We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place-calm, private, no-nonsense..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Candolim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Victoria Villa
83B, Sinquerim, Candolim, Bardez, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 64 Candolim B&B and Inns
Bangalore, India
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Great place-calm, private, no-nonsense..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I finalized on this after lot of review reading, checking with friends for over 2-3 weeks, as this was my first trip to Goa with wife. Travelling with better half is always critical, in terms of staying in right place. I was checking with Bougainvillea (5 buildings after this one), as recommended by a friend of mine & it wasn't available for my travel dates. So, the owner of Bougainvillea gave me this option when I asked him to recommend a good place. Well, I am thankful to him as well. This turned out to be a great place to stay, with no frills attached & no conditions& no problem whatsoever!.
Great rooms, spacious & clean bathrooms, balcony.. as good as a nice hotel room, but spacious!. Owner, Salvador is very friendly as is his family. We stayed there for 4 nights (Thu-Sun), no issue at all. He arranged for a bike for us to roam around, which always is mandatory for anyone in Goa. Dont use cabs, they will rip you apart.. Hire a bike, activa or some gear-less scooter..easy, quick to move around.
For food, I had to try different options/places & will be writing separate reviews of those this week. Some of them deserve a really long one!!!.
So, overall a great, economical, friendly, clean, no frills, no-nonsense, private place to stay while in Goa. Its located in Candolim, 5 mins walk to the beach as well (close to Fort Aguada).
This is by far the most under rated guesthouse/resort I have ever been to, need more reviews & feedbacks from guests who have gone there before.. I will surely be staying here anytime I visit Goa again...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, CT
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Victoria Villa is a very impressive guesthouse not far from Marbella (just off the main strip of Candolim, near the Taj). The rooms are very clean, colorful, comfortable, with A/C, and have balconies. We had a slightly extended stay in Goa and had to move from a higher rated guesthouse to Victoria and were expecting a significant downgrade, especially since a room here was about half of the price of the other place, but the downgrade never came. Victoria is lovely, functional, and spotless.

This is a very well-maintained property with a very professional staff who knows what they're doing. It's an outstanding value for money choice in North Goa without a single fault I can think of.

Room Tip: Ask if a balcony room is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAIGANJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were 4 adult family with 2 children visited goa last week of the oct,2012.
the owner Mr. salvador and his wife are very lovely person, a warm welcome smile always seen on their faces. always ready to help,
the guest house is in very calm and silent place, every thing were very clean. the rooms nice, split ac, bathroom has no odd smell and very much clean,
we enjoyed Goa at the full and must visit when ever possible.

Room Tip: prefer 1st floor for balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

This place was recommended to us by our friends. Right next to fort aguada, five mins walk from the beach, amidst green surroundings, beautiful nature, very calm, silent and a cosy place to stay in.

As you enter a very happy Goan family greets you. They can guide you around n help you bikes. They live on the ground floor and have a nice small lawn.

The rooms are on the first level and the walls of the bungalow are clean n freshly painted. The rooms are large, spacious and well maintained. The room has a living area, balcony, bedroom and a bathroom. They have an AC, fridge, cable TV as well as a geyser. the bed sheet was clean, towels were good and the bed was comfortable.

All in all a very good, value for money place to be in.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I have stayed in this guest house for about 5 days and the experience was very nice. Considering the spacious suite which we got.
Drawing room with TV, Fridge, 2 chairs + table
Bedroom with a neat cupboard, King size bed, dressing table and a small table. (Air conditioned).
Both the rooms had a combined balcony.

This is more like a guesthouse and hence it didn't have any food options. However you can get anything to eat and dump it in the refrigerator. Just a few mins walk from here you can find lots n lots of restaurants. Hence this wasn't an issue for us at all.

For the price (Rs 1500 per night) we paid this was very much one of the best places to stay and the area which comes under Sinquerim (Candolim) is a very peaceful place unlike Calangute and Baga.

The Sinquerim beach is about 5 mins walk from here. Mr Salvador, the owner was very friendly and always ready to assist you whenever you need help.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

A stone's throw away from the Taj vivanta, this quaint little guest house was a good choice for a 3 day trip to Goa. The rates were reasonable. The accomodation was very clean. The rooms were exactly as pictured in their website, so no surprises there!! Mr. Salvador and his wife were extremely helpful and hospitable. The room that we stayed in was quite spacious. We were a family of 3 and Mr. Savador went out of his way to provide us with an extra bed. He also arranged for good quality 2-wheelers for us to explore Goa on our own.This was a boon, as auto fare in Goa is exhorbitant. The guest house is situated close to fort Aguada and leads to a streeet that has several good restaurants- Tuscany Gardens, Mezze, etc., and is just a 5 minute walk from the beach. the bathroom was very clean. The room did not have any musty odour that is common in humid places. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. I recommend this place for people who just need a decent place to stay while in goa, a place to come and crash after spending the day at he beach/exploring the place.-without the extra frills.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Victoria Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Villa

Address: 83B, Sinquerim, Candolim, Bardez, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Candolim
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Victoria Villa Goa/Candolim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Victoria Villa to your Saves list