We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Metropole Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Metropole Hotel to your Saves list
The Metropole Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Near R.T.O. Circle, | Subhash Bridge Corner,, Ahmedabad 380027, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 143 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I made this reservation on the fly just before boarding the plane to Ahmedabad. On arrival I was relieved to see that this hotel had a booth. A very helpful person called the hotel and arranged a car to pick us up from the airport and in about 15 minutes we were on the way to the hotel.

The hotel is conveniently located in the center of the city and it took us about 30 minutes to get there from the airport. The welcome at the front desk was very warm and the manager came out of the office to welcome us personally. He also asked us if we would be returning to the city frequently and promised us a corporate deal if we return. Since the room was booked through a website, he could not offer a cheaper rate but did upgrade the room.

The room was small but neat and clean. The bathroom was also clean and water pressure was excellent. Room service was brisk and efficient and they were eager to please. I had a follow up call asking if I enjoyed the meal. I did. They also have a 24/7 café and I had breakfast which was included in the room rate. It was a modest buffet with eggs to order. They also made some Indian food to order. The buffet while not expansive was more than adequate. Service at the restaurant was also brisk, efficient and friendly.

The front desk was happy to arrange a car and driver for us. This was done with minimum notice and they made sure we had the same English speaking driver the next day. The driver gave us a mini guided tour on the way to our meeting and took my colleague for a sightseeing tour after our meetings had ended.

Checkout was a breeze and the front desk staff asked us if we enjoyed our stay and they wanted my feedback about things that could be improved. They seemed to genuinely care about their guests.

If you want to stay in a hotel with a reasonable tariff this is a great choice. I plan on returning and staying here..

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street. They are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENERAL M, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear MarcoPolo00,

Thank you for the review put up by you on Trip Advisor.
It is indeed a pleasure to know that you had a comfortable stay with us and your appreciation for rooms, room amenities,attitude of our trained staff and services offered. It has been our constant endeavor to provide the best of The Metropole Hotel to all our guests.
We look forward to your continued support and patronage.
Please feel free to contact me for any further requirements.

Deepak Varunkar

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    56
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
20
9
11
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This nice hotel is quite close to the Ashram & Riverfront park. The Front desk staff is efficient along with the rest of the staff. The rooms are quite spacious and the beds with tick mattress and ample pillows are very comfortable and the bath fittings are good quality. The Metropole employees were always kind and helpful. The food was delicious.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENERAL M, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Venkatesh2014,

Thank you for the review put up by you on Trip Advisor.
It is indeed a pleasure to know that you had a comfortable stay with us and your appreciation for rooms, room amenities, food delicacies and services offered. It has been our constant endeavor to provide the best of The Metropole Hotel to all our guests. We look forward to your continued support and patronage.
Please feel free to contact me for any further requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Every once in a while I get super bold and do something out of the ordinary in May After spending seven beautiful days with them I feel the need to tell everyone how wonderful they are. As I was apprehensive to be so far from home and worried about how I would be treated,those fears were completely unfounded. The Metropole employees were always kind and helpful. The food was delicious and room service always predicted what we were going to order for dinner. The door attendants always made sure the taxis knew where we were headed and gave me cards to ensure that we returned safely. Our trip continued on to Delhi and then Bengaluru, but the Metropole remains one of our treasured memories. Great staff, service, food and location!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENERAL M, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for the review put up by you on Trip Advisor. Your positive feedback surely motivates our team and the same would be personally communicated to them.
It is indeed a pleasure to know that you had a comfortable stay with us and your appreciation for food delicacies and services offered. It has been our constant endeavor to provide the best of The Metropole Hotel to all our guests. Your words are a source of inspiration that not only tells us that we are on the right track, but also encourages us to continue in our efforts. We look forward to your continued support and patronage.
Please feel free to contact me for any further requirements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kozhikode, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This nice hotel is quite close to the Ashram. The Front desk staff is efficient along with the rest of the staff. Mr. Manish needs a special mention due to his friendliness and helpfulness to us.

The rooms are quite spacious and the beds with tick mattress and ample pillows are very comfortable and the bath fittings are good quality. The restaurant serves excellent meals and the service is also quite quick.

I will recommend this hotel to all

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENERAL M, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for the review put up by you on Trip Advisor. Your positive feedback surely motivates our team and the same would be personally communicated to them.

It is indeed a pleasure to know that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed our restaurant as well. We thank you once again for appreciating our housekeeping standards, services offered and recommending our hotel. We are committed to provide the same in the future to all guests.

Please feel free to contact me for any further requirements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Very Good destination to stay at Ahmedabad, Good ambience, great customer service, clean rooms, excellent room interiors and gadgets. Overall I rate them as "True Value for Money". The location of the Hotel is also very close to Airport.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENERAL M, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear JeetendraJolly,

Thank you for your positive reviews on The Metropole Hotel and giving us an opportunity to serve you. Your positive comments will only enable us to strive for perfection.
We look forward to your continued patronage. Please feel free to contact me for any future requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehradun, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The Metropole is a decent hotel in Ahmedabad with comfortable rooms. The hotel has a fitness centre which is a definite plus for the health conscious. Food is good though there is a very limited choice for non-vegetarians. Basically only chicken dishes were available and there was only one non-vegetarian dish in the dinner buffet which, otherwise, was nice. The hotel is located at Subhash circle and one has good commutation options nearby.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENERAL M, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Kaveesh,

Thank you for taking the time out to put up a review of The Metropole Hotel on Trip Advisor and highlighting the positives. We do have non vegetarian varieties including mutton and fish regularly on our buffets. Apart from the buffet, we do serve ample of vegetarian and non vegetarian a la carte options from the menu to our guests.

Thank you once again and please feel free to contact me for any future requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Would recommend ..stay in metropole if you are coming to ahmedabad. Great srrvice.. very friendly staff. Food is also very nice. Easy acess to all parts of city ss the hotel is situated in the heart of city

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENERAL M, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Jatindwivedi,

Thank you for the review put up by you on Trip Advisor. The same has been communicated personally to my team members. We also would like to thank you further for recommending our hotel and services offered with a commitment to provide the same in future.

Please feel free to contact me for any further requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropole Hotel

Address: Near R.T.O. Circle, | Subhash Bridge Corner,, Ahmedabad 380027, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 143 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropole hotel is a 4 star business boutique hotel standing tall as an oasis of calm in the midst of the bustling metropolis. Located a minutes walk from Gandhi Ashram and very close to the banks of the historically significant Sabarmati river and about 5 kms distance from the Ahmedabad International airport, the hotel is a short distance from the business thourough fare of Ashram Road and has easy access to the business and shopping districts of the city. A much preferred choice of stay for visitors to Ahmedabad as the Metropole hotel offers a truly international experience yet with a uniquely Indian hospitality touch in an environment of trade globalization and growing foreign investment. The Metropole is flush with the influences of the latest in international hospitality design trends to render each floor differently. Whilst taking the needs of the businessman at heart we ensure stylishly clean, well designed and immensely comfortable living spaces. With 70 spacious and luxuriously appointed guest rooms and suites, The Metropole offers a contemporary international experience along uniquely modern lines. All rooms are equipped with Minibars, Teledex telephones, Ving Card Door Locks, in room Digital Safes and LCD televisions. The hotel offers 24 hour room service, Wi-Fi Connectivity, Business Centre, Fitness Centre, Currency Exchange, Doctor on Call, Laundry and Dry Cleaning services, Complimentary Airport Transfers, Valet Parking & Travel Services.It also houses 3 Dining Options inhouse :-"24/7 All Day Dining" (Coffee Shop) :- Located at the Lobby Level Serves a variety of Vegetarian and Non-Vegetarian Light Snacks,Maincourses and Combo Meals. Being a Coffee Shop we have Buffet spread over for Breakfast,Lunch and Dinner open for Inhouse room guests as well as Walk in guests. We have inhouse specialties in coffee shop such as Kathi Rolls,Sandwiches and Won tons."Purple Lotus" (Awadhi Cuisine Fine Dine) :- We serve a varietly of Indian Clay Oven (Tandoor) Specialaties such as Kebabs,Biryanis and Mocktails.Operational for Dinner."Valentine" (Pastry Outlet) :- The 24/7 Pastry Outlet serving a variety of Desserts and exotics for feasting the sweet tooth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Metropole Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.