We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most fascinating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adalaj Step-well

Adalaj Step-well
Adalaj | District-Gandhinagar, Ahmedabad, India
9942802787
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 73 Attractions in Ahmedabad
Type: Architectural Buildings, Cultural
Attraction details
Ahmedabad, India
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Most fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is an old step well located near Ahmedabad which still holds water. In olden times villagers used bathe and carry drinking water to their homes from this well.The water level is around 50m from the surface and you reach the water level by climbing down steps.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    144
    34
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Its good for small picnic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Its good for mini picnic but there is not much you can do there. But don't miss to visit mitti ke flower pots waali shop, which is on the way to Adalaj step well

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Very calm and rich historical place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This place I visited with bunch of friends without much expectation. We found only a temple from entry gate and paved porch of it. We entered in, a floor downstairs there was awesome architecture of step well. We took lots of couple & group photos. We went downstairs at step well; the design of building was really precious. We enjoyed calmness and cool environment in hot summer.
The place is 30 minutes away from the Ahmadabad town by car. The government transport facility is not easily accessible. The garden and place were maintained okay. The food facility nearby was not good enough. The refreshment was available at SG (Sarkej Gandhinagar Highway). This monumental at least once visited.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Amazingly detailed and Intricate work; burning feet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The architecture of the Adalaj Step-well is breath-taking. Make sure you take the steps to the bottom-most pit wherein lies the well. Maintenance though isn't up to the mark and the well isn't kept very clean.


Go in the afternoon to avoid burning your feet in the incredibly hot stone steps. ( Shoes not allowed in the compound)

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Incredible work of architecture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

As we arrived to Adalaj, we looked at our driver and said, "Here?". You would never know from its surroundings of modest to low end homes and standard business that surround the park that just meters away you will find an unbelievable piece of history. We stepped onto the grounds, and then began to see a beautiful open field of grass and trees, and the top working of the well complex. We tipped an unofficial 'guide' that gave us some of the history and pointed out the different periods of work. It was really amazing. It doesn't take as much as an hour, so it is well worth it if you have the time.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adalaj Step-well also viewed

 

Been to Adalaj Step-well? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adalaj Step-well, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.