We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for business travelers” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Metropole Hotel to your Saves list
The Metropole Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Near R.T.O. Circle, | Subhash Bridge Corner,, Ahmedabad 380027, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 145 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not for business travelers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

The hotel was good by Indian standards, especially the staff and dining room, open 24/7, a big plus. But their internet access policy was abysmal. We brought four wireless devices, two phones a laptop and an iPad.

We were forced to choose which one, and only one device to use, and that for a 24 hour period. Only that device would be allowed access! We were given this excuse about ''security'', which in today's world, and based on the policies of three other hotels in India we stayed in, was certainly not true.

Based on that alone, and the cleanliness of the common areas, a lower rating than they should easily get.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENERAL M, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Bob B,

We thank you for your review and your feedback.
We do appreciate the positive comments mentioned by you about our staff and restaurant. Your positive comments about our team members shall be communicated to them.

The entire hotel has Wi-Fi connectivity and for security reasons the details of the guest are documented against each Wi-Fi card issued. Each card has accessibility to one device at a time, this has been determined by our service provider TATA Communications and has been indicated on each card.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit at The Metropole Hotel. Please do feel free to contact us in the future for any further requirements.


Thanks & Regards,


Deepak Varunkar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    60
    16
    7
    1
See reviews for
22
11
13
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed in this hotel. We found every thing was very good. We will come again . Mr solanki and family from overseas . The food was excellent , complimentary breakfast was full of variety. Everything was fresh and tasty.

Room Tip: Rooms in the hotels were large and clean , the hotel was near the airport . All staff in the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENERAL M, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Urmila S

We thank you for your valued feedback and comments on Trip Advisor. Your comments are definitely a morale booster to our team. We take this opportunity to thank you for the same.

Please feel free to contact me for any further requirements in the future.

Warm Regards,

Deepak Varunkar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

it is excellent property with excellent location. the service and food is also very good. worth staying while in ahmedbad. overall the hotel is an excellent value for money and worth staying with family.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENERAL M, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear RitaSunil,

We take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback and positive comments on Trip Advisor.
Your positive comments will surely be a morale booster to our team.

We look forward to your continued support.

Warm Regards,

Deepak Varunkar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

A good business/ family hotel . The rooms are spacious ,well equipped with Wi-Fi , Telephone , AC, hair dyers etc which made the stay very pleasant and memorable . The staff is freindly and warm ( Being new to the city , the staff also helped with direction and places to visit ) The food is multi- cusine and good . The hotel also has very well equipped gym.

Will stay here again ! Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENERAL M, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Travelife4,

We take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback and positive comments on Trip Advisor.
Your positive comments will surely be a morale booster to our team.

We look forward to your continued support.

Warm Regards,

Deepak Varunkar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Myself, my wife and daughter stayed here on 28th November for 5 nights. We booked a suite (room 216). The room was very spacious, separate living area which consisted of a small kitchen area, dining table, sofa and armchair. The bedroom was very spacious with a huge bathroom consisting of walkin shower, jacuzzi bath and wardrobes containing a safe. Both rooms had wall mounted flatscreen TV's. The staff were very helpful with all our requests. We had to do a considerable amount of travelling to and from the hotel. The hotel provided us with a driver (Shivkumar) who took excellent care of us. We had to go shopping a few times and he escorted us around the shops ensuring we got what we needed. Im not sure if this is part of his job but we found it an invaluable service and we would to thank him sincerely for this. Overall I have no complaints regarding the accommodation or the service. The only slight improvement that could be made is complimentary wifi service. Wifi is 200 rupees for 24 hours. Although the cost is minimal a lot of hotels provide complimentary wifi. It is difficult to register the wifi if u do not have an indian mobile number which I did not. I had to go to reception each day to get it registered but the staff are more than happy to do this for you.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone visiting Ahmedabad.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENERAL M, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear dmcecoy,

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us.

We are happy to note that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us.We have noted that your Suite Room was Luxurious and you spent a valuable time with your family. Our chauffeurs being trained to have a know how in and around city help us to serve our guests better.We do charge nominally for WiFi and shall soon make it a part of complimentary services.We also thank you for recommending our hotel to other guests.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.


Thanks and Best regards,



General Manager
The Metropole Hotel,Ahmedabad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This hotel was recommended during one of business trips. The service was very cordial and the food was also good. I would like to stay at this place the next time i visit Ahmedabad.
The location of the hotel is also in the heart of the city, also the airport is not far away. I was really a pleasant stay at this place

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENERAL M, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Paresh2171,

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us.

We are happy to note that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us.We have noted that your business trip was comfortable with the food and proximity of the hotel from the Airport and centre of city.We also thank you for recommending our hotel to other guests.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.


Thanks and Best regards,



General Manager
The Metropole Hotel,Ahmedabad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel was recommended by my nephew through Deepali Bhatt of Cox and Kings.
We were looked after Mr. Hitesh Chetwani, their Manager and the service we got was unbelievable, specially in India.
We were allotted an upgraded room and very cordial service as if we were VIP's. Since we could not have free breakfast as our flight was very early, they packed us delicious sandwiches and Discounted our Dinner.
The staff including night Manager had very good Customer service acetates.
My Chetwani, went out of his place to make us comfortable.

We are planning to go their again and hope we get the same treatment.

Keep it up Metropole and kudos to its Management fro its well trained and polite Staff.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are peaceful and good, please ask for Executive rooms, they are well prov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENERAL M, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear as400rus,

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us.

We are happy to note that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us.We have noted your comment of the Front Office Team Service.We also thank you for recommending our hotel to other guests.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.


Thanks and Best regards,



General Manager
The Metropole Hotel,Ahmedabad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropole Hotel

Address: Near R.T.O. Circle, | Subhash Bridge Corner,, Ahmedabad 380027, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 145 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropole hotel is a 4 star business boutique hotel standing tall as an oasis of calm in the midst of the bustling metropolis. Located a minutes walk from Gandhi Ashram and very close to the banks of the historically significant Sabarmati river and about 5 kms distance from the Ahmedabad International airport, the hotel is a short distance from the business thourough fare of Ashram Road and has easy access to the business and shopping districts of the city. A much preferred choice of stay for visitors to Ahmedabad as the Metropole hotel offers a truly international experience yet with a uniquely Indian hospitality touch in an environment of trade globalization and growing foreign investment. The Metropole is flush with the influences of the latest in international hospitality design trends to render each floor differently. Whilst taking the needs of the businessman at heart we ensure stylishly clean, well designed and immensely comfortable living spaces. With 70 spacious and luxuriously appointed guest rooms and suites, The Metropole offers a contemporary international experience along uniquely modern lines. All rooms are equipped with Minibars, Teledex telephones, Ving Card Door Locks, in room Digital Safes and LCD televisions. The hotel offers 24 hour room service, Wi-Fi Connectivity, Business Centre, Fitness Centre, Currency Exchange, Doctor on Call, Laundry and Dry Cleaning services, Complimentary Airport Transfers, Valet Parking & Travel Services.It also houses 3 Dining Options inhouse :-"24/7 All Day Dining" (Coffee Shop) :- Located at the Lobby Level Serves a variety of Vegetarian and Non-Vegetarian Light Snacks,Maincourses and Combo Meals. Being a Coffee Shop we have Buffet spread over for Breakfast,Lunch and Dinner open for Inhouse room guests as well as Walk in guests. We have inhouse specialties in coffee shop such as Kathi Rolls,Sandwiches and Won tons."Purple Lotus" (Awadhi Cuisine Fine Dine) :- We serve a varietly of Indian Clay Oven (Tandoor) Specialaties such as Kebabs,Biryanis and Mocktails.Operational for Dinner."Valentine" (Pastry Outlet) :- The 24/7 Pastry Outlet serving a variety of Desserts and exotics for feasting the sweet tooth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Metropole Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.