river facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard_Fernandez, General Manager at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you, for your recent stay at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad and for your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

Your positive comment on food is much appreciated. We have noted the concern you have highlighted and please be assured that the same has been shared with the concerned team and the department heads for corrective measures and improvement.

We were unable to give the photo copy of your room bill since it was a portal booking (Makemytrip) but for your food the original bill copy was given.
Our efforts are always driven to ensure that the guest satisfaction is of prime importance. I truly believe that improvement is a continuous process and i assure you my personal attention will be put , to all areas of your concern , which are highlighted by your good self.

We once again thank you for your comments and look forward to welcome you with an assurance of better and improved services.

Yours sincerely,

Bernard Fernandez
General Manager
gmapo@sarovarhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Well i used to stay in this hotel earlier but then i shifted to Hotel Dev Corporate as the room size were big, but even with small rooms this hotel is better than any other hotel in Ahmedabad with all modern amenities

i was having problem with shower which was solver asap with out any delay, i mean they make a point to make the stay of the guest as comfortable as possible

I will definitely go to this hotel again

Room Tip: if you budget is okay then go for one above standard room as thought the standard rooms are good but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard_Fernandez, General Manager at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad, responded to this review, October 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you, for your recent stay at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad and for your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that our service met your expectations.

We thank you for your kind words of appreciation and look forward to extending our refreshing service to you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Bernard Fernandez
General Manager
gmapo@sarovarhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Great Food, Beautiful rooms facing River sabarmati.
close proximity to Railway station & airport.
Co-operative staff.
value of spend.
complementry wi-fi.
wonder stay. Easy to reach from any where within no time. Very safe & secure area.

Room Tip: Rooms above II-floor are more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard_Fernandez, General Manager at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad, responded to this review, October 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable. Your encouraging comments will help us do better.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Bernard Fernandez
General Manager
gmapo@sarovarhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad

Address: Bhawan's College Road, Ahmedabad 380001, India (Formerly Hotel Sarovar Portico)
Location: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 143 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get a cordial reception at Sarovar Portico as you are introduced to this property that promises you every possible comfort and a world-class luxury. The entrance lobby itself is inviting with its wooden feel and plush furnishings. All the rooms and suites come with all of the best luxuries and a dedicated staff ensures that you are attended to anytime during the day. Extra care is taken to provide you with things to pamper you and keep you refreshed throughout the day. The hotel ensures that its guests are always comfortable and well-connected. Business tourists are even provided with the best of business facilities. The hotel even has the capacity to organize business conferences and meetings in its well-equipped conference halls. Dining is a priority for Sarovar. It has an amazing multi-cuisine restaurant that allows guests to enjoy delicious meals as they enjoy a lovely view of the gardens and the Sabarmati River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.