We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice gujrati food ... experience gujrat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toran Dining Hall

Toran Dining Hall
Opp.Sales India | Ashram Road, Ahmedabad 380009, India
27542197
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 1,100 Restaurants in Ahmedabad
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice gujrati food ... experience gujrat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

experience good gujrati food at reasonable prices. All you need is lot of hunger in you. service is so fast , hospitality is good.
if ur in ahembdabad and came from outside . then its a must to visit it once.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    24
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
taipei
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“Best Thali I've ever had.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Ok being British I'm not a Thali expert despite enjoying veggie Indian food in London for many years, however the sheer value for money at this place was amazing. We started with 7 small bowls that were quickly filled with a mixture of dhals, curries and desserts, then a couple of sauces were put onto the plate with a whole green chilli, a glass of what I thought was lassi but was actually a sweetish milk rather than the usual yoghurt base and finally a choice of fabulous freshly made breads; roti, paratha, nan and scrummy baby puris. Forgot we also had some fluffy vermicelli squares and some fiery baby samosas. Nothing really outstanding, and to be honest most of the food was on the sweetish rather than spicy side, however my fellow local diners assured me it was very authentic for this part of Gujarat. What was amazing was the poor waiters constantly attacking us with fill-ups of everything including the fabulous breads, we could have gone on for hours and I'm sure that would have continued. Come to pay the bill, complete shock as my colleagues asked me for 4 USD; I certainly have never eaten anywhere in the world with such quantity and quality for that price, just amazing. I think I said amazing 3 times, can't come up with another word, sorry!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Decent food, nothing exceptional. Service was prompt. At Rs 180/- is a decent price for food. The choice of vegetables was disappointing. Choice was limited.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsad, India
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Consistent taste from years and real gujarati thali...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Toran dining hall is providing consistent gujarati food with the same great taste and very sufficinet service.
It is one of the oldest dining area of Ahmadabad. Nowadays there are lot of restaurants are available in city for gujarati thali but This place is giving tight fight with all these newbies in GUjarati Thali.
If you are new in Ahmadabad, it might hard to fight. but you can ask any pure local person and they guide the way.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“have been dining here for 20 years, was there last week and am waiting to go again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Toran Dining Hall is an institution in Ahmedabad. The food has been consistently good there for the 20 years that my family and I have been visiting it.

Like us, a significant number of the staff have been there ever since and continue to be there even today.

The taste of the food has been consistent through this time. Its like one of the things that you wish remain constant - like the taste of your Moms cooking

We no longer stay in Ahmedabad, but every time we enter the city we head straight for Toran. We were there last week and we will be there more sooner than later

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toran Dining Hall also viewed

Ahmedabad, Gujarat
 
Ahmedabad, Gujarat
Ahmedabad, Gujarat
 

Been to Toran Dining Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toran Dining Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.