We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort...Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alila Diwa Goa

Save Saved
You added Alila Diwa Goa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alila Diwa Goa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48/10 Adao Wado | Majorda, 403713, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 24 hotels in Salcette District
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful resort...Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We chose to stay here as our friends were getting married at this hotel resort.
It is located in the south part of Goa, so it's quieter, less bars & tourist areas to hang out with. It's more of an area to rest & relax away from the hustle and bustle of everything. If you want to go to North Goa, it's easy to order a taxi or utilize guest services to hire a car.

It's a beautiful resort, the pool is really well designed but it's too bad it's not overlooking an ocean view. We ate lunch at the hotel and the Indian dhal was sooo good. The staff were all very friendly and service was impeccable. They remember that I prefer masala chai and how I liked my eggs every morning that I was there. The chefs even went out of their way to make congee the last morning we were there in respect for our craving for a Chinese breakfast.

The Sangeet ceremony was held at the resort & the space was beautifully decorated...however, the food was the best part of the event. Even the local Guests were impressed at the quality of the food and it was far superior to the food that was being served at the White Sands the following evening.

The resort doesn't have a private beach as after the the Tsunami, there are a lot of restrictions and levies involved with hotels maintaining a private beach. There is a very efficient shuttle service that takes you to the closes access to the public beach (5 min ride) and there's a resort staff member that attends to the guests' needs in the designated area. The area is well maintained and when you are ready to leave, they call for the shuttle service to take you back.

Overall, it was a great stay at the resort!
Ellen

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    541
    280
    68
    22
    21
See reviews for
279
372
22
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
US
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

I would rate this hotel excellent as the rooms were clean, spacious and had comfortable beds.The amazing location and walkable surroundings help in exploring the 'true' Goan relaxed ambience. Excellent staff at the reception as well as room service. We spent 4 days in this amazing setting and cant wait to knock their doors again later this year.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Every time we have been to Goa we have been for two weeks and each time at a different 5 star hotel. The Alila is the best we have found. Love the Leela Palace too (where we got married) which has the advantage of the grounds, being on the beach and better restaurants nearby but the Alila wins based on the luxury, the better larger infinity pool and the lush rooms with freestanding modern baths, huge showers and plasma tvs. The little touches make a difference too such as universal sockets so you dont need adapters so you can plug in around 6 different UK electrical items at once - handy when the wife is drying her hair and you want to use your laptop and charge your phones and cameras at once. There is even a little button to press for a privacy light to be lit outside your room - great little touches. Also having a little button to press on your sun umbrella for service is a nice and handy too. The library is a great sanctuary where you can borrow novels left by previous guests or browse the internet. Yes the beach is a mile away but the shuttle is a free fun 5 minute ride or you can borrow pushbikes to ride there then along the beach. The breakfast is great especially the cappuccinos. The pool is relaxing with a separate kids pool with mini sun loungers.
Staff are all very friendly polite and helpful. Looking to go back next December but prices have shot up for the Alila with the UK tour operators so we will have to see what comes up but we definitely hope to go back. There does not seem to be a video on tripadvisor for the hotel so I uploaded one but while I can access it through my tripadvisor account, it doesnt seem to have got on the Alila review page - maybe it takes a while. If not also stuck it on youtube as I think seeing a video of a hotel gives you a much better idea... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PfLTO26nNLc

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

Although the hotel is nice and the people are friendly, it does not warrant the prices that they charge. Their expensive restaurant, Spice Studio, was terrible. I ordered a glass of very average Australian wine (which is all that they had) and cost $15. When it arrived it was undrinkable. It was definitely off, but the waiter didn't seem to care. I told me to bring me the bottle and it was an almost empty bottle that had been open in the fridge for days. The manager came over, but didn't offer any alternative and neither tried the wine themselves. I ordered a beer instead and a prawn appetizer. It was deep fried and bland, like you would get in a sports bar. At this point I gave up and left. I tried their other restaurant and it was no better. I thought that the beach would at least be worth it, but no. You need to wait for a shuttle to go to and from the beach. It was covered in garbage and there was a line of crude oil that you needed to jump over to get to the water (obviously from the refinery down the beach). The water was too choppy to swim in anyway. i really can't see any reason to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saji_Goa, General Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this review, April 25, 2011
Dear DJC7799,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience at Alila Diwa Goa. While we are glad that you found the hotel nice, I regret that your dining experience was not a positive one. I have shared your comments regarding the food and service with my Culinary team who will take the necessary steps to ensure that we do not have a repeat incident like this. Regarding your comments on the cleanliness of the beach, I’d like to point out that all beaches in Goa are accessible to the general public and we can only support initiatives in collaboration with the local community and stake holders to look at ways to beautify the same. However as we do understand the importance of clean beaches, we are in the process of tying up with a company who will clean the stretch of the beach in front of the hotel regularly. We do hope you will visit Alila Diwa Goa again and my executive team and I will personally ensure that you have a pleasant and memorable stay with us.
Kind regards,
Saji Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Just returned from a 5 day stay with the family and will honestly recommend this place to friends & would be happy to return. The hotel is beautifully set out, very pretty goan-style buildings, spaciuos rooms all with terrace or balcony that have cailing fans (great for sitting out during hot days!) , 2 great size pools plus kiddie pool for very little ones, landscaped, good resturants. The thing that stands out is the friendly & accomodating service - nothing is too much trouble. Only downside is it's not on the beach, but there is a jeep that will take you there & back anytime, 5 mins ride. Beach has minimal sunbeads & umbrellas, not very well kept, but laidback and hassle free with a full time chap on duty. Did see dolphins swimming by however!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Returned Monday from in my opinion the best hotel I have ever stayed at. The hotel is first class in appearance with all amenities and grounds looking like a scene from an exclusive 5 star retreat. The hotel is surrounded by lush palm trees and mango trees, and the grounds are constantly being looked after by the ground staff. You will fail to be impressed with either of the pool areas too; simply breathtaking views over the paddy fields and in the distance the lined palm trees of the beach.

As soon as you walk into the main reception the wow factor really kicks in. We paid to upgrade to a Loft room (room 301) and we could not fault the room. The view over the paddy fields was simply amazing. The room had a very large bath and rain-fall shower with both being large enough for two people, the cleanliness of the room on a daily basis was also excellent, not once did we return to anything less than a spotless room.

From reading earlier reviews we were both a little worried about the level of service at the hotel; however rest assured the staff cannot be faulted. John the bar staff guy was excellent even picking up a pack of cards for us (cheers John!) and also making the best cocktails we had tasted, around the pool you will be looked after very well by John. The restaurant guys were also excellent; Clayton, Benzy and Cateo were all great guys, very polite, tentative and always working with a smile on their faces. Just walking around the complex you were always greeted with happy welcoming people. After travelling around the Golden Triangle for 6 days, we rated the Goan people as the most genuinely polite and helpful people we had ever met. So overall the staff around the hotel cannot be faulted at all.

The food at the hotel was far better than anything you can find outside of the hotel, we were not impressed with Martins bar or eating on the beach, even though the food is vastly cheaper there. I felt the hotels meals are more than reasonable enough. Most days we would have lunch off Menu rather than the Buffet style and we could not fault a single dish, whether that was local Goan dishes, Thai or just snacks. The Spice Studio's meals were exceptional too. The chef would often come out and greet the people sitting down in the restaurant which is an excellent sign. The Chicken Caffrael was superb and you could tell from the open kitchen that the hygiene was excellent. We made one mistake only on the food front and that was by not eating in the hotel for 2 nights and we paid the price for that, with slight upset stomachs for two days. So overall I would say why try and save a few pounds just eat at the hotel.

We used the Alila Spa and we were both amazed at the Spa's attention to detail and would recommend the treatments. The hotels shuttle service to the beach is excellent which we used a number of times. From the beach you can walk into Colva in about 45 minutes.

Overall we simply couldn’t fault the hotel and will be recommending to our family and friends, we would not hesitate to come back in the near future, although we are now very tempted to try other 'Design' hotels.

The very minor niggles we had during our stay (no one to meet us at the Airport even though the hotel bus left with lots of empty seats, and the arrival of a film crew which made certain areas of the pool, bar and restaurants out of bounds for a short while) . Also we were unable to extend our hotel room for an additional few hours whilst waiting for our pick up back to the Airport.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights on the Diwa Wing Package. It does not seem to be highly advertised but is brilliant value for money.

We stayed in the Diwa wing which is the more exclusive part of the hotel with its own restaurant/bar and pool with jacuzzi. The rooms are a higher class and larger too I believe. The package included free airport transfers and all meals (you can eat in any of the restaurants and order anything you want!! We ate lobster, king prawns etc and had 3 courses for lunch and dinner. You also get 15% off in the SPA and cocktail in the evening.

The staff were all very helpful and polite.

the only issue would be check in/out where they did not seem to have any idea what was going on, how to use a calculator or what the deals involve! You have to pay upfront a certain amount which is ridiculous given you are in a 5 stat hotel and they already have your bank details! check out took an hour whilest the bill was debated over and then they came back staying we owed more as things had been missed off.

We left the hotel (as planned) and spent two nights as Casa Colvale (see other review) We were then due to spend 2 nights at the Kenilworth but after having a look round there and having enjoyed our stay at Alila Diwa so much we returned for our final two nights.

The food in the Bistro and Spice lounge was always amazing as was the service. The whole hotel was very clean.

The beach is only a few minutes shuttle away.....it is a pleasant walk/cycle too. It is best to get the bikes early in the morning though as there was only a couple that worked during our stay. They are only a £1 or so to hire a day outside the hotel though.

We cycled along the beach which was a novel experience!

Highlty recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alila Diwa Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alila Diwa Goa

Address: 48/10 Adao Wado | Majorda, 403713, India
Location: India > Goa > Salcette District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Salcette District
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salcette District
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Salcette District
#2 Family Hotel in Salcette District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Alila Diwa Goa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alila Diwa Goa is situated in South Goa along the coast of the beautiful Majorda Beach with panoramic views of vast verdant paddy fields leading out to the Arabian Sea. The resort is also perfectly located just 20 minutes from Goa’s Dabolim International Airport. Alila Diwa Goa blends contemporary Goan architecture with the magic of Goa’s cultural richness to create a stylish and relaxing environment that remains true to the destination. At the heart of the resort is an endless infinity pool that extends out into the paddy terraces. Its 153 rooms and suites are designed for quiet indulgence with an amazing bath experience, luxury bedding and a private terrace to take in the picturesque setting. The resort is complemented by a family entertainment zone that includes a theatre and children’s activity centre, and a comprehensive event centre that can accommodate your need for a versatile and ‘surprisingly different’ venue equipped with a ballroom, meeting rooms and a large outdoor lawn that can accommodate up to 300 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, Orbitz, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Alila Diwa Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Diwa Goa Hotel Salcette
Alila Diwa Goa India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alila Diwa Goa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.