We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for Jain Food Lovers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Toran Dining Hall

Toran Dining Hall
Opp.Sales India | Ashram Road, Ahmedabad 380009, India
27542197
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 2,175 Restaurants in Ahmedabad
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ahmedabad, India
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Not for Jain Food Lovers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Good Gujarati food with good varieties of vegetables but not good for me as specially
i am Jain food lover so they offer me very less varieties.
Service was ok. Ambiance was ok better scope of improvement.
For me its not at all worth to enjoy jain food

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    31
    6
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice gujrati food ... experience gujrat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

experience good gujrati food at reasonable prices. All you need is lot of hunger in you. service is so fast , hospitality is good.
if ur in ahembdabad and came from outside . then its a must to visit it once.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taipei
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
“Best Thali I've ever had.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Ok being British I'm not a Thali expert despite enjoying veggie Indian food in London for many years, however the sheer value for money at this place was amazing. We started with 7 small bowls that were quickly filled with a mixture of dhals, curries and desserts, then a couple of sauces were put onto the plate with a whole green chilli, a glass of what I thought was lassi but was actually a sweetish milk rather than the usual yoghurt base and finally a choice of fabulous freshly made breads; roti, paratha, nan and scrummy baby puris. Forgot we also had some fluffy vermicelli squares and some fiery baby samosas. Nothing really outstanding, and to be honest most of the food was on the sweetish rather than spicy side, however my fellow local diners assured me it was very authentic for this part of Gujarat. What was amazing was the poor waiters constantly attacking us with fill-ups of everything including the fabulous breads, we could have gone on for hours and I'm sure that would have continued. Come to pay the bill, complete shock as my colleagues asked me for 4 USD; I certainly have never eaten anywhere in the world with such quantity and quality for that price, just amazing. I think I said amazing 3 times, can't come up with another word, sorry!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Decent food, nothing exceptional. Service was prompt. At Rs 180/- is a decent price for food. The choice of vegetables was disappointing. Choice was limited.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsad, India
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Consistent taste from years and real gujarati thali...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Toran dining hall is providing consistent gujarati food with the same great taste and very sufficinet service.
It is one of the oldest dining area of Ahmadabad. Nowadays there are lot of restaurants are available in city for gujarati thali but This place is giving tight fight with all these newbies in GUjarati Thali.
If you are new in Ahmadabad, it might hard to fight. but you can ask any pure local person and they guide the way.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toran Dining Hall also viewed

Ahmedabad, Gujarat
Ahmedabad, Gujarat
 
Ahmedabad, Gujarat
 

Been to Toran Dining Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toran Dining Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.