We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hosts, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Candolim

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Candolim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Candolim
Save
You added Casa Candolim to your Saves list
854 Camotim Vado | Candolim Beach Road, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm hosts, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I booked Casa Candolim hotel based on the reviews on this site and we were not disappointed!! I was a bit concerned about some of the reviews which described an unbelievable service and some reviewers who had an issue with the pond outside the hotel. I found the service spectacular and did not find the pond to be even a bit of a hindrance. It is a collection of rain water which I was told dries about December. One thing is absolutely certain, if you are looking for a fancy place or a luxury hotel, this place is not. It has its own small hotel charm set in a village area. The plus points as described by many reviewers is definitely the proximity to the beach and also to the row of restaurants which are just about 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel is in North Goa and the ride to the hotel takes 50 minutes if not more once we finally arrived at the hotel the service was excellent. As we arrived early we were asked to wait as the housekeeping was doing up our room, in the meanwhile we were offered refreshments whilst shown a map and a discussion on where to visit and what times was very welcome and helped us to miss out on the misguided first couple of days that you nearly always experience in a new city. We followed their advice and went to a really nice restaurant on the first night .The staff are excellent, we didn't experience bad service from anyone, the hotel itself is clean and in a good location. We found everything within walking distance. I can't imagine receiving better service in any other small hotel in Goa. The drawbacks..... in all fairness to all who read this review... the pool was disappointingly small even though it is mentioned being a small pool on the website it is really small more for kids. There are short power cuts each day, mostly towards the evening, in our stay we had a power cut almost every alternative day for about 15-20 minutes where we had just a fan and a light working in the room. All in all a great stay!! I would recommend this hotel for all looking for a neat and clean place, close proximity to the beach and great smiling service. Lots of free stuff which other hotels would charge you.

Room Tip: We stayed on the beach facing block...it was lovely early morning and evening, See my photographs, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    21
    8
    6
    7
See reviews for
57
140
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I don't think Casa Candolim deserves all the accolades it receives. The service is outstanding and could not be better. The position is great in a quiet position off the main road and only minutes from the beach or the restaurant strip. The actual room with its meagre amenities is where it falls down. It is a basic 3 star resort badly in need of refurbishment. In the room there is no shower curtain, no telephone, the TV is antiquated and the safe is not bolted down and can easily be taken away. There are frequent power stoppages accompanied by no water. In addition the WiFi only works in the pool area and then only intermittently.
If you want a quiet place, a great position and excellent service this is for you. However, if you want a higher standard room then you need to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suvidhasekhri, Owner at Casa Candolim, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thanks Arnold for your great review. I do hope and encourage lots of prospective guests to read your review and understand that if they are looking for a flawless property, no power cuts or a five star accommodation this is surely not the place for them. As aptly described, we are just a small 8 room property set up in Candolim village with just the basic amenities, we are VERY close to the beach and thrive on keeping our guests happy with a `home away from home' experience. However, we would like to apologise for the shower curtain. Just before your checkin the previous guest accidently pulled at the shower curtain while getting out of the shower and it got ripped.... took us a few days to get a replacement from out-of town as they were custom made. Thanks, do appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balboa Island, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Our group of six stayed at The Casa Candolim Hotel, Goa for four nights, and found it to have the best service of any hotel we've ever experienced. The staff is incredibly freindly and helpful. Our wlecome included chilled beer and some potato snack served at our balcony while we learned about travel and tour options options in Goa, and the service extended to making reservations, giving directions, offering advice about cabs, and giving us tips about bargaining with shopkeepers. Special kudos to Shilpa and Annet! The hotel itself is not big or fancy in fact it is divided into two blocks which have to be reached walking through a dirt track, luckily the lighting is not bad after dark.The hotel is only a short walk to main street which has some very nice eating joints and bars. There's a cab stand across the street so you can get transportation easily to anywhere in the city .We were asked to bargain on the prices quoted by the cab drivers. There's alot more to Goa than just beaches and parties and we would like to THANK the staff at Casa Candolim for showing us that ....We will be happy to recommend this place to family, friends and fellow travelers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stylish simplicity is a good way to describe this hotel. Clean and practical rooms which are very modern in one block and a bit quaint in the old Portuguese house. Great breakfast, served in the garden which is, decorated with some quirky features, and has a small splash type pool. Hosts very welcoming and the manager sits with you and gives you information and plans any trips you may want to undertake. Would definitely recommend to everyone.Location is on a fairly quiet street within 5 mins walking distance to sea and restaurants, doesn't have a sea view but it doesn't need it. The staff are very nice, towels changed every day, lovely little touches like shirts folded up and laid on the bed a complimentary surprise once in a while. The icing on the cake is the great FREE Wi-fi!!!
The only downside is the disconnect between the two blocks though its only a one minute walk between them. Will surely come back again thanks guys.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehradun, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My friend and I stayed at Casa Candolim in end Sept- Oct for a few nights. The hotel is located directly across from a beautiful beach called Candolim beach. It is very conveniently located and easily accessible to both the main road and beach. There is free wifi for guests which can also be accessed in the bedrooms. The bedrooms themselves are large and comfortable. Beds are made everyday and housekeeping too. One downside was our timing not much is open in and around Candolim so it was not easy finding open restaurants and bars.There were no 'hidden extras' to our stay, and staff were very helpful and accommodated any requests we made. There were some power cuts each day this time of the year but were short- 15-20 mins but we had a back-up power for our room and did not effect us that much. The breakfast is served 'was excellent and we had more than enough to choose from. Would definitely recommend Casa Candolim to our friends and family.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pond and Beach are more modern while the rooms facing the pool are quieter and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Lots have been said about this hotel before, what I felt sets this hotel apart is the quality and individuality of the service. The staff supervised by the owners who run it are very well trained., friendly and professional. The garden just outside my room along with the small pool invites you to relax, read a book and sip a beer; it was very peaceful far from the maddening Delhi crowd. Loved every bit of my stay, I do have a small suggestion of having bells in the rooms to call the staff. Will be back for many more weekends !!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Recommended by some colleagues who said that they had a wonderful time and that they were treated royally, we entered Casa Candolim with GREAT expectations..... and we were NOT disappointed !!. We could never figure out if this was because we came with a reference or was it the same with all guests but judging from the reviews that people have written, it must be the latter. As pointed out by many reviewers, it is a small hotel but the rooms, the choices at breakfast and their approach to the business is all very TASTEFUL and classy. Location is something one can never complain about, too close to the beach and a short, very short walk from a variety of good restaurants..... Alexandra, Inferno, Angara, Taste of China, were all great, specially if you are roaming about the whole day and don't want to go elsewhere to eat at night. However, a visit to Goa would be incomplete without visiting the Church at Panjim, Old Goa and seeing Aguada Fort, going to spend a day at the northern beaches ( Morjin ) and eating at Souza Lobo at Calangute. Love to be back with our friends and family, thank you guys for making our trip so memorable. BTW the Guest manager at the hotel is the person to contact to venture out on all your excursions.... and I forgot the boat ride into the sunset... late evening... awesome

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candolim
0.5 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 52 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 stars 1,164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
De Alturas Resort
De Alturas Resort
#16 of 52 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#2 of 52 in Candolim
5.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
21.9 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 stars 1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Candolim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Candolim

Address: 854 Camotim Vado | Candolim Beach Road, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
#7 Family Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Candolim is a quaint Boutique hotel in Goa offering a quiet and elegant atmosphere. It is a harmonious hideaway on the candolim beach road. Your gateway to kilometres of clean, unspoilt and safe beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Candolim Hotel Candolim
Casa Hotel Candolim
Candolim Casa Hotel
Casa Candolim Goa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Candolim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.