We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“silver sands holiday village” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Sands Holiday Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Sands Holiday Village to your Saves list
Silver Sands Holiday Village
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Murodd Waddo, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Candolim
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“silver sands holiday village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

just got back from silver sands yesterday 26th been to Candolim 22 times now first time in Silver Sands picked up a last minute bargain well worth the price the room we had was a supeior room so no extra charge for AC tv etc the room was kept clean and bedding & towels changed every day the pool area was not so well kept staff very good and friendly would go back there if the price was right planning to go back in december told can book room direct with hotel so got some sums to do the rep said that this year flight only price would be outrageous and that tour operators have been negotiating that the hotels keep prices same or lower than last year so would be cheaper for a package for next season will have to wait and see

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    104
    44
    22
    15
See reviews for
42
179
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

heard loads about this hotel - not all good but can honestly say it was great. we had a supieria room in green block. the blocks hold 4 rooms,2 up,2 down and heard no noise in the evenings at all. the room was big and airy and plenty of room for us and my 15yr old without us falling over eachother. 3 chairs on balcony and table. frige and tv a/c in room. basic but clean. we overlooked the gardens and it was lovely to see the chipmucks and kingfishers in the mornings.

3 places to eat with the hotel. recommend breakfast at Ce Mar over looking the beach/sea. scrabbled eggs are great and sam is lovely when he serves you always a smile to hand. try sheetals for dinner,is easily missed as its tempting to try other resturants b4 the hotels own,but we found the service and food excellent.

pool isnt great as not many beds,but we only used at the very end of the day anyway so to us wasnt a problem. the second pool is abit tricky to find,so ask one of the hotel boys to show u and that small but lovely.

hotel has a laundry service,we use once. had 7things washed cost approx 2.00, back in less than 24 hrs.

the staff couldnt have done more. always cheerful and smiling,even the guard on the gate in the evenings gave my OH a salute everytime he saw him!

location - is excellent! straight on the beach. off the main beach road,so easy to get to but no noise. at the top of the beach road,tut tuts can be found,as can hospital,chemist,shops,banks (cash point) and ofcorse all the resturants you could possible want

would book again, dont expect the ritz but if you want a basic,clean and happy place to stay - you cant go far wrong with silver sands!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

loved the hotel right near the beach our room was ok but the whole place did look grubby but you av to rememeber where you are and cannot wait to go back the staff were lovely and the people we met as well

Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

this was my first stay in candolim though i have been to goa many times. i was pleasantly surprised, the hotel is literally on the beach with it's own beach shack the cae mar. also it's own restaurant the sheetal, where if you like indian food is the best in candolim. you can have your breakfast at either it is basic but they will do you eggs any way you like for under a pound.
the hotel has a lovely swimming pool also use of another smaller pool at the back of the hotel with a waterfall that is lovely and quiet. there is a lovely man working in the front reception come bar area called ajay who would do anything for us from fetching a travel plug to popping to the chemist ,everyone was very friendly but he was our favourite.
the room itself for goan standard of budget hotel was good, the beds were comfortable the bathroom clean, with a good shower planty of hot water clean towels et.c. we hired a fridge and used the a/c , we overlooked the swimming pool with a nice balcony. the one fault i would pick with the room was the electric lighting is very poor.
the layout of the hotel makes it very easy to make friends as you walk down past the rows of bungalows everyone gathers for a small chat on the way, the gardens to the side are beautifully kept with lots of birds and butterflys.
candolim is a far nicer place than it's neighbour calangute, it's a peaceful, friendly and small village with some fabulous restaurants and an amazing beach with many shacks to choose from, get up early and you can see the dolphins from your sunbed!
i would go back to this hotel again if visiting candolim. they made my ten year old daughter very welcome which was a boon as she was the only child there, most guests were older people. there were such a lot of very friendly dogs to play with she didn't mind.
the best thing about silver sands is it's unbeatable location and friendly ambience. the worst was the poor electric lighting in the room and plates left outside from room service not cleared away quick enough.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

This was our first time at Silver Sands,I can't praise it enough,clean ,staff very very helpful,& the location cannot be beat.we stayed in a superior room (B 601 ) very big bright & clean,our room boy "eddie" looked after our every need.OK the free breakfast is basic but enough to set you off each day,the eating in Goa is legendary so no need for me prattle on about it,only to say if you fancy going to the best place in the world for gauranteed sunshine ,culture,& unbeleiviable food then this is it,so much so we have booked for 25thJan 2010 for 3 weeks, roll on 2010.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

Although the hotel is very basic but clean. It is beautifully laid out and the staff are so friendly and helpful. Situated at the edge of the beach and at the end of a half mile road full of shops it was perfect for us.
We stayed in a chalet and used it only as a place to get changed and sleep because there is little more in it than two beds and a wardrobe.
The only real gripe is that if you wanted a 'fridge it was 200 rupees a day to hire one, but all in all we had a fabulous three weeks in Goa using this horel as a base.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2009

This is the 5th time we've been to Candolim but the first stay at SSHV. We booked an upgraded bungalow, this was perfectly fine for our 3 week stay. One large room with 3 beds (only 2 of us), fridge (which kept things ICY cold), TV (Never used!), more than adequate wardrobe and storage space. The bathroom was typical Goan, toilet, sink shower. Good powerful shower and very clean. The most toilet rolls we have ever had!
The only poor comment on our room would be the poor lighting, it was always very dark and been on the ground floor, you couldn't have the curtains open whilst getting ready!
Our friends who booked after us happened to be opposite our bungalow which was good. Thier room everso slightly smaller but the lighting was much better.
The staff we're all really friendly, even when we rolled up at 5am some mornings! they always chatted and was interested in where we had been!
Breakfast was included and you could go accross the road to the beach shack to eat this. We only had it once - it wasn't really worth getting up for and food is so cheap in the shacks anyway we didn't need to.
Bcause we we're on ground floor, there was some slight noise on changeover days - early morning cases being dragged etc, but it wasn't that bad. We looked at the other rooms - the 1st floor rooms where also very good, roomy, A/C, Fridge and private. Good if you want you curtains open whilst changing as not over-looked but you do miss out on the general chat of other people walking past and saying Hi!
The location is great. It's at the bottom of Candolim beach road (we call it Inferno Rd bcause it's where Inferno restaurant is!). Bars, Restaurants and shops moments away. The beach is less than 2 minutes away - Sunny Side, Bobby's, Spotty's and Frank Zapper Shacks all less than 2 mins walk away. The lady on one of the little stalls to the beach has ICE cold water available.
I can't say anything bad about Candolim, Baga or Calangute - We LOVE it!
Visit Inferno for the best Curry (Butter Chicken became my new fave!). Visit Britto's (Baga) for the BEST Pork Vindahloo and Cheese Naan. Visit Bob Marley Shack (Candolim Beach) for the BEST egg & chips! ( I know, but trust me!!)

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Sands Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Holiday Village

Address: Murodd Waddo, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Sands Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Silver Sands Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Holiday Village Hotel Candolim
Silver Sands Holiday Village Candolim
Silver Sands Holiday Village Goa/Candolim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Sands Holiday Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.