We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday friendly staff good room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix Park Inn Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Phoenix Park Inn Resort to your Saves list
Phoenix Park Inn Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sequera Vado, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Candolim
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great holiday friendly staff good room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

we are just back from our first holiday in goa we were at phoenix park for 1 month and can say we were a little unsure with
the mixed reviews that get posted ,but i can honestly say we were very well looked after . we arrived 10.30 am and told our room would be ready at 12.00 and to go and have a drink in the bar area and as said room was ready on time we were in rosa block and the room was very nice we were on first floor so not many stairs. our roomboy joyram was so nice and looked after us very well water tea milk coffee and newspaper every day . and then there is poonam customer care she is the most helpful person you will find nothing is to much trouble to her and any problem she will try her best to solve it .so all i can say is the hotel is realy good but you must make sure to book premium room they are the best .

Room Tip: premium rooms in dahl or rosa are very good and plenty space flat screen tv and nice shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppir, General Manager at Phoenix Park Inn Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us at Phoenix Park Inn , Goa.

We are delighted to know that you had a lovely stay at our hotel. Thank you for appreciating our hotel and services, your generous compliments have been passed on to the staff.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Phoenix Park Inn, Goa for an even more delightful and memorable experience.

Regards,

Gautam Choudhury
General Manager
Phoenix Park Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    256
    121
    51
    59
See reviews for
169
302
15
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
co down
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This has been our second visit to the Phoenix Park Inn in the last 3 years. It is a good average resort hotel for the area in which it is situated. We had previously stayed at the Lemon Tree which is opposite and found the Phoenix Park to offer better value and service.
HOWEVER, be very careful about the room grade you book within the UK. On our first stay we were located in the "Dhal" block a standard room which was clean enough inside and ok generally. This time we up-graded with the travel agent to a superior room and we ended up in the "Rosa" block (room 6403) our up grade was not to the best rooms in the hotel which we were led to expect (by the travel agent). The best rooms are in the "Zai" block. I am purposely naming buildings here as previous reviews just name superior or premium rooms and these are all arbitary descriptions and do not clearly give you accurate information. Our Travel Agent Thomas Cook had 2 room types advertised in the brochure - premium and superior. We booked superior thinking we would end up in the Zai block so we were disappointed.
During our stay this time the manager did not make himself or herself known to us (which happened the last time). Had this happened we would have mentioned this.
Other Issues:
We had asked and were prepared to pay for late check out at 3000 Rupees however we asked on 3 occasions the reception staff were unwilling to commit so on the last day we checked out at mid day with our flight being next morning at 01:30! Due to this our last day was spent completely in the reception area as we could not plan ahead. We at least expected somewhere to re-fresh at the end of the day and this was offered as our taxi was loading our bags at 16:45 (I could not stay another minute there as I was so angry). When we were handing back the safe key there were new arrivals in reception asking loudly were we vacating "their rooms". It is really badly done - it is truely a "hot bed" hotel and lacks finesse. They should have more discretion. The holiday did not end on a good note due to this.
Another grumble was that we needed 2 room key cards - I had one on the second ay when I requested it but when one key worked the other did not. When we eventually resolved that we found on the 7th day of our stay NEITHER key worked. Now this would normally not be a problem but on returning from the beach, up 4 flights of stairs and wanting a cold drink then it did become an issue! Housekeeping took pity on us and let us into our room.
Airconditioning in the Rosa block is controlled by reception - this is a problem as the rooms are never cool enough and therefore they attracted mosquitos and for the first time in India I have been badly bitten in the confines of the room (I woke up each morning with mosquito bites) and this was due to the warm and humid temperature in the room. When you up grade your room on booking you expect to be able to control the temperature at the very least.
The gym is not air conditioned so gets very little use and this was one of the things that attracted my husband to book the hotel (our first stay the gym was being refurbished).
Bed linnen is clean and fresh, towels are good, floors are kept clean and the hotel fulfills the basics. It is a shame that they fall down upon the basics of hospitality like offering a room for a few hours especially if you have a late flight back to the UK. From past reviews I am expecting the hotel management to make some sort of public comment upon my review and this is all well and good except at this stage we will have spent £3.5 K on a the holiday and we expect returning guests to be known to the hotel - you do take our name and details at the time of booking after all!. We were asked why we did not send an email before we came to the manager. Well we're both busy people we do not have the time or inclination to try and find out the manager's email address before we go - we expect as guests to be well looked after and cared for.
This holiday was a special occasion for us as my husband had been seriously ill late last year and the whole hassle of late check out and the fact the room was not the one we anticipated ruined the experience.
Unfortunately I don't think I can recomend the hotel except perhaps out of season when there is less pressure on room sales. I do not think we will be intending to return to the Phoenix Park Inn.

Room Tip: Check if you have paid for an up grade exactly what block you are staying in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppir, General Manager at Phoenix Park Inn Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Namaste Greeting from Phoenix Park Inn Resort Goa!
Thank you for your detailed feedback on trip advisor.
Your feedback is most valuable to us it is feedback from esteemed guests like you that help us to constantly improves our system and procedures ans assists us striving for a better services.
Your valuable feedback has been shared with our team and we will follow up on all the points .since this by no means the standard that we aim for and i do hope that you return to Phoenix Park Inn Goa and give us a chance to provide you our better and recognize class service .
1)Late Check out:- I would like to inform you that normally we do provide late check out room"s for all the guests Unfortunately on the same day we were totally over booked we were expecting early check inn that's the reason we were unable to provide you late check out.

2) A.c. :- Normally the guest has to inform at the reception the same message will be pass to Engineering Department to do the need full .But we are trying to give control inside the room.
I would like to thank you once again for your constructive feedback
I do look forward to your continued patronage and hope to meet you on your next visit back n Phoenix Park Inn Resort Goa !

Yours sincerely,
Gautam Choudhury
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

just got back from goa,we stayed in one of the the better rooms and must say it was lovely,we stayed at the phoenix about 5 years ago and could not believe how much it had changed all for the better,we did not eat there but had a couple of beers at night on our way back to room price was ok as there was 25% off some nights so made it the same price as outside,the best place to eat is Soumyens kitchen top class and top class chef ,it faceing jambleshwar temple on calangute candolim rd

Room Tip: premium rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppir, General Manager at Phoenix Park Inn Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
greeting from Phoenix Park Inn Resort by Sarovar Candolim Goa !!
We thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay very much and liked our rooms, amenities and breakfast. We thank you for appreciating the same. Your valued feedback motivates us to strive more.

Once again thanking you, we do look forward for welcoming you back here at Phoenix Park Inn for an even more cherished & memorable stay.

Yours sincerely,
Gautam Choudhury
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here in December and we had a great time. The pool area is lovely and clean. Clean towles are provided and the bar service is great. The staff by the fool are really helpful.

The room was clean and exactly as described. It was cleaned everyday and the room service was great.

I really coundly fault the hotel or the staff. Thanks

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppir, General Manager at Phoenix Park Inn Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
greeting from Phoenix Park Inn Resort by Sarovar Candolim Goa !!
We thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay very much and liked our rooms, amenities and breakfast. We thank you for appreciating the same. Your valued feedback motivates us to strive more.

Once again thanking you, we do look forward for welcoming you back here at Phoenix Park Inn for an even more cherished & memorable stay.

Yours sincerely,
Gautam Choudhury
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

On the second day of our holiday, We had £400 stolen from our room, we were still trying to get our room changed as we were in a room at the back of the hotel, Dhal building- however we could not sleep without being disturbed from 3.30am onwards by the bin men and workers coming to work on their motorcycles. The hotel staff, the Rep from on the beach and the police did not care our money was stolen, it was like they were all in it together, Our room and belongings were ransacked and searched, as I had some money in my purse, I was then accused of stealing my friends money, we were interigated and left shaking up by the way we were treated by tghe hotel staff. We could not get a crime reference number, the police said that we had to return to Goa for the court hearing in 2-3 months and will then we likely will not get a crime reference number as there is no evidence the money was stolen so as far as they were concerned, it was lost.... Hotel manager - Poonham and staff was very incompetent and did nothing about staff entering people's room when they were out, every day we saw customers stressed out, crying and shouting in reception due to having no room available and asking them to leave their bags in a room for a few hours to a rooms available, then whoever - goes in and steals your valuables, in the end , we waited by the pool as told to for 3 days as Poonham requested we wait there to be given a different room with no disturbances, however, we never got to change rooms and wasted 3 days of our holiday just waiting and waiting.........., so we were awoken every morning by 3.30am and 4am. Have come back more tired from when I went there...My friend arrived two days after me, she had her jewellery stolen from her suitcase within 4 hours of arriving there. Please do not stay here, all food, alcohol, soft drinks have VAT and TAX added to each item, prices are 3 times as much as outside the hotel, its a rip off hotel and I'm so sorry I paid extra money to stay here as I thought you get what you pay for.... This was not the situation in this case. The Lemon tree across the road, is much cheaper, better service, nicer roms and closer to the beach. I wish now I had of booked the Lemontree in the first place, would never stay at the Phoneix park inn resort ever again, even If I was paid to stay there. All staff certainly need alot of training in customer services and dealing with complaints and feedback as they do not seem to listen or even care.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppir, General Manager at Phoenix Park Inn Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate you have chosen our hotel for your holiday. I am sorry you had few issues during your stay.
Thank you for informing us about the noise issue and we have adressed the problem immidiately.
On receiving your complaint at the reception that ,you have lost all your money,I as General Manager got personally involved and as an immidiate response directed concerned hotel personnel who went to your room to investigate and found lot of currency notes in the pocket of your trousers which was in the suitcase.
We apologise for the inconvenience caused but tried to help you by escorting you to the police station.
I would also like to mention that all such cases are taken very seriously by the management. Our property is under CCTV surveilence and we take every possible step to make our guests fully secure.
Warm regards
Gautam Choudhury
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Just retuned from our fourth stay in this hotel, which must say something. Each year things change for the better, this time the restaurant has been re modelled and a nice job they have made of it. Although the standard rooms are ok i would recommend upgrading to the premium rooms which overlook the pool and have a nice balcony. This year they put us in the larger rooms which included two easy chairs and a dining table. The surroundings are tranquil and lush, a little oasis away from all the chaos of Candolim. The staff are wonderful, nothing seems to be too much trouble, always there to help. Our housekeeper Jeet was a delight, always smiling, kept the room spotless and some of his creations with the towels was amazing especially the crocodile.
The food is good and some of the special entertainment evenings are a nice change, although the price of drinks in the hotel do put a lot of people off. I did notice though just before we left they were starting to offer lower prices at certain times to keep people round the bar more often in the evenings. The only gripe i have is the noise that can sometimes happen round the outside bar in the early hours as this is open till 3.00am. and the slamming of doors as people return at all hours of the night. The noise is not a fault of the hotel but of inconsiderate people who have no thought for others, but i think the bar staff or duty managers should ask people to quiet down when things get too noisy and signs could be placed to remind people to be aware of others when entering the different blocks. Despite this one problem which i'm sure happens in most hotels, this is a brilliant hotel to stay in and having visited Goa many times and stayed in others in the area this is THE BEST. For anyone visiting for the first either to Goa or this hotel you wont be disappointed, the location, the surroundings, the food, and all the staff this is the place to be. Thanks for another good holiday, see you all soon, get that room ready Jeet.
From John & Sandra. room 1204

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room, these come as part of the package with some tour operators and all have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppir, General Manager at Phoenix Park Inn Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Namaste greeting from Phoenix Park Inn Resort by Sarovar Candolim Goa !!
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay with at Phoenix Park Inn Goa.

We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you liked our product and service. Thank you for your appreciation. Your generous comments have been passed on to the concerned staff.

Your generous compliment is a great source of motivation for us to strive to achieve even higher standards of service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Phoenix Park Inn, for an even more delightful experience.

Regards,
Yours sincerely,
Gautam Choudhury
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have just got back from our stay at the phoenix park and i had to share what a fantastic holiday we had all the staff we fantastic from the house boys ,gardeners reception staff ,waiters and chefs nothing was too much trouble speciail thanks to Dev and Poohnam who made our anniversary they decorated our room and the lovely cake they brought us which was a lovely surprise also Kokan for whom nothing was too much trouble he really looked after us we will definately return to this hotel

Room Tip: We stayed in the premium room which were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppir, General Manager at Phoenix Park Inn Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
greeting from Phoenix Park Inn Resort by Sarovar Candolim Goa !!
We thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay very much and liked our rooms, amenities and breakfast. We thank you for appreciating the same. Your valued feedback motivates us to strive more.

Once again thanking you, we do look forward for welcoming you back here at Phoenix Park Inn for an even more cherished & memorable stay.

Yours sincerely,
Gautam Choudhury
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Phoenix Park Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Park Inn Resort

Address: Sequera Vado, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phoenix Park Inn Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Phoenix Park Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Park Hotel Candolim
Park Inn Phoenix
Phoenix Park Goa
Phoenix Park Inn Goa
Candolim Park Inn
Park Inn Candolim
Phoenix Park Inn Hotel
Phoenix Park Inn Resort Goa/Candolim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix Park Inn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.