We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“once is just not enough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santana Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Santana Beach Resort to your Saves list
Santana Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sinquerim Rd Dando Beach | Dando Beach, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Candolim
villamartin spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“once is just not enough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our first trip to Goa was supposed to be our last!
Two weeks at the Santana Beach Candolim and here we are counting the days until we go again in February 2014 and cannot really wait.
Our trip started on a Monarch short haul flight Alicante to Manchester which was on time(ish) with friendly staff and a really pleasant flight.
Landing in Manchester Airport we were met by driver from the Hilton Hotel who so chatty and cheery even at the late time (just before midnight). He sped us through check in and had our drinks waiting at the bar, service second to none. A clean friendly hotel (Reviewed) an excellent breakfast and a good start to our holiday to Goa. The bus took us back to Manchester Airport check in was swift for the Monarch to Goa flight (the check in desk lady was a tad frostly to say the least lol) and it was off to the Escape Lounge to chill before a very long flight. The lounge was excellent and very good value for money will book again for February 2014.

Having read all sorts of horror stories about the Monarch to Goa flight it was not something we were looking forward to. It was fine. Not the greatest amount of room, but able to get up and stroll about. Food was excellent, films not something we would have choosen but okay, and the flight attendents friendly and helpful, we were also on time so on the whole a 10 out of 10 flight.
The queues were not too bad on landing, the plastic figures lovely, the people friendly and our bags were waiting when we got through.
The driver sent by the Santana was waiting outside and was chatty and friendly as we drove for around an hour to the Santana Beach Resort.
Arriving at 8.30 am we were tired and dirty and could have done with the room we had requested early access too by email but sadly it was not available. After breakfast of toast and eggs (other choces available on request) we had our first experience of Goa, walking the beach from Candolim to Calungute we were tired and dirty but already in love with Goa.

The Santana Beach Hotel is spotless, the linen changed daily, the food superb, the staff don´t understand the word no and the other guests hopefully some of the best friends we will ever make.
For those in doubt about a trip to Goa, please try it if only the once, and of course stay at the fabulous Santana Beach Resort Candolim you won´t regret it.
Denise

Room Tip: We chose a groud floor as I am bad with steps, some of the rooms are refurbished and some near the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    339
    62
    9
    6
See reviews for
317
435
23
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here for two weeks again in February 2013 after first visiting in November 2011 (I dont know why we didnt do a review then as it was a great trip).

The hotel is set in lovely gardens and is only a few steps from the beach and the Calamari shack. At the other end you have the main road which leads to candolim to the left and fort aguada to the right. There are always numerous taxi drivers just outside the entrance to the hotel and they will take you anywhere or arrange any trips you may want to do. We used our favourite driver again Nitesh.

Having stayed here before we knew we wanted a ground floor room close to the splash pool so that we could nip in and out of the room as we pleased. We emailed reservations well in advance of going and got a room we wanted which was perfect for us, it even had a little sun on the balcony in the afternoon! The rooms are basic enough but have everything you need (A/C, minibar fridge, kettle etc).

This trip we didnt really leave the hotel much during the day instead eating and drinking either at the splash pool or at olegarios most days and then going out for an evening meal to local restaurants. The food was good and convenient for us as was breakfast (eggs, toast, cereal etc) We used the laundry service which was good value and a prompt service. It also meant we didnt have to pack as much in our cases coming out!

The best thing about Santana Beach is the staff. Everyone is great, customer service is superb and most recognised us from last time. They also enjoy working there which helps! Whether it is the bar guys, the house keeping boys, the security guards or the gardeners everyone is hard working and friendly.

This stay we spoke to many couples who have returned to the Santana again and I recognised at least 4 couples who were there in November 2011 when we last visited. This says it all for me. The hotel has a loyal customer base and it is easy to see why.

Since last time the hotel has installed several water features and extended the Olegarios bar area to include more seating which are nice additions.

We came during what must be half term as there were a few families from England, Russia and Finland at the hotel. All the kids seemed to be enjoying themselves so they must rate the place too!

We used the Wifi service throughout our stay which offered good value for money (about 600 rupees for 60 hours). The only thing I would say to improve the hotel would be more sun loungers around the splash pool area.

Room Tip: Email reservations around 2 months before travelling requesting what type of room you would like and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This place has got a nice sea view with road connectivity. As it is on located the beach itself its nice to hang out there. Near kingfisher villa. I was there for 5 nights and had fun.
Value for money in short.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Plus:
Good beach resort, well maintained, a minute walk from beach, spacious room with an attached kitchen, good AC, good housekeeping staff, calamari restaurant

Needs improvement:
Transport option should be provided to travelers (okay if extra is charged). If hotel can't provide transport, receptionist should provide contact details of third party transport people.

Option was not provided to choose room as hotel management claims always that they are full. Looking at the resort no one can say if they are running full.

Exhaust fan was not available in bathroom

Refrigerator was not stocked properly. Some items were not available due to shortage as per staff. While checking out, staff has listed down items which I never seen in fridge. After having talk with his seniors, matter got settled. Advice - Hotel management should keep list of number of items about what is available in refrigerator at the time of guest check-in.

As check-in time is post 11 am, guests should have been provided temporary room till check-in.
As most of the people travelling by buses reach Goa in morning, it is not sufficient providing guests common washroom. Really difficult to manage if you are travelling with your kid after overnight journey.

Room Tip: Option was not provided to choose room as hotel management claims always that they are full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbr_goa, Owner at Santana Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on tripadvisor. We appreciate those who give us constructive feedback, like yourself, as it allows us to improve

I would like to address some of the points you raised.

Transport option - I am not too sure what you are referring to here. We do provide a taxi service pickup and drop to bust stops, train stations and airport. We also have taxis available at all times from reception and guests can also hire cars and bikes from reception if required. If there is anything further you think we could add to this list please do email me at info@santana-goa.com

Option to choose room - Like in all hotels you need to check the availability of different room categories at the time of making a reservation and not when you are checking in. Contrary to what you think we do run full 90% of the season (October-April) so asking for a different room category at the time of check in will nearly always result in disappointment. I am not too sure why you thought we were not being honest when we informed you that we are running full, short of taking you to every single room and showing you that the room is occupied I am not sure how else we could prove the FACT to you!!!! There is no reason to tell you that I am running full when I am not!

Exhaust fans - some of our rooms already have exhaust fans, we are upgrading all our rooms in phases, eventually all our rooms will have them.

Mini bar - I agree with you that mini bars should have list of contents displayed, I will look into the matter immediately

Check in time is 12pm and this is informed to you at the time of making the reservation. If you know that you are going to be reaching Goa earlier than this time and you would prefer an early check in then you would need to request this at the time of booking or at least check before arrival. Unfortunately on days where we are running full we are unable to give you a room until someone checks out. If however you arrive on a day where we are not full we normally provide guests an early check-in and many times AT NO ADDITIONAL COST.
When guests arrive early and have to wait for a room, they are more than welcome to use the hotel facilities - common washroom, restaurant, beach beds, swimming pool etc


I thank you once again for your feedback and do hope to see you and your family once again in Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shimla, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Santana Beach Resort has been getting excellent reviews; that was the reason we chose it for our first time stay in Goa. We stayed for 4 nights from 11 Feb to 15 Feb 2013. Overall we relished every moment of our stay. The resort has very well maintained gardens and two swimming pools. Around 90 % of the guests were foreigners who were very cultured and friendly. But never once we felt any discrimination by any one of the staff. My daughter loved the pool and stayed in it even though she did not know how to swim; the pool boy kept watch over her even when we were not present there.
The check in was quick. Welcome drink was refreshing. The room boy took care of our luggage. Our room 610 was just above the splash pool with a balcony overlooking the road to the resort. Spacious room with a separate kitchen, a mini fridge full of beverages, a coffee table with coffee maker, cups and water glasses, cupboard, a study table, bed side stools, a roll away bed apart from the master double bed with comfortable mattress and pillows. The air conditioner worked properly and we could set the temperature accordingly. The attached bath was fine with hot and cold shower and soaps, shampoos and shower cap provided. The room had a cable television, phone, a big mirror and comfortable chairs in the balcony.
Breakfast was served in Olegerio restaurant from 7:30 to 10:30. Great choice was available ranging from corn flakes, chocos, boiled eggs to eggs cooked to suit your requirement, plain bread, bread toast with butter, jam, honey, to chicken sausages, baked beans, tomatoes, to Indian chana puri. It was followed by hot or cold coffee, fresh juice, sweet lassi, chocolate milk, cold milk or tea. No bar on how many times you have any of those mentioned above. Apart from this we also had dinner in our room a couple of times and the dishes were delicious and served hot quickly.
The beach was just 1 minute walk from the resort. It was clean and free from people bugging you. Parasailing was available; life guards were vigilant on duty. We collected some sea shells and enjoyed the sun and sea. On entering back in the resort a fresh water shower was refreshing.
There is nothing to complain as all expectations were met. A little suggestion is regarding the dull coloured walls of the room and nothing hanging on the walls. For kids a little slide and a swing could be fitted in one corner of the huge gardens.
We will definitely be returning to Santana and have already started recommending it to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

we really enjoyed the trip. the accommodation was excellent and very secured place and it is worth to spend. and very nearer to beach, ambience and maintenance was good. The complementary breakfast was given by the resort is good to eat for everyone.


  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed here recently for 2 weeks, this being the first time we have visited Candolim. The hotel is lovely, with friendly, efficient staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are very clean if a little basic and the bedding and towels are changed daily. The kitchen area isn't really necessary as it's basically a room with a fridge and coffee/tea making facilities. A bit more storage space and more sockets would be good! The gardens are beautiful and we never had a problem getting a sunbed either by the pool or in the grounds. There was a lot of repair work going on while we were there and it wasn't very peaceful listening to drills and stonecutters! The beach area and the shacks are very relaxing and good for people watching (if your so inclined!). We found the resort itself a bit too commercial for us but I can understand why people who want guaranteed weather and cheap drinks/food return here for long periods of time. Breakfast was very basic and you would need to be a fan of eggs done every which way! Drinks at the bar were quite expensive compared to the rest of the resort and we only gave this a go once. Average price for 2 curries, 2 naans, a rice, large beer and a cocktail averaged about £11. Recommend Top Nosh down the side of the Friends bar/restaurant. This is run by an English lady called Debbie and was light years ahead in terms of cleanliness and quality of food and no dearer either!! Lovely! We enjoyed our stay at the Santana but won't be returning to Candolim.

Room Tip: Upstairs tooms have more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santana Beach Resort

Address: Sinquerim Rd Dando Beach | Dando Beach, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
#3 Family Hotel in Candolim
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Santana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Beach Hotel Candolim
Santana Beach Candolim
Santana Beach Resort Goa/Candolim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santana Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.