We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alila Diwa Goa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Alila Diwa Goa to your Saves list
Alila Diwa Goa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48/10 Adao Wado | Majorda, 403713, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Salcette District
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

It was a great stay at the diwa wing.the pool beside the bistro restaurant and food also is mouth watering .The staff are very friendly and caring.The housekeeping are well trained like vidyadar,abhinvo and most special one that is stephen for towel art in the room

Room Tip: rooms at the diwa wing are beauitful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlasdairDavidson, Executive Assistant Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted to note that you enjoyed the ambiance and facilities of The Diwa Club. Will pass on your feedback to all team members you have highlighted. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Best wishes,
Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    298
    69
    26
    26
See reviews for
302
387
22
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is a big and nice property. Lots of greenery and two fantastic pools. Pool has a shallow area, where you have floating beds to relax for hours with a drink and over looking the green fields. Lots of things for both kids and adults within hotel to keep busy. There is a kids play area with carom, TT, fuse ball, air hockey, chess etc. They also have a small but decent cinema hall and will play you movie on demand. Breakfast spread is very good. There are other restaurants very near to hotel, right opp the hotel gate is fishkia and very poplar Martin's Corner around 300 meters away. Beach is around 600 meters away and will take 10-15 min to walk. Beach is clean but very few shacks, but then we visited in first week of Oct.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlasdairDavidson, Executive Assistant Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback, we are happy to read your positive review. The pool and also the kid's facilities have been appreciated by many of our guests. I am glad that we were able to meet your expectations and look forward to your next visit and to serving you again.
Best wishes,
Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed with my girlfriend for 4 nights in this beautiful and relaxing hotel. The infinity pool and the bar next to it, with nice music open until 1am is definitely a must. The bed was big and very comfortable, the bathroom had a huge bathroom and a separate spacious rain shower. The gym was well equipped and modern, and the spa has some 5 star massages. The restaurant had both International and Indian cuisine and was good. Most activities (pool, gym, spa) have extensive opening hours so that we could use them after coming from a day at the beach. Restaurant is open 24h. Staff was always very cordial. An amazing place to wrap-up a long trip around India.

Room Tip: "Ground floor rooms with a small garden on front" "Reserve time to enjoy a full day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlasdairDavidson, Executive Assistant Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest,
We hope you enjoyed your holiday experience in India. Good to read that you enjoyed your stay at Alila Diwa Goa and also the facilities on offer. I hope you managed to take in the sights and sounds of Goa during your stay with us. Look forward to welcoming you back.
Best wishes,
Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had a fantastic time at the resort, lovely room, bathroom, lounge right near the pool, the pool was lovely with the jacquzzi jets. we stayed for 5 days and our son came with his girlfriend and proposed to her on one of the private beaches in the area. We enjoyed the lovely breakfast menu and the evening meal, so much to choose from and always well presented. All the staff were lovely in the restaurants, bar & reception and throughout the hotel. We enjoyed relaxing by the pool and talking to the staff who were always helpful, especially, Suraj, Deepak and Simon. We will surely be visiting again. Thank you so much Clive & Shila, Ruth & Kishore.

Room Tip: Lovely place to go for relaxation, privacy D block was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlasdairDavidson, Executive Assistant Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest,
Delighted to read your comments on Trip Advisor. I am glad that we were able to meet your
expectations and provide you and your family with an enjoyable stay at Alila Diwa Goa. I will
definitely pass on your comments to all my team members who have contributed to making your stay with us a memorable one. Hope to welcome you all back for a future celebration at Alila Diwa Goa.
Best wishes,
Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hotel is really really nice with an infinity pool looking out on to paddy fields and palm trees with chilled out music from the edge bar and attentive pool staff catering to your needs a fabulous place to relax and take in the sun. The bistro restaurant is really really expensive comparable to top British restaurants however the service is slow and very inattentive taking nearly four hours to get served a 3 course meal with us (a table of 12) and a table of 2 in the restaurant service should be a lot faster with 5 waiters the chefs ended up bringing out the food to them we really wern't impressed and did complain but no one really knew what was going on. It wasn't a one off as we went back to the same place for lunch by the pool on the last day and it took over an hour for 7 of us to get a few burgers and sandwiches. We did although have an truly amazing time in the Spice restaurant which we had saved for our last night. This meal was a complimentary one which was included in the package and was truly fantastic sitting on what can be described as a chefs table next to the open kitchen the chefs cooked up a variety of Indian style tapas wish was served to us with impeccable service from the waiters and made us regret we had not visited sooner. The rooms are really large with huge baths and shower rooms and nice comfortable beds. One member of staff who really stood out and delivered more than could have been expected was Abdul who i hope gets some recognition for his commendable service and honesty he truly was an asset to the hotel and if i could employ team members like this i would in a snap. The nearby beach was ok and mishmour (i think its called) a beach shack is a place i would recommend for eating especially if you like seafood you sit meters from the sea eating the freshest food possible especially if you like seafood.

Room Tip: they all seemed pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlasdairDavidson, Executive Assistant Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest,
Happy to note that you had a good stay with us and enjoyed the amenities on offer at The Diwa Club as also your dining experience at Spice Studio. Have also noted your comments on the speed of service at Bistro which needs to be increased and we will address the same in our departmental meetings. In terms of pricing, let me assure you that we are competitively priced with other five stars in the vicinity. I will also pass on your appreciative feedback to Abdul as requested.
Hope you will visit again soon.
Best wishes,
Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

First the positives:
1. Beautiful property with superb swimming pool. Very quiet, peaceful and green.
2. Superb food. Huge breakfast spread caters to all tastes and choices. Almost all the dishes were very delicious.
2. Both the restaurants (Vivo and Spice Studio) are excellent and offer a superb dinning experience. I had dinner on all days during my stay at the Spice Studio, simply because the food was that good. The Goan and the non-veg south Indian food preparations were simply brilliant (except the mutton, which was under cooked). A must try is a dessert called ada pradhman.
3. Rooms are big and clean with a huge bathroom. However lighting in the room is a bit low.

Negatives:

1. Average Service: The service is not upto the mark. Most of the people in the hotel are clueless when asked any question. When there is a bit of a crowd the staff (though plenty in numbers) were not able to manage the guests and one had to wait for a 30 minutes for a fork or a coffee. We had to wait close to one hour when we had to check out, when we had already informed the front desk few hours back that we were checking out.
2. Weddings: This hotel is the venue for lot of weddings and if you are unlucky to be present during one such wedding, then the peace, quiet is gone. The hotel does not stop usage of loud music and dhols and it is quiet annoying for the other guests who have come for a peaceful getaway.
3. The rates offered by the Hotel were much higher than the ones offered by the travel websites. Mosquitoes are a major problem in the evening and the hotel can do a lot more to manage the menace.

All in all, it was great stay marred by isolated incidents of poor service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlasdairDavidson, Executive Assistant Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. While I am happy to read your positive comments, I also want to apologize on behalf of the team for falling short of providing you with a perfect holiday. I acknowledge that we do host a lot of weddings at Alila Diwa Goa which arises primarily from the popularity of Goa as a wedding destination, however we do try our best to provide alternatives to our guests. Also have taken note of all your service issues and we will address the same with trainings within the respective departments. I hope we can welcome you back again.
Best regards,
Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Visited Alila Diwa Goa in the month of October with family and stayed for 3 nights.
Location is good, just about half an hour's drive from the airport by cab but would not suit if you wish to visit and go around in North Goa.
It was a good experience staying in the resort. Check in was quick and easy, but was surprised that I was asked to pay up the remaining 50% at the time of check in even when 50% advance was already paid at the time of booking.
Nevertheless very good property in terms of space, landscaping etc., and the I thought the best part was the pool overlooking the paddy fields.
Good food and luxurious rooms, even though the restaurant got kind of crowded during the breakfast hours and could get chaotic.
If you get tired of the food in the resort, you can visit Martin's corner which is about 100 meters outside of the resort. It is a nice restaurant with good food especially if you are a non-vegetarian and the music was great.

I would rate the service at the resort as very good even though they needed to be reminded at times for things like bottled water etc. etc..
Even though the beach is about 600 meters away, the pick up and drop shuttle to the beach was very useful. Best part is that the beach is clean and visited mostly by the guests from Alila, so not much of crowd.
Few things for the Kids to do as well at the resort, they have a kids zone with various play options and movies being screened twice daily in the mini- theater. The staff in the kids play area was quite friendly and took good care of the kids.

Overall a great experience, would love to go and stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlasdairDavidson, Executive Assistant Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest,
Glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the amenities on offer at the resort. Look forward to welcoming you back again.
Best wishes,
Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alila Diwa Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alila Diwa Goa

Address: 48/10 Adao Wado | Majorda, 403713, India
Location: India > Goa > Salcette District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Salcette District
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salcette District
#1 Spa Hotel in Salcette District
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salcette District
#2 Family Hotel in Salcette District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Alila Diwa Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alila Diwa Goa is situated in South Goa along the coast of the beautiful Majorda Beach with panoramic views of vast verdant paddy fields leading out to the Arabian Sea. The resort is also perfectly located just 20 minutes from Goa’s Dabolim International Airport. Alila Diwa Goa blends contemporary Goan architecture with the magic of Goa’s cultural richness to create a stylish and relaxing environment that remains true to the destination. At the heart of the resort is an endless infinity pool that extends out into the paddy terraces. Its 153 rooms and suites are designed for quiet indulgence with an amazing bath experience, luxury bedding and a private terrace to take in the picturesque setting. The resort is complemented by a family entertainment zone that includes a theatre and children’s activity centre, and a comprehensive event centre that can accommodate your need for a versatile and ‘surprisingly different’ venue equipped with a ballroom, meeting rooms and a large outdoor lawn that can accommodate up to 300 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alila Diwa Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Diwa Goa Hotel Salcette
Alila Diwa Goa India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alila Diwa Goa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.