We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay for 3 nights/04 days” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alor Grande Holiday Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alor Grande Holiday Resort to your Saves list
Alor Grande Holiday Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Opp Primary Health Centre, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Candolim
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stay for 3 nights/04 days”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had a very lucky chance of staying in this property due to cheap rates as compared to other properties. Me and my friend had booked it one month prior to our arrival date of 12th Jun. As we were at the reception counter, we could see other room guests arguing with the manager for some reason or the other. But the attitude of the staff was really bad. It seemed like they were doing a favour on the guests. When it came to our check in around 1500 hours, the toilet was stinking with the room not cleant and bedlinen not changed. We asked for a change in the room which resulted in a delay of approx. 1/2 hour as there were no rooms available. But when I called and checked with one Mr. Vikram, 02 rooms were available. Meanwhile, the housekeeping staff went and sprayed room freshner in the entire room making it more unbearable inspite we telling the staff not to spray but to clean the toilet with phenyl. He refused to understand. However, we were given another room which was better but leakage from the fridge was inevitable. Breakfast not upto the mark with the egg item remaining the same for 03 days. Tea/coffee was served with a condition that the kettle needs to be taken back immediately as there was shortage of same. The check in staff, on any given days were rude to the guests which was quite surprising. A negative attitude is what they possessed.
What we noticed that this hotel attracts a lot of groups which is why no attention is catered to individuals or families.
Hotel good for groups only...recommend no familes or inidividuals to stay here.

Regards....

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    67
    44
    30
    54
See reviews for
51
83
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed here January 2013, my friend has had an apartment here for 26 years, and she helped me find a one bedroom apartment to rent for 2 months, I was on the ground floor overlooking the pool, if you are renting privately, you get no help at all from the HITLER that is the pool life guard, as far as he is concerned, you are only entitled to a sun bed and umbrella, if you are a guest of the hotel, unless of course you are willing to give him 250 rps, for a bed umbrella and towel, he seemed to make a fortune, saving beds for people that left their towels on the beds all day, whilst he watched the. It was the same this year 2014, when I visited my friend in the hotel he was again doing the same.

Other than that it is a very well run hotel, the food is excellent at very good prices, steak night, which is usually on a Tuesday, the fillet steak was big enough to fill the plate, plus chips or jacket potatoes with a side salad, all for 300rps, The drinks are the same price as he other restaurants outside, and as for the one person complaining that the restaurant has no A?C well I am not surprised really as it is an open air restaurant that is situated by the side of the swimming pool.

There is entertainment on most nights of the week, with a singer, group, or karaoke, a lot of these apartments are private and are rented out by the management, so the management, have no real authority to repair anything that goes wrong, it is better to rent from the owner of the apartment, or rent one of the apartments that the hotel actually own. Except for the poolside HITLER I found all the staff to be friendly and very helpful.

The location is brilliant right in front of the hotel is a supermarket (not Newtons) so if you want something for your fridge or to cook, it is handy, the buses, for Panjim and Calangute stop right outside the hotel, I loved it here.

Room Tip: If renting privately try to rent from the actual owner of the apartment, not the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Rooms: Rooms were neat and clean, spacious with good ventilation - 4/5 as some of the rooms dont have AC remote and they ll not provide u in any manner, u hv to adjust in whatever temp the AC is.
Staff: Hotel Staff was friendly. However, proper attention ll not be given 2 u if u r a couple. Families would be given more importance. 3/5
Pool: Pool was a bit untidy. Felt like they clean it hardly twice in a month. 3/5
Food: Compared to other restaurants, food rates are cheap and quality i ll give 5/5.
Service: Food / Room Service appear quite late after it is asked for. Anything u want u have to ask before at least 30 minutes. 2/5
Location: It is the best location one can stay in Goa. Every famous beach, hotel, market is nearby this location.
Stay: If u want to stay long, dont opt for this hotel as the staff constantly behaves like, u r a burden to them, plz go soon. Food/Room service they ll not provide instantly, bt once u ask u r checking out, they ll come in a single minute to ur room and ll rushingly take ur luggage to reception.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed at this hotel last week and was not impressed at all. The hotel is actually a residential complex converted into a hotel. The rooms are very average. Some apartments have a few rooms locked. Not very clean. Restaurant area is not air conditioned. Food is very okay. No other facilities as such.
I guess it is priced cheaply so for that price it is okay but this is not the sort of place one would want to go on a holiday...

Never going back to this place for sure

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed here with a group of friends.Right from the arrogant rude watchman at the entry to the rude lady manager all make your stay worst.They make you feel you are staying for free.No manners of behaving with guests.Our room's were equally bad.AC had no cooling,couldn't sleep all night in fact water leaked from it like anything, we got scared about short circuit!! and they weren't bothered.Beds dirty and so was the balcony.TV only for namesake.Bathroom was worst.Bucket couldn't be filled as the tap was somewhere and bucket couldn't be placed under it as there was a corner which didn't allow the bucket(attaching pics).Hot water was as good as cold and has timings.No water to drink.Bad lighting.Bad road's and small parking.Now coming to breakfast ,Worst of all!! All in open. Didn't notice the foreigner priority breakfast as i just vanished after seeing my breakfast,stayed hungry.The way i was handed over the token for breakfast in a rude manner was as if they are serving me good.Utterly disappointed.If only i had seen them discriminating between me and foreigner's i would have given them a peace of mind.Not all foreigners are rich and if they are then they won't come here unless they run out of luck like us(Indians).Lastly when we checked out this is funny ..Bellboy comes to check my 5 star room ..get's harrowed when he cannot find the nonworking AC remote which in under the bed sheets i bring it to his notice.Loose my patience and fire him telling him to improve overall then do all this things.Room checking at this place !!! Seriously???Never will recommend this hotel.Not even to my enemy!

Room Tip: No tip.Just bolt ..live in a shack if worst case scenario!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
al0rgrande, Guest Relations Manager at Alor Grande Holiday Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
We hope you will accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced on the day of your arrival.
At Alor Grande Resort, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. Upon thorough review of the situation, it would be a great help if you could give me your details of arrival and the room no so that I can look into the matter more seriously. Again sincere apologies.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We met family in Goa and stayed at the Alor Grande Resort for 6 nights. Was not too sure about hotel before we arrived as its not the usual place we would stay. But because we were meeting relatives there who have access to an apartment we decided to stay. We chose a ground floor room with balcony overlooking the pool and restaurant area. This is not a choice if you are looking for peace and quiet but we found it very pleasant and not too noisy in the evenings. Never had any problem with noise or sleeping. Found it really great, from the balcony we could order drinks and snacks from the bar staff, who were very attentive and polite. They would have delivered it to the room if we wanted but as we sat on the balcony it was much easier to pass it over the railings. The room was big enough for 3 adults, one double bed and one full single with 2 easy chairs small table and tv. We had a small leak in the bathroom which was fixed immediately and did not leak again during our stay. Cannot fault the cleaning staff who did a thorough job tidying up after us. Breakfast was included, if you like toast and jam or indian breakfast it was fine. We decided to pay extra for a cooked one and the poached eggs were the best I have tasted in a long while. Nothing was too much trouble for the chefs and kitchen staff who would try to please your palette with nothing too much trouble. They explained the menu fully so one could have a choice of dishes. The swimming pool was cleaned daily and had an attendant on duty all day checking guests had towels, loungers and umbrellas to hand. He kept a close eye on the pool especially the children's end and did have to jump in and rescue a small child in difficulty. The entertainment and shopping in the area around the hotel is very lively, with plenty of eating places. Went to the beach a few times, but did not spend too much time there during the day as was very hot. Overall this area is great for young and old and Goan people are very friendly and helpful . Had a wonderful time and would go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agra, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

we stayed in allor grande for three days.it was a nyc experience esp d staff was gud n friendly.the person incharge of d pool was gud at his work of taking care of d pool n managing it at his best bt found it little biased.he was more friendly with d so called d white skin people.was dominating n egoistic.d rooms were clean.clean towels n daily cleaning of d washroom n bedding.breakfast was k bt nt very good n d juice served was horrible.it was so bitter.d staff knew it bt dey did nt changed n evryday dey used to serve d same.location is gud wid wnderful market outside.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alor Grande Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alor Grande Holiday Resort

Address: Opp Primary Health Centre, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alor Grande Holiday Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Alor Grande Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alor Grande Holiday Hotel Candolim
Alor Grande Holiday Candolim
Alor Grande Resort
Alor Grande Candolim
Alor Grande Holiday Resort Goa/Candolim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alor Grande Holiday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.