We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a legend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tony`s Shack

Tony`s Shack
Fort Aguada Beach | Sinquerim, Candolim, Bardez, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 160 Restaurants in Candolim
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: amazing amazing food. hidden gem in candolim - right on the beach. by the lower fort- end shack
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“a legend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were lucky to find this little bit of goan food heaven. Tony and his talented staff served up bespoke meals which were the best Indian food we have ever tasted and that includes Michelin starred Indian restaurants in the UK. Sitting in the shack watching the Indian nationals at play on the beach with a cold kingfisher and a goan curry is heavenly. The dahls and cumin rice with bread were so wonderful that we all.most went veggie for the three weeks that we were staying at the Taj fort aguada. We visited Tony s daily and found it better than all the other restaurants we visited in goa or Bangalore. We were fortunate enough to get a few cooking lessons from Tony and Arrun which have very quickly replicated once home. The shack is a shack not a fine dining experience and the toilet is basic but clean. The real attraction here is the food and the informative friendly generous host. A must visit if you are in the area. Like others we have decided to return to t his and will make this place the central focus of our foodie experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    15
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfection, fresh produce excellent friendly service. Best meals we've had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed in the Taj and Tony's shack is ideally situated. His tandoor is the best we've tasted, ever. His tikka is some of the best too.

Tony is the glue that holds it all together and will allow you to watch the cooking, give you tips and is just a joy, as are the team that work with him. Fine produce, cooked with care and served with the tones of the Indian Ocean rolling in.

We're going to Tony's for our dinner on the final night as its better than any of the restaurants we've eaten in and we've not had a bad meal. Great value for money.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Tony's shack is the last shack before Fort Aguada Candolim.The food is excellent, really fresh and plenty of choice.
Tony and all the staff are very welcoming and friendly.
Would highly recommend

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Va
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“"So good we ate here twice"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This beach shack is right by the Taj Vivenda Hotel down the stairs so easy to find and the 1st time we ate there was a Sunday and there were lots of locals eating here.
Mark had a veggie burger and I had Palak Paneer with 2 beers Cost was 520 rupees.
We ate there later in the week and I had the veggie burger since my husband said it was so good. He then had the Paneer Tikka Masala we had Jeera rice and Mark had a beer and I had a banana lassi cost was 560 rupees.
Its right on the beach so there is a great view.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Deserves to be much higher rating than it currently is.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Tony's shack is situated right at the end of Sinquerim beach at sea walls of Fort Aguada, just below the Taj Holiday Village complex. Sinquerim beach is essentially a continuation of Candolim without any obvious boundary. I am certain that if Tony was further down the beach, he would be number one for his food, however this would spoil the tranquility and 'non english' atmosphere which we enjoyed on many a visit for lunch.

Like many of the shacks, if you eat lunch there and order a few drinks, then the few sun loungers they have are complimentary. Tony's menu is vast, from basic UK style sandwiches, to Tandoori / Tikka dishes, fresh fish and the most magnificent jumbo prawns. He bought some especially for us on our last day and we had them Tikka style. Curries at Tony's were also very tasty and he makes a wonderful coriander / mint dip to accompany his dishes. All in all very well priced and a lovely spot to spend the day.

Tony is a very welcoming man and speaks excellent English. He is obviously well educated and a pleasure to chat to. His assistants are also very friendly and efficient.

We will definitely return to Tony's next time we are in Goa.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony`s Shack also viewed

 

Been to Tony`s Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tony`s Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.