We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to improve” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chokhi Dhani

Chokhi Dhani
Behind Big Bazaar | Off SG Highway, Ahmedabad 380055, India
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #446 of 1,101 Restaurants in Ahmedabad
Cuisines: Indian, Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Vadodara, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Need to improve”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

ambience is not appealing. i was continuasly comparing it with Chokidhani - Jaipur during my visit. but disappointed.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    2
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ahmedabad
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Place for Family outing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a great place for family outing. They got lot of activities once you are inside the campus. You can easily spend an hour or so in these activities before you actually get to the restaurant / dining hall. The food served is very tasty and though it is supposed to be rajasthani cuisine, it has got touch of punjabi with couple of sabzi. Dal bhatti was amazing. But make sure you dont mind sitting on floor and eating before you decided to try this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gandhidham, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing place to spend an evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I must confess that I was pretty skeptical about Chokhi Dani at first. I mean I thought it is just another "Village" themed restaurant with the usual artificial rural touch but I was completely bowled over by the awesomeness of Chokhi Dani! It is a wonderful place to spend some time with your family and if you have guests visiting from outside Ahmedabad then you must take them here. We were there for like 3 hours and I just didn't realize where the time flew away till they asked us to take our dinner as they were closing for the day!

The ambience is what you will expect from a village themed restaurant but the attractions are too good. The magician, the astrologer, the puppet show was nice. Loved to try our hand at pottery and the best part was the games like ring throw, ball throw, balloon shooting and archery. They charge you 10 bucks for these games but trust me its worth it. Time simply flies and you can't have enough of fun at this place.

And the food is simply mind blowing! I haven't been much of a marwadi food lover but this place serves such an amazing food that you will be literally licking your plate and fingers! The daal baati was just perfect and "gattey ki subzi" was something to die for!

I am definitely gonna go back to Chokhi Dhani some time soon and I recommend that you do the same!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly unplanned Restuarant with arrogance of staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We planned a party of our team at this restaurant. We called the restaurant one day prior for booking. He told that we don't need to book and we can directly come next day. As instructed we went there. Person sitting at reception doesn't handle a customer for next 20 minutes and then they just inform us that "You can go inside but we will serve you food after 2 hours"....When we asked that why you didn't book our name yesterday, he didn't have any answer... Pathetic. They feel that they earn a lot and they don't need customers. Please avoid such places

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Rude Staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

we were group of 15 people going to this place. we thought of booking 1 day prior so that we are not disappointed when we actual visit that place, but the staf at reception told that no need to book prior 1 day u will definately find place over here . when we went their at 7:30 pm, it was monday(weekday). person at reception was simply busy with other customers and he kept us unattened till 20 mins. then he said that we can go inside chokhi dhani but dinner will be served only at 10:00 pm. we were so disappointed that even we called him 1 day prior. at that time he said no prior booking is required, and now he is saying that dinner time will be at 10:00 pm. To this chokhi dhani people replied that madam we are allowing you to enter resturant but food will only be served at 10:00 pm only. And the worst thing is they don't accept credit cards.I really think that they wanted us to make feel like we are in actual village.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chokhi Dhani also viewed

Ahmedabad, Gujarat
Ahmedabad, Gujarat
 
Ahmedabad, Gujarat
Ahmedabad, Gujarat
 

Been to Chokhi Dhani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chokhi Dhani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.