We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprise culinary delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palacio do Deao

Palacio do Deao
Oposite the Holy cross church, 403 705, India
+91 (0)832 2664029
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 1,290 Restaurants in Goa
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A surprise culinary delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Too often I go to places with expectations and am let down - but this place delivers and then some. The food is just delicious - we were a group of 6; 3 non-veg, 2 veg and 1 vegan - all of us were catered for and enjoyed the meal thoroughly.
The setting is brilliant, such a beautiful and peaceful place - but the food is the real star - it is 'simple' Goan home cooking, but with real finesse, full of flavour and healthy.
You need to pre-book a few days before, and it costs 600 rps per person for a set meal which is brought out small course by small course, until the mains when a huge number of plates are brought out containing a wide variety of food, from coconut gobi, mushroom masala, pumpkin pie, aloo palak, brinjal, prawns, fish, the list goes on and on. There was not one bad dish amongst 12 or more.
I highly recommend this place - it was a truly memorable experience and some of the best Indian food I've ever tried.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“For the discerning few who love art and culture !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

For the discerning few looking for a different experience rather than the usual party scene in Goa -drive through the lovely country roads to Quepem where Palacio Do Deao is situated . While not exactly a palace its built like a country manor . It was built by a portugese noble man and who was the founder of Quepem town.

Reuben and his wife bought this property and have lovingly restored it over the years - they have managed to combine their passion for this place into a unique combination of sharing the art and culture that this place is steeped with, with people who want a different experience and making the place earn for itself by arranging for lunch/ dinners for visitors (subject to advance booking ) . The food is unique and completely hand cooked by his wife , apparently the recipes are authentic portugese - goan which they have sourced from different people . We had a lovely multi- course meal , with wine , dessert, post which one can walk around the place, discovering the place and soaking in the lovely atmosphere.

The meal itself costs 500/- per person but in case you are particular be sure to ask the exclusions as wine, cold drinks, water , dessert etc are all charged extra ...

All in all a great , relaxing experience....

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Home style lunch. Almost perfect!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Palacio do Deao was a good 1 hr drive from our resort, yet we took the time out to go there for lunch coz we were fascinated by the entire concept of a restored home visit followed by home lunch. Trust me, we were not disappointed even one bit.
Priced at Rs 500 (10 $) per head, this place serves one of the best home cooked lunches in Goa.
Our host Ruben welcomed us warmly, took some time to take us for a tour os his beautifully restored home and followed it up with a wholesome 4 course meal that was absolute top notch stuff.
Since once of our friend had great knowledge of history and artifacts, we did get to know that all of the material on display in the restored house was not original and authentic, it still makes for a great little tour and story. Ruben and his wife have put in a lot of effort to restore and maintain this beautiful house so kudos to them for that. The lunch, cooked by Ruben's wife is of great quality, perfect for all kinds of palate (a mix of Goan & Portuguese cuisine) and served with a lot of warmth & attention.
Must visit and highly recommended if you are staying in South Goa. Go for great food and a memorable experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A highlight of our 8 week private tour of India”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We were visiting historic houses in Goa and a Canadian tourist told us about the lovely gardens he had just visited here. Our driver talked with his and we were off!. We found not only lovely gardens with historic features around a simple 18C Palace but people dining in a pretty courtyard. We asked if we could stay and I guess as there were just the two of us they agreed. Pre bookings are usually required. The food, 5 set courses of Portugese/Goan speicalities, was superb, truly memorable and very filling. The home and its history is also quite fascinating and the owner escorts guests on an interesting and private tour. Very highly recommended. 5 courses, some drinks + optional donation for tour totalls about $A15.00 pp. Cooking class is also available, wish we had known.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delightful Couple and Delicious Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

I was part of a group that visited Palacio do Deao in February. Ruben conducted the tour of the restoration work that they had completed on the mansion. Their effort and attention to detail made the house and garden tour very informative and inspiring.
Celia, his wife, has taken control of the kitchen and is working with her team to produce delicious examples of traditional Goan food. The range of dishes and flavours were an excellent illustration of food from the region with the Portuguese influence. The pumpkin souffle vegetable dish was one of my personal favorites while my husband adored the spicy chirozo.
We would highly recommend the visit to the house and taking time to have lunch on the pavillion overlooking the garden. A great day out.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palacio do Deao also viewed

 

Been to Palacio do Deao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palacio do Deao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.