We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PEACEFUL PLACE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mangeshi Temple

Mangeshi Temple
Ponda, India
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 236 Attractions in Goa
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“PEACEFUL PLACE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I DNT KNW MUCH ABT THIS TEMPLE BUT THIS WAS A BREAK FROM BOOZE,
bikes, drinks beaches & its a power of sublime 1 can see all shades of goan culture nearby this temple i like this temple very much i feel the salute to mangeshkar family that they have still preserved the essence of culture & traditions in highly spirited & highly tourist-ed city of GOA love this place must visit

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    20
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
136 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Nice temple at a peaceful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We visited this temple after driving our Activa for more than an hour from Calangute, North Goa. but after reaching this place all our fatigue just went away. This is a vary peaceful place away from the hustle and bustle of Goa Beaches. There is also not much crowd here. The idol of Lord Shiva reely looks Magestic.The surroundings of the temple needs more cleanliness.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place !!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Visited This Temple Each And Every Time I Had Come To Goa. Its A Great Holy Place, Really Good Atmosphere, Specially Palakhi On Each Monday Night Is Too Must To See..
Heard About Foreigners Being Banned For their Dress Code ... Really Felt Bad For It, In fact, all over world, there are dress codes for visiting religious places. As God does not look the dress; God sees what is in your soul And When someone comes to earth, no one comes into this world wearing dresses.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worship the Lord, at another temple, which doesn't discriminate”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I am never returning to this temple. Me and my family climbed up a smelly, dirty road for quite some time and then entered the temple to do darshan and worship Shivji. Apparently, against what is stated in the Indian Constitution, women weating shorts(of any size), or in menstruation are not allowed into the temple. This was outrageous. I dia is a secular democracy. That means that women and men are equal. Now what will you think when I tell you that men weating shorts were allowed inside? Even if they were very small, they would be allowed inside with no problem. I am a proud Hindu, I respect our culture and tradition and I am ready to abide with our customs. But, shouldn't they be equal for both men and women? Women and men are equal, our constitution says so, so why are women not allowed to wear shorts and go inside? Our constitution also says that you can not deny people access to public places of worship. They were ready to allow a foreign man with tattoos, wearing shorts inside, but not us? Why should we not be allowed to worship our God while a tourist goes inside just to see the architecture? Now, imagine what would happen if I told the security guard all of this. Nothing! He kept quiet, but he didn't let us go in. But,instead he told us to go rent a dupatta for 50 rupees from the office to tie around our waste. We refused! Why should we compromise on our ideals on something like this? Wearing shorts is not a crime! Neither is going through your menstration cycles! Now, the funny thing is, while we climbed up the road, to come to the temple, people were selling shorts! From the smallest of shorts,to long ones. The heights of hypocrisy! I love God, but if a religious rule is to be placed, then shouldn't it apply to EVERYONE? I personally wouldn't have minded if the rule applied to everyone, but a rule for only women? Not fair. Well, if you want to go there, wear shorts, or better,mgo to a temple where they treat women and men equally.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice Temple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is the Manesgi temple, The main deity is lord Mangesh ( lord Shiva) More information on this temple is at :
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mangueshi_Temple
This is a very good holy place to visit.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangeshi Temple also viewed

 

Been to Mangeshi Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mangeshi Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.