We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't you ever visit this hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dona Alcina Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dona Alcina Resort to your Saves list
Dona Alcina Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Opp.Candolim Health Centre | Opp Candolim Health Centre, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 46 Hotels in Candolim
Kharkov, Kharkivs'ka Oblast', Ukraine
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't you ever visit this hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This hotel is terrible. First of all, all rooms are really old plus bed linen are not white and have some stains. And the worst thing that has happened to me was that i got robbed (while i was sleeping in my room). Hotel did not take any responsibility for this. Several rooms were robbed and they did not take any action.

Can't recommend this hotel to anyone. Really really bad.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    20
    28
    12
    33
See reviews for
8
36
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ankleshwar
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

good apartment type room... if u r backpackers then its best for u.....

studio type room like home. i read some review that its not clean...i said if u go for travel u can chose b'az it just for 3 yo 5 days only...

Room Tip: i think u can go for it .. ask for tv in room ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Unfortunately we cant put a minus on it!!!!!!!!!!!!! It was filthy,crawling with bugs,no plates,cups not even a fridge. We had to clean our room ourselves with bug killer and Domestos etc.Although wehad exterminated the bugs it took them 4 days to sweep the dead bugs up and over 2 weeks to mop the tiled floors for the first time.We had 1 of our party nearly electrocuted in the shower so they were moved to another room & within 10 minutes of moving them out someone else was put into their old room without fixing the electics.Within a day of moving to a ground floor room they were Burgled. Another of our party ( a 62 year old woman who they knew was on her own) had an intruder who was one of the cleaners entering her room at 01.00.a.m.After a week the water in the swimming pool turned green & was unusable.Everytime we asked to see the Rep we were told they didn't have a number for him. We finally saw the Rep after nearly 2 weeks as he was at the pool so that was when we told of our complaints. He kept chasing the hotel manager up about the state of our rooms & the swimming pool which was a lovely shade of pea green.He offeredto get us a change (whether he meant rooms or hotel we dont know) but as there was only 5 days left of our holiday it wasn't worth the hassle of packing & unpacking to move.The Rep arranged for us to be able to use another hotel's pool but it still left us without the use of a pool for over a week. The Hotel staff at the reception were extremely unhelpful they had no idea of customer service. When we booked in at about 01.30.a.m. there wasn't even a bottle of water or a glass to drink it out of in our room. 1 of the cleaners did bring us a bottle of water & asked for 100 rupees or £2.00 for it. We found out in the morning they were only 30 rupees from the pool bar. So we were taken advantage of whilst we were exhausted & he even had the nerve to knock onour door at 11.00p.m. to tell us it was his birthday & hold his hand out. Anyway we wished him happy birthday & closed the door. Pretty much the holiday hotel from hell.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was my first time in Goa, Me & my boyfriend stayed here Jan 17th - 31st Jan 2013. On arrival to the hotel I wanted to go home ! I expected basic but this wasn’t even clean, it was disgusting. I cleaned the bathroom, toilet & shower room myself wiv detol & germ killer. We had no hot water for the whole 2 week despite telling the reception numerous times they told us it was sorted but it never was. We sort of gave up on it. Bedding & towels are changed if u leave your key in reception but not once were the floors swept or mopped in 2 weeks. We had to put shoes on as soon as we stepped out of the shower to keep our feet clean. Beds were terrible We asked for an extra mattress but it didn’t make any difference.
We didn’t once eat breakfast at the hotel even tho we paid for B&B. The thought of the kitchen after seeing my room & the communal toilets put me off.
The pool is nice and cleaned every morning, the staff seem okay too (the little contact we did have with them) We didn’t spend much time here at all there was only one other English couple staying here around the same time all the rest is full of Russians who had Russian music & karaoke blasting till 12 at nite which was really annoying. The staff seemed like they couldn’t say no to them.
All in all will never stay here again, although I am booking Goa 2014. There are plenty of other hotels we visited (as we had family over at the same time) that were cheaper & cleaner than this. I didn’t expect the Hilton but at least a clean place to wash, pee & sleep!
The hotel location is brill, right next to the supermarket & 10 mins from the beach.
Candolim is a fantastic place, I absolutely loved it. We spent most days either at VJ’s Shack on candolim beach or at Highland Beach Hotel by the pool visiting family. VJ’s shack brilliant place to chill in the day, good beer & food 2 of breakfast/dinner & drinks all day about £10 english! Ruffles is a good place for a full English breakfast.

Room Tip: Dont stay at this hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We Stayed there from 22 Jan 2013 to 25 Jan 2013, when we reached at room there are so many problem in the room, such as Washroom did not had Doorknob,TV is not working properly, so we compliant regarding same to the manager, but the good thing is they solved all this problems within 2 hrs,reception service is good, Pool Game is also there with Rs.50 for 1 game and the better thing is Swimming pool with bar.
Bad Things:No Telephone, they serve only 2 pieces of bread with jam & butter in breakfast.

Note:Book Pool facing Rooms Only.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

If you want a romantic beach holiday, don't bother, if your after a cheep family holiday, go else where and spend a little more. If on the other hand your there for the Sunburn festival and are only going to be using the room to pass out in then this may be the place for you. If you don't mind sharing your *room* with a variety of bugs that form ques to get into your stuff, this may be for you. If you don't mind that the toilets don't flush, this might be for you. If you like rude and unhelpful staff, or indifferent security, or non-existent room service/house keeping/drinking water, this might be for you. And don't forget the draconian house rules; No out side drinks (alcoholic and non-alcoholic) allowed in the rooms at all?? No outside food in the rooms – with threats that the security will confiscate if found!!! If you want to stay in a hotel with something approaching the facilities that the modern traveler expects - things like safe electrics that don't give you a shock when you try to turn the TV on, clean sanitation or a reliable power backup system then I'd look else where .... But all in all, do we go all the way to Goa to sit in a hotel? No, this place is old, dirty and very run down, but hey? the beach is just across the street and there are a galaxy of bars within a minuets walk of the front gate and that makes a huge difference ...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

As many said in the reviews the resort is not bad. We booked it weeks before our stay and got for a feasible price, but we still have some doubts are on our mind. When we went there and saw standing on the road there is a small board and a path leading into the resort. Once we enter the resort is very big. Definitley old but very big. Luckily Our rooms are all pool facing. And the rooms are also very big. For the same size of rooms u may need to pay 4 times the price in any new resort. There are some common problems in rooms that some fans are not working ac's are not always working tv's are not working but it fine adjustable. The pool is also great except that it doesnt have much shallow area and large part of it is deep. The restaurent is of no big use except for any urgent requirements. Although around 200 feet away there is an entire street with restaurents and all the way along we will find food. The reception people are not very much help ful but not problematic. Altogether its a no problem and good stay at that place.

Room Tip: select pool side rooms to get some view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dona Alcina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dona Alcina Resort

Address: Opp.Candolim Health Centre | Opp Candolim Health Centre, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 46 Hotels in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dona Alcina Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Dona Alcina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Alcina Hotel Candolim
Dona Alcina Candolim
Hotel Dona Alcina
Dona Alcina Hotel Goa
Dona Alcina Resorts
Dona Alcina Resort Goa/Candolim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dona Alcina Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.