We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monsoon masti” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santana Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Santana Beach Resort to your Saves list
Santana Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sinquerim Rd Dando Beach | Dando Beach, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Candolim
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Monsoon masti”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is my 2nd visit to Santana & both times it was during rains.

Santana has spread out from the road to almost up to the beach. There are two partners who own this place and they have expanded it over a period of time. The resort is nicely laid down and well maintained. Rooms are adequate, with good mattresses, small pantry area, mini fridge. Toilets are average but clean with supply of basic toileteries but clean towels. Rooms are cleaned every day & they have balcony for upper floor (not sure about lower floors). All rooms are air-conditioned & they offer wi-fi packages.

Breakfast was complementary for us with a decent spread and attentive staff. There was a young lady who was going around and checking with the guests if they needed anything. Reception can help you to book local transport including self driven cars. They have a small dedicated & secured parking for guest vehicles. This area is towards end of the property and closer to beach but can be accessed easliy.

For us the highlight was the swimming pool. The swimming pool (not outside restaurant) has sunken bar so one can enjoy their drinks in swimming pool itself. When we went to the pool it was raining and initially water felt a bit cold and a nice drink combined with dip in the water was soooo relaxing.The barman plays nice music and it just takes you closer to Nirvana :)

The maintenance service is great for the price you pay. I haven't tasted the food from restaurant but there are good choices avaialble outside (even in monsoon) if you have a vehicle.

Being there during rains had added advantage of lesser crowds and cheaper rate. I have been visiting Goa every year and we would look forward to Santana as our favourite holiday spot, specially in monsoon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Akbar Travels

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    339
    62
    9
    6
See reviews for
316
434
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Good rooms with all necessary amenities. Staff is friendly and room service is excellent. The beach was a 2 minute walk from our room. The beach is very clean and waves are huge. There are multiple pools and my 10 yr. enjoyed swimming in the bigger one. Breakfast is excellent. They serve something Indian everyday, puri-sabji, idli-sambhar, egg-bhurji, croissants, cakes, juice, coffee... The property is clean and very well maintained.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at Santana in August 2012 as a Couple. We had a delightful experience. The standard rooms were very spacious and neat. The resort has a very nice feel to it. The staff was also very friendly. It is a good place to relax with family or as a couple.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Perfectly placed on Candolim beach, away from Calangute rush. If you're a foodie, eat on the shack just opposite to the resort.
It's owned by Sanatana mgmt, but eating a candle-lit dinner under open sky with sand below your foot, whole different story.
What they can improve is the behavior of their receptionists...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorakhpur, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

we stayed in santana from 8july 13 to 12 july 13.... it was great experience to be there....large,spacious rooms with minikitchen.... nice freindly staff and prompt service....in this time of year candolim is alomst empty but this resort was still full with tourists...
we enjoyed our stay there and this is highly recommended....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This place had the highest number of positive reviews which intrigued me the most to try it out and voila... :D all smiles. Although we were there in the month of July (peak monsoon) but the idea was to chill and relax. To start with don't expect a 5 star experience in terms of quality, ambiance or other stuff and yes the owners neither promise that, but what ever is promised is delivered to your satisfaction. Yes this place is a 3+ star beach resort (will not be fair to even expect more with the kind of tariffs). Being said that let me quantify the place to the point.

1) Clean spacious and very well maintained rooms.
2) Everything in the room works (minibar in every room, that i think is a standard in Goa now)
3) A small sit out attached to every room is a plus
4) 2 swimming pools 1 sunken bar - although a bit small but fully caters to your need
5) Beach is clean and just a few steps away
6) Restaurant serves 6/10 food (reasons cited :P below)
7) Front desk very helpful
8) Service is impeccable
9) Value for money

We checked in on Thursday afternoon and check out was on Monday. Initially i was not very happy with the location of the room given to us, i had asked for a pool view and front desk promised to get back the next day. Nor I asked them about it later neither did I heard anything from them, given that it was a low season I expected we would be offered a choice next day but then I think the place had more guests than expected. No issues there later on as we also became comfortable in what was offered but yes a response from the front desk would have added another feather (maybe I am asking for too much but then :) are we satisfied with what we get).

The pool experience was amazing as it was all to us and the staff was very courteous. They even accepted our iPOD as we had some music preferences. The restaurant served delicious food expect for one occasion. Special mention to Chicken Satay at the Splash bar which really sent me back to my honeymoon days in Malaysia. The downside experience of restaurant was for our Friday lunch when we came back from the beach and were trying to get some main course, as it was around 4 pm only snacks option was open and we ordered Cheese omelette and Veg Sandwiches. Sadly veg-sandwiches was a disaster especially the amount charged made it worse. Except for this other stuff that was served in room service or at the restaurant was delicious and totally worth paying for. Cannot comment on breakfast as we hardly made for it till 10:30 am on a day or two but the spread was good, again can't say about quality as we did not experienced it thoroughly.

Regarding the service, as said above it was impeccable all through out our stay. Even though it was raining for 2 days out of our 4 we did not see the staff getting any lousier due to rains. Mr. Verner (owner) was there all the time it seems and you can spot him here and there everyday personally looking into the things. Have a conversation with him and you come to know where does the place gets it's charm and goodness from.

Coming to the conclusion of my review, i had a certain apprehension as the time of my visit was low season with less number of guests. This makes me think that whatever I experienced might not be the same if I return back during the peak season. But then the other thought takes over, as they could have neglected the guests during low season by cutting staff etc. This is where the real value lies and assures me that the next time i visit them (irrespective of the seasons) the level of satisfaction will always go north.

Just a few things I would like to suggest :
1) Please start a round the clock/after hours kitchen with limited menu.
2) Similarly something can be done to improve the restrictions on tandoor menu/items.
3) At least 2 complimentary water bottles expected on the first day :)

Room Tip: Rooms towards the beach are more quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at Santana from 5th -11th june.We were 6 of us staying in 2 rooms and 1 Suite.
The Property--- It is very well located,slightly away from the crowded stretch of Candolim yet within walking distance to a lot of eating options and stores.Very well maintained with lush green lawns and lovely walkways to the beach.The resort has a nice splash pool with a bar and 1 pool side restaurant and 1 pool side bar.Overall cleanliness is very good.Inspite of being in the middle of rains we did not find any insects/mosquitos around the place.It is a short half-a-minute walk to the beach and the beach is quite like a private one.Atleast in june it felt like one!
Food-The food served was really good and we had dinner at the restaurant on a couple of nights.A special thanks to Netra who was very attentive and prompt at all times.(dinner and bfast).Infact he managed to arrange for a Veg-Vindaloo too !!Tried room service once and can not complain about that too.
Rooms-Since we were in the pool facing suite(716),i can not say much about the standard rooms.But the suite rooms are amazing. Huge,two rooms ,fridge/kettle etc,lcd tv's in both rooms,inspite of the size of the rooms the airconditioning was chilling.The toilets are modern with shower cubicle.Plenty of hot/cold water throughout the stay.Again a special thanks to room boy Anjan who kept us entertained with his towel art.The house keeping is very prompt.
We also noticed the one of the owners (Leanne)is always around ,supervising and instructing the staff ,but never interrupting the privacy of guests.
Keep It Up SANTANA !! You made it a great vacation for us.

Room Tip: Splash pool facing Suite Rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santana Beach Resort

Address: Sinquerim Rd Dando Beach | Dando Beach, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Candolim
#3 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Santana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Beach Hotel Candolim
Santana Beach Candolim
Santana Beach Resort Goa/Candolim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santana Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.