We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but iffy service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Gold Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Gold Beach Resort to your Saves list
The Gold Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Devka Beach Road, Marward | Devka Beach road Marward,, Daman 396210, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Daman
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food but iffy service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The first shocker we received was when one day before travelling, we called to confirm the booking we had made about a month earlier. We were told that there was no such booking in their records! Only when we sent them the details we had received did they agree that the booking was indeed there. (Btw, the booking had been made from their website and not using any third party). Anyway, on reaching they were polite and courteous. The rooms were very clean and pleasant. When we requested cleaning service the same evening, it was not done. Disappointing. Anyway, the food was quite good. In the outdoor area, loud music was blaring in the evening, which jarred with the seaside serenity at sunset. However, dinner in the restaurant area was pleasant (however, the TV remained on, and some inane channel was put...perhaps for the benefit of the bored waiters?). On a better note, the cocktails were great, as was the food.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGBR_GM, General Manager at The Gold Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings...!


I want to express my appreciation to you for taking the time to contact me regarding the problem you experienced while staying with us at The Gold Beach Resort. Not only does it give me the opportunity to address the issue, and find a way to fix the problem, it also demonstrates your desire for our Resort to improve in our service to you and all of our Guests. I truly welcome comments from our Guests, both positive and negative, because it is the only way I can learn what our Guests are experiencing when visiting our Resort. Again, thank you very much for bringing this situation to my attention.

Regards,
General Manager,
An smith Franklin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    52
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
53
26
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

It is an excellent resort. The rooms are wonderful. The swimming pool and jacuzzi was also awesome. Nice view to the resort as well. The staff os also very friendly. The only issue was the non veg food was not at all grt and the service is too slow for food. However the breakfast was very nice and dey hv good variety in d buffet. All in all a very nice experience..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGBR_GM, General Manager at The Gold Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings...!

Thank you for your valuable feedback about your stay at “The Gold Beach Resorts”. I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for taking out time to share your inputs and comments.

We are delighted that you had a good experience while here at The Gold Beach Resort.

Thank you for your kind words. We sincerely await the opportunity to welcome you once again.

Best Regards,
General Manager,
An smith Franklin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I had stayed in this hotel for one night on the 4th of January. My room number was 222.


On top of the room, they have the kitchen exhaust system fans which makes terrible noise. We didn’t realise it at night as we came in late after attending a function in Vapi. I thought that it was the noise of the disco & didn’t complaint at night. At about 02.00 hours, the noise stopped. However, early morning 6 O’clock this terrible noise started & I woke up due to this terrible noise. I went up to see & found this exhaust making noise. Then I came down at the reception to complain. The receptionist instructed to the concerned person, but when I went in my room, the noise had reduced, not stopped. I called again to the reception & after some time, the noise completely stopped. In just 2 hours, the noise started, again. I called at the reception where i was told that its exhaust system noise & nothing can be done.

While checking out, I spoke to the GM & told him about this. He did instruct the reception to call off this room from the sale.

This room was not fit for a guest stay, however, it was sold by the hotel & also allocated to.

Further, at the breakfast, it was a mess. No one really looking after guests, just 3-4 people to handle many guests. Food quality was also not good.

Room Tip: Please check the rooms before checking in. That's the least you can do!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGBR_GM, General Manager at The Gold Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback about your stay at the The Gold Beach Resorts . I duly understand the inconveniences caused due to the lapse in our services. Your feedback regarding the same has been put ahead for our improvement in service. Do write to me on the email mentioned below for your future visit so that I can assure you have a flawless stay.
Best Regards,
General Manager,
An smith Franklin.
gm@thegoldbeachresort.in
Devka Beach road
Marward, Nani Daman- 396210.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Great ambience. Tick.
Great staff. Tick.
Amazing service. Tick.
Good Food. Tick.
Cozy rooms. Tick.
Everything you can expect and imagine in a 5 star resort is existing here. Its an aweso e weeke d getaway. Can't ask for more.

Room Tip: Request for beach view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGBR_GM, General Manager at The Gold Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings...!

This has reference the feedback of during stay at The Gold Beach Resorts. I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for taking out time to share your inputs and comments.

It is feedback such as given by you that keeps the team motivated and encourages them to continue to deliver guest experiences.

Do let me know if there is anything else I can do to make your stay comfortable for future.

Regards
General Manager
An smith Franklin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Now this was plain stupid. The resort highlighted their pool facility, but the sticks are not available.
Apart from that, good hotel, though the beach, bring a rocky one, is not much of a use.
The staff seemed courteous, but since there isn't much to do in Daman, some more activities/facilities in the resort would have been nice.
The price is definitely more than the value provided.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGBR_GM, General Manager at The Gold Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings...!


I want to express my appreciation to you for taking the time to contact me regarding the problem you experienced while staying with us at The Gold Beach Resort. Not only does it give me the opportunity to address the issue, and find a way to fix the problem, it also demonstrates your desire for our Resort to improve in our service to you and all of our Guests. I truly welcome comments from our Guests, both positive and negative, because it is the only way I can learn what our Guests are experiencing when visiting our Resort.

I will be using your correspondence at my next staff meeting to demonstrate where mistakes were made and how it affected the quality of our Guest’s stay. The hotel staff, managers as well as service representatives, need to understand where and how to correct these mistakes. With your input I am confident they will get the picture.

Again, thank you very much for bringing this situation to my attention.

Regards,
General Manager
An smith Franklin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ujjain, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We visited on dec 28 , the hotel is good , rooms are excellent.The food was ok , the north indian food was not upto the mark , the gujrati dishes were good.The pool and pool side bar was excellent. The main counter staff were coperative but not trained properly because they could not provide us proper details of site seeing and arrange us the taxi promptly.
The poor part of daman was very bad beaches,apart from rocky nature they were very untidy , hotel waste and drainage was poring into the sea from back side.
The muncipality was also very poor in maintaning the beach tidy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGBR_GM, General Manager at The Gold Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings...!

This has reference the feedback of during stay at The Gold Beach Resorts. I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for taking out time to share your inputs and comments.

It is feedback such as given by you that keeps the team motivated and encourages them to continue to deliver guest experiences.

Do let me know if there is anything else I can do to make your stay comfortable for future.

Regards
General Manager
An smith Franklin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

If you think you can come here and have a peaceful holiday you are so very wrong. The place is full of people from the adjoining state and if you dint have enough of that in Mumbai, then you can come here. Noisy loud people, chidren clattering all over the corridors, grumpy people, people with no sense of courtesy.......I can go on and on and on. But anyways, this should give you the picture.

If you are mid-50s looking to make your final pilgrimage before dying and you have had a troubled life, this is the place for you. For anyone else, do not come here ever.

And yeah the beach, spa - they dont exist. The swimming pool is a mess of people you woudn't want to see on a public beach even in the worst places in India.

The property is like a wannabe some star hotel but it doesn't even get one star.

Room Tip: The only tip is "don't come here". If you come here, you may want to focus on the tele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGBR_GM, General Manager at The Gold Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings...!


I want to express my appreciation to you for taking the time to contact me regarding the problem you experienced while staying with us at The Gold Beach Resort. Not only does it give me the opportunity to address the issue, and find a way to fix the problem, it also demonstrates your desire for our Resort to improve in our service to you and all of our Guests. I truly welcome comments from our Guests, both positive and negative, because it is the only way I can learn what our Guests are experiencing when visiting our Resort.

I will be using your correspondence at my next staff meeting to demonstrate where mistakes were made and how it affected the quality of our Guest’s stay. The hotel staff, managers as well as service representatives, need to understand where and how to correct these mistakes. With your input I am confident they will get the picture.

Again, thank you very much for bringing this situation to my attention.

Regards,
General Manager,
An smith Franklin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gold Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gold Beach Resort

Address: Devka Beach Road, Marward | Devka Beach road Marward,, Daman 396210, India
Location: India > Daman and Diu > Daman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Daman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gold Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Daman, The Gold Beach Resort is an ideal spot from which to discover Daman. The city center is merely 5.00 Km away and the airport can be reached within 60 minutes. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. The Gold Beach Resort also offers many facilities to enrich your stay in Daman. Family room, shuttle service, disabled facilities, valet parking, smoking area are just a few of the facilities that set The Gold Beach Resort apart from other hotels in the city. The hotel features 39 beautifully appointed guest rooms, each including in room safe, internet access – wireless (charges apply), coffee/tea maker, separate shower and tub, internet access – wireless. The hotel offers many unique recreational opportunities such as private beach, fitness center, jacuzzi, outdoor pool, steamroom. Superb facilities and an excellent location make the The Gold Beach Resort the perfect base from which to enjoy your stay in Daman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Gold Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gold Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.