We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“And so began history....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lothal

Lothal
Lothal, India
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Bathinda, India
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“And so began history....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The river port of Lothal was the link of the Indus Valley Civilization with the rest of the world, statement that we read in the first chapter of any school text book on history. Every single characteristic described in them is visible here. No monument or any extraordinary work of art is located here. Instead what you see here is the example of ancient urban planning, the vision of the community leaders and the marvellous engineering work that defined the civilization.
Lothal was a thriving port,and was fairly urbanized.The artifacts include the earthen pots,beads, toys, things of everyday use and above all the seals and the yet to be deciphered inscriptions.The bricks made 5000 years ago are still standing strong,the underground drains and the house design would put modern civil engineering to shame, and fascinate anyone with the slightest sense of history.
The ASI museum near the site is small,but fairly descriptive. The exhibits are original with elaborate explanation, and the portraits and models help in understanding the actual site on ground.
The place is not a resort,and mercifully so. I for one wouldnt want this sacred treasure strewn and littered with plastic waste, for that would be our dubious contribution to history. It is a convenient excursion from Lothal, not for picnic, not for sightseeing, but to get a touch of how the first Indians lived in an urban community and be humbled by their knowledge and common sense.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    17
    9
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Visit only if you are interested in Archeology”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Visit only if you are interested in Archeology. Otherwise, for a layman, this place does not really offer much to see. One can study the information available through books, but, going their physically may not add much value.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Serene place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I am 24 and i dont have friends my age who admire old and ancient civilisation. But this trip was informative and also fun. Please dont underestimate this place as boring.

We did a small road trip on bike to lothal in 2012 afternoon.Roads were good, so road trip like this (77km) is not bad. There is a small museum there which gives you baffling information about how much sense our forefathers had.

Unfortunately the time we went( around 5pm) , all the guides had left, but its better to get hold of someone to listen to some information.

There is big dock, me and my friends sat there for almost 2 hrs. The guard allowed us to sit there. We had a great time sitting and admiring the old ruins, water in the dock, and the birds which flew by.

As a traveller, this small road trip was worth it, for relaxing a bit and thinking about the civilisation.Must visit once.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
215 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
655 helpful votes 655 helpful votes
“Mound of Wisdom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Whenever I am little depressed by the casual attitude of my students , to shrug off my depression and to salute the high intelligence of my forefathers I rush to Lothal - Mound of Dead - in local parlance , but for me Mound of wisdom .

We left our home at Vadodara at 0730 on 7th April 2013 and reached 120 km away Lothal at 1000 after taking en route some beautiful snaps of a parrot in a hollow of a big tree .

First of all , we went to the 214 m x 36 m sized scientifically designed dockyard on the bank of a tributary of the Bhgavo ( I used to teach Docks & Harbours ) constructed of fine bricks to withstand the hydrostatic pressure . The protection wall of the dockyard was 20 m in width . Part of this wall was used as a wharf . Dockyard allowed the ships to sluice from the sea and lock gates allowed them to float while loading / unloading the cargo . Dockyard had the capacity to handle 30 ships of 60 tonnes or 60 ships of 30 tonnes at a time . Nowhere in the world such a technically well developed dockyard was constructed in ancient era .

Lothal was divided into two parts ; Acropolis or Citadel where the chief and noble lived and the downtown where the artisans and commoners dwelled . At the SW corner of the citadel , on a 3.5 m high platform there was a warehouse of 49 m x 40 m .

In acropolis , houses were built on a 3 m high plinth and were provided with all the civic amenities like paved baths , underground drains and a well . The main sewer , 1.5 m deep and 0.9 m wide , connected the secondary sewers running East West and North South . The sewers were seamlessly joined by smoothened bricks . Drops at regular intervals served the purpose of automatic cleaning devices .A wooden plank at the end of a sewer stopped solid wastes . Sewage entered the cesspool of radical brick tunnels and discharged into estury .

The downtown had baths and drains emptying into underground soaking pits . The potters were expert in making ' Red ware ' micaceous pottery during the Charcolithic era .Bead makers used to produce less than 0.25 mm diameter of microbeads of gold . They could pierce these beads with fish bone . Temperature regulation was of utmost importance to obtain the desired quality of beads and the chambers of the kiln were designed accordingly .

The people were able to weigh fraction of a gram and used a shell compass to divide horizon or sky in 8 - 12 whole parts pioneering the study of astronomy and advanced navigation .

The cemetry was located to the NW of the settlement outside the 13 m thick mud brick
city wall .The dead were buried in rectangular or oval grave pits . Sometimes two dead bodies were buried together .

Later on we visited the museum .As soon as we entered , in front of us was a large canvas showing an artist's conjectural idea of harappan Lothal .

The left side gallery has showcases of beads made of carnelian , banded agate , amethyst , onyx , semi precious stones and fince ; microbeads of steatite which could be seen through magnifyingglass ; terracotta armaments ; replicas of seals & sealings ; shells ,ivry , copper & bronze items ; tools like stone blades , bone points , spindle - whorls , plumb bobs , etc . ; pottery of several forms like huge vessels for storage , dish , vases , etc .

The right side gallery displayed game objects like marbles , hopscotch , spinning tops , dice , gamesmen , etc ; animal & human figurines of gorilla & a sumerian like head ; weights made of various stones like carnelian , jasper , agate , etc . in different shapes ; ivory scale with demarcations ; etc.

After paying our tributes to the ingenuity of our forefathers we returned home .

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondicherry, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“amazing site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

i was travelling to Bhavnagar and on my way i just noticed a sign borad on the highway that Lothal is 13 km away. i was just taken back for a while because it was one of my ambition to visit Indus valley site during my life time because i am from tamilnadu and not a frequent traveller. everything in Lothal is amazing -it is 4500 years old structures ;the masonary perfections demonstrate the indian skills in construction and also the town planning.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lothal also viewed

 
 

Been to Lothal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lothal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.