We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great but expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Hotel Ummed Ahmedabad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Gateway Hotel Ummed Ahmedabad to your Saves list
The Gateway Hotel Ummed Ahmedabad
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Opposite International Airport | Hansol, Ahmedabad 382475, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 145 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Lochristi, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Great location, very close to the airport.

Clean and well equipped rooms. Breakfast is complete and staff is very friendly and helpful.

A shame that wifi came at a rip off charge.

Overall great hotel, but pretty expensive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavin M, Manager at The Gateway Hotel Ummed Ahmedabad, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Sir,

It was indeed our plesure to have you stay with us and thank you for taking time to write your valuable feedback and for patronising our hotel as well.

We are pleased that your stay and experience was as per your expectations. Wi-fi being an outsourced facility is at an additional charge, however, we would be happy to offer you revised special rates, which are inclusive of this facility.

We strive to ensure that every single guest has a wonderful memory to carry back. We look forward for an opportunity again sometimes in the near future.

Kind regards,
Bhavin Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    117
    71
    20
    11
See reviews for
30
13
34
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

With two night stay here I came to a conclusion better not to choose this hotel anymore since there are multiple other better options available in Ahmedabad with less cost, you would find bird droppings when you look outside your room window, no external cleaning for years together, also no measures to avoid same. No much options for the breakfast. Very little quantity of food served when ordered from room service. Charges heavily for airport pick up / drop although less than a km from airport.
Since there are other good options available at even cheaper cost better to say no to Gateway Ahmedabad.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavin M, Manager at The Gateway Hotel Ummed Ahmedabad, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Sir,

It was indeed our plesure to have you stay with us and thank you for taking time to write your valuable feedback and for patronising our hotel as well.

Having gone through your feedback, we have taken appropriate action with the concerned departments and have rectified the same.

We strive to ensure that every single guest has a wonderful memory to carry back. We look forward for an opportunity again sometimes in the near future.

Kind regards,
Bhavin Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The location close to the airport is very convenient. When I checked in at 8am after an early morning flight from Delhi I was not informed that the hotel will charge me for half a day because of the early check-in. I just dumped my luggage and left for work within 15 minutes after checking in. This was only evident when I was presented with the bill while checking out. I protested. the front desk manager called the hotel manager who came after some time. After a lot of arguing, he decided to waive the half day's charge for early check-in. Apart from that it must be said that the staff were friendly. The breakfast (included in the room rate) was adequate. The rooms are well equipped but the safe provided in the room was problematic, in my 3 days' stay, I had to get help twice to get the safe to work.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the elevator/stairs, some rooms are quite a distance away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavin M, Manager at The Gateway Hotel Ummed Ahmedabad, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Sir,

It was indeed our plesure to have you stay with us and thank you for taking time to write your valuable feedback and for patronising our hotel as well.

Having gone through your feedback, we have taken appropriate action with the concerned departments and have rectified the same.

We strive to ensure that every single guest has a wonderful memory to carry back. We look forward for an opportunity again sometimes in the near future.

Kind regards,
Bhavin Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Come out of Airport and by the time you settle in cab you have arrived there. Nice spacious structure and as you enter the lobby you realise that you are in a personal haveli full of colors. It has nice statues placed at right places and can see elegant wood carving. The rooms are nice and spacious. Though the furniture looks little old but the whole setup is relaxing and smooth. Depending upon the side you stay either you see nice small strip of lawn or you see the pool side.
The staff is very courteous and eager to help. You don't even need to ask as they are hospitable enough to sense when you require their help. The coffee shop is nice. The menu is quite homely and offers you a good mix of Gujarati dishes as other ones. Pool area is nice and cosy and reminds you of a courtyard setup. Altogether a nice play to stay.

Room Tip: Better to stay in inner facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavin M, Manager at The Gateway Hotel Ummed Ahmedabad, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Sir,

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you for taking time to write your valuable feedback and for patronizing our hotel as well.

We are pleased to read that your stay & food experience was as per your expectation.

We look forward for an opportunity again sometimes in the near future.

Kind regards,
Bhavin Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Have stayed a few times at this hotel. Convinient as its very near to the airport, and especially if u are coming by a late evening flight, can reach the hotel in a few minutes. The last stay at the hotel wasn't pleasant as we were given smoking rooms despite mentioning the preference while making the reservation. Although the sales manager after a lot of persuation managed to give us no smoking rooms, still it wasn't a great experience.

Also Taj needs to live up to its reputation and do up the rooms as they badly need an upgrade in terms of interiors, TV (which are still the old CRT TVs) etc.

Room Tip: Specify a room with better interiors & a LED TV
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavin M, Manager at The Gateway Hotel Ummed Ahmedabad, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Sir,

It was indeed our plesure to have you stay with us and thank you for taking time to write your valuable feedback and for patronising our hotel as well.

Having gone through your feedback, we have incorporated your non -smoking preference into our system, which will ensure that you are offered the same during your next visit. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused due to the same.

We strive to ensure that every single guest has a wonderful memory to carry back. We look forward for an opportunity again sometimes in the near future.

Kind regards,
Bhavin Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We had stayed at the hotel sometime mid April...it is nice hotel...very close to the airport however a little away from the city most of the regular tourist places / shopping haunts / malls / food spots restaurants are atleast 20mins away.

The food at the coffee shop was decent ... For Breakfast you get a variety...I was expecting mostly gujarati food for breakfast which however was not there. Breakfast had a fair spread but nothing gujurati

The rooms are comfortable...nothing fancy. Room temperature though cannot be reduced below 21 degrees (even on request) which is not the most comfortable position in the extreme Ahmedabad heat.

Now moving on to the most important aspect at any hotel for me...the staff -
The staff excluding the reservation staff at the hotel is really warm and always smiling...helpful and what was pleasantly suprising was to be greeted even by the bell boy and security guards in English...this was not merely good morning or good evening but to the extent of trying to have a conversation in English...very impressive.

Special mention has to be made of ms. vaidehi at the reception who is extremely helpful, polite and stands for the Taj hospitality we are used to seeing in the past.

However, the only negative about the trip was the reservation staff not only are they rude, non responsive but unreliable. We almost booked at another hotel thanks to the non responsive and contradictory information provided to us...this despite us being regular Taj customers. The attitude of the reservation staff was completely callous and it was only the intervention by a manager at another Taj property to whom we complained of this experience and his resolution thereof that made us stay here.

However, one way thanks to the incompetent reservations staff that I was expecting nothing good but really enjoyed my stay... thank you to all the front desk staff, restaurant staff, housekeeping staff, the concierge, bell boys, and special thanks to vaidehi.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavin M, Manager at The Gateway Hotel Ummed Ahmedabad, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Sir,

It was indeed our plesure to have you stay with us and thank you for taking time to write your valuable feedback and for patronising our hotel as well.

Having gone through your feedback, we regret that your stay was not as per your expectation. We have already investigated this incident with all concerned and have taken corrective measures to ensure that this does not get repeated.

We strive to ensure that every single guest has a wonderful memory to carry back. We look forward for an opportunity again sometimes in the near future.

Kind regards,
Bhavin Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

New city for me and therefore a new hotel but was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were very clean and very comfortable but its location, next to the airport is very convenient. I can say I was not aware of any aircraft noise during the stay. We had a very nice meal in the restaurant and the portions were very generous, however, we chose the restaurant because the buffet on offer didn't look very appetising. We would quite happily use this hotel for future visits.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavin M, Manager at The Gateway Hotel Ummed Ahmedabad, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Sir,

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you for taking time to write your valuable feedback and for patronizing our hotel as well.

We are pleased to read that your stay & food experience was as per your expectation.

We look forward for an opportunity again sometimes in the near future.

Kind regards,
Bhavin Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gateway Hotel Ummed Ahmedabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Ummed Ahmedabad

Address: Opposite International Airport | Hansol, Ahmedabad 382475, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Ahmedabad
#17 Business Hotel in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel Ummed Ahmedabad 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Ummed Ahmedabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Residency Ummed Ahmedabad
Taj Residency Ummed Hotel Ahmedabad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Hotel Ummed Ahmedabad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.