We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, Modern & Green” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fern An Ecotel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Fern An Ecotel Hotel to your Saves list
The Fern An Ecotel Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Sola Overbridge | S.G. Highway, Ahmedabad 380055, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 143 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pleasant, Modern & Green”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Travelled on business and stayed here for a week. Very impressed with the modern, clean interiors. The technology in the room to control ambience, lighting, screens etc., is very good. The hotel makes an effort to be ecofriendly - no plastic bags, toiletries. Recommended

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMAhmedabad, Manager at The Fern An Ecotel Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your recent visit to Ahmedabad.

I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have shared your feedback with my colleagues. At The Fern, it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency. Encouraging words from valuable patrons like you motivates us improve ourselves and exceed expectations.


I look forward to meeting you during your next visit to The Fern and would be delighted to assist you with any requirement.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    79
    19
    4
    4
See reviews for
24
12
8
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

The Fern - A'mdabad was great find to me. I stayed here for two nights on my business trip to A'mdabad and had a great experience. The warm welcome and fantastic room ambiance were indeed great pleasure. The staff at Hotel are found professionally trained for quick to response to Hotel guest. I think this Hotel has got all essential elements captured to make sure that once any guest stayed here, will not look for any more adventure. The food, specially the morning breakfast with rich range of stuff was something great to have

Please keep up the Service & Food Quality. Thanks ! Santosh

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMAhmedabad, Manager at The Fern An Ecotel Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your recent visit to Ahmedabad.

I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have shared your feedback with my colleagues. At The Fern, it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency. Encouraging words from valuable patrons like you motivates us improve ourselves and exceed expectations.


I look forward to meeting you during your next visit to The Fern and would be delighted to assist you with any requirement.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast N .ireland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

This is a quaity hotel and comes highly recommended. I spent two nights there in Jan 2012, internet is deat at 850 INR about £6-00 for 24 hours (it should be free).
However its a super hotel. great service and good location

Room Tip: Any one of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMAhmedabad, Manager at The Fern An Ecotel Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your recent visit to Ahmedabad.

I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have shared your feedback with my colleagues. At The Fern, it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency. Encouraging words from valuable patrons like you motivates us improve ourselves and exceed expectations.


I look forward to meeting you during your next visit to The Fern and would be delighted to assist you with any requirement.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

The Fern was a pleasant surprise. I speak at conferences across India and have stayed at hotels selected by conference organizers, always with a bit of trepidation. 5 stars = 5 stars, but at 4 stars or less, you can count on the property being 2 stars less than it was awarded. The Fern was a pleasant exception.

I was greeted by a knowledgable, competent staff. The restaurant was serving a buffet of at least 50 delicious-smelling dishes. I had already dined, so I didn't indulge. I did have the breakfast buffet, which was also excellent, with Indian and western choices, both veg and non-veg.

Upstairs, a clean, comfortable room awaited. Wireless internet access was excellent and included, as was a ride to the airport in a clean, comfortable vehicle. The bath and bedroom were pristine clean - a real pleasure! Flat screen TV, firm mattresses with crisp white egyptian cotton sheets and quilts provided an excellent night's sleep. A master light panel beside the bed controlled everything. The snacks and mini bar were well stocked, although I didn't try any of the offerings.

The entire hotel is built of re-used, re-cycled, and re-newable materials. It bills itself as a chain of "Ecotels" and they take environmentalism seriously. Much of building, interiors, and furnishings are constructed of some form of plastic or concrete, which is truly the best use of these oft-disposed materials. But it was elegantly done and the resulting look is a modern, soothing blend of colors and surfaces. A wall of water protects the front door from the street and reduce carbon monoxide emissions from the street beyond. A well tended garden provides a gentle view from the main floor restaurant. All around - well done!

I will look for Fern hotels over others in the price range (think: avoid the Royal Orchid chain - they are a perfect example of the "4-star" actually = "2 star & dirty" situation described above) in the future. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: A high floor room facing away from the main street is always advisable if you sleep lightly. Otherwi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMAhmedabad, Manager at The Fern An Ecotel Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your recent visit to Ahmedabad.

I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have shared your feedback with my colleagues. At The Fern, it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency. Encouraging words from valuable patrons like you motivates us improve ourselves and exceed expectations.


I look forward to meeting you during your next visit to The Fern and would be delighted to assist you with any requirement.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

I organized a seminar at their convention and some of the delegates stayed at the hotel itself. The dinner is excellent at the restaurant and true value for money. The rooms are very good and the service was quite nice. The staff was cooperative and the food quality was good. The internet was quite expensive and perhaps the biggest turndown for me but otherwise it was a very good experience. With regard to the seminar itself, the room was large and nicely done but had a lot of ambient light making it difficult to present the slides. The manager put something to reduce the light but it was not too effective. Would certianly recommend the place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernhotels, Management at The Fern An Ecotel Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you for your valuable Feedback, it is an excellent source of motivation to the team and we will be sure to share the same. Were glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and the hospitality of our staff. We Look forward to making your future stays with us as memorable. Thank you for choosing a Fern Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Stayed in The fern for 5 days on a business trip. Hotel's staff is courteous and helpful. Food is excellent. Its a new property thus not much rush. Interiors are very well decorated. Excellent taste. Highly recommended for a stay. (This is a genuine review and not a paid one :-).

Room Tip: All rooms are well insulated from the high way noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernhotels, Management at The Fern An Ecotel Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you for your valuable Feedback, it is an excellent source of motivation to the team and we will be sure to share the same. I can assure you that we do not pay for nor encourage any fictitious comments. Were glad you enjoyed the food and the hospitality of our staff. We Look forward to making your future stays with us as memorable. Thank you for choosing a Fern Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

So ended up at the fern this last weekend, in town for work as usual. The first impression was of a decent hotel nothing too amiss. Nice moderate sized rooms with open views of the city and a train track (which can be amusing for the first few train-spottings).

A nice overhead shower (no bathtub) a comfortable bathroom, Flat screen TV (with only 50 channels mostly Gujrati and Ten sports the only sports channel) and an Ipod dock. Ipod dock turned out to be the most handy of it all and was used amply especially since the tv didnt have much.

all in all a comfortable room. So where lies the problem ?

1. The food is pretty below average. i ordered breakfast/lunch and dinner but all of them equally failed to live upto expectations. the hotel doesn't carry any local gujrati food either much to my surprise and the menu was pretty much a generic one made up of regular fare that you could get at any decent joint.

Avoid eating here, as the food is simply not worth it. If you are someone who travels a lot and knows his/her food you;d do best to dine out. The only exception to the bad food was the chicken Tikka which was a very pleasent surprise. It was absolutely dilicious.

2. The service of the staff leaves a lot to be desired. they are courteous and polite but on more than one occassion calls to reception/room service went unanswered. and on more than one occassion they 'forgot' a part of the room service order. eg. i had ordered 4-5 indian dishes along with rice, salad, roti's and dessert. and i ended up getting only 3 of them.

by that time i was too tired to order for them again.

3. The reception also took forever to send up the luggage. i had quite a few bags and expected them to ferry em up to my room but ihad to call reception 3 times to remind them to send up the bags. Not done. Pretty bad if you asked me.

In the end, this is a good hotel if ur stay is short and more business like. Nothing great or 5 star about this place. The Room was pretty much the only good thing about this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernhotels, Management at The Fern An Ecotel Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you for your valuable Feedback. The Buffets at the hotel have been modified to also give a bit of the Local flavor . We apologies for any delays and deficits is the service levels, we aspire for better. The same has been taken up in the training's and i am sure the team will be able to rise to your expectations. We Look forward to to an opportunity to serve you again and ensure your future stays with us are memorable. Thank you for choosing a Fern Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fern An Ecotel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern An Ecotel Hotel

Address: Near Sola Overbridge | S.G. Highway, Ahmedabad 380055, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 143 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fern An Ecotel Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fern Ahmedabad is the first Ecotel Hotel located on the fast growing S. G Highway, close to the business & entertainment zones and 15 kms from the Domestic & International Airport. The rooms offer a stunning view of City Landscape, perfect for unwinding after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fern An Ecotel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fern An Ecotel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.