We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Aire Hotel

Save Saved
You added Desert Aire Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Desert Aire Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1021 S. White Sands Blvd., Alamogordo, NM 88310 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Alamogordo
farmington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“my stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

it was good the pool was nice and the lady at the front was hot!!! and had a nice room food was great very soft beds good place in town right next to carls jr yeahhhh! i like the view of the mountains if i was to go back i would stay here just to see the front desk lady again dang what was her name o well just have to go back to find out lol

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Aire Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Glad you had a nice stay when you came to Alamogordo. Thank you for taking the time out to let us know how we are doing. I will pass on the nice comments to the front desk staff. Give us a call next time you come into town and thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    42
    39
    10
    9
See reviews for
48
42
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Poulsbo, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We always stay here because there is a great breakfast place right across the street and we know this place is good. You can tell this motel is older because the actually have tile in the bathroom around the tub/shower, but it is very very well maintained. Comfortable bed and good TV. What more do you need?

Room Tip: We like the second floor towards the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Aire Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
We really appreciate the time you took out to let us know how your stay went. As you mentioned, we are not the "new kids on the block", however, we feel that we try harder to make sure that you have clean, comfortable accomodations when you stay. Thank you for the encouraging words and please call when you come back into town!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We arrived late at the hotel and were greeted and assisted by a very helpful staff person. She accommodated our needs for the first floor with a nice handicapped room and made our check in quick. She made sure to sign us up for the rewards program, although we had been at another Best Western recently and were not apprised of it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Aire Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
So glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for the very kind words and we will make sure that the staff gets recognized for it. Please call us next time you come into Alamogordo and have a safe trip to your destination!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickenburg, AZ
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Alamogordo isn't exactly the French Riviera, but with a decent hotel like this, White Sands nearby, and Cloudcroft for a dinner drive, it made for a fun trip. The hotel was clean, the room had decent accommodations, and the desk personnel was particularly pleasant. They were super friendly and knowledgeable. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Aire Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing! And of course, thank you for the kind words regarding your stay with us. We strive to be the best we can be. We look forward to your return. Please call us when you come back into Alamogordo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Perhaps it was the timing, but this is not a $90 hotel. The pool was great. Customer service was very good. The smoking rooms had plastic butt receptacles in front and they smelled bad even to walk past. Besides that rooms were comfortable, nice beds, clean. check in is 3 and check out is 11.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Aire Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to let us know how your stay went. Please keep in mind that the check in time is 2 PM so next time you visit you can get into your room a little earlier! Let me know if you have any other questions or concerns and thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

On Labor Day weekend almost all hotels in Alamogordo were full, so options are limited. Got a 2-room suite with queen and sofa bed for 2 nights. Our cattle dog cost us $10/night more. Sofa bed needed to be fixed as the corner was no longer attached to the frame. Funny smell in the room caused us to purchase Febreeze and candles. Came in late second night and found empty tissue box in the bathroom had not been replaced, no shampoo replacement either. However, we were too tired to call the front desk for this right away. Told them about these items when we checked out. People at the front desk are very friendly and helpful. Skip the free breakfast in the morning -- the orange juice was really water with a bit of juice, tables are not cleaned right away and nothing is refilled quickly. Also, the coffee in the room and in the breakfast area is awful. But with limited options in the area, this is probably one of the best motels you will find.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Aire Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
I am so sorry to hear that the service you received was less than perfect. Had we been notified at the front desk, we certainly would have addressed the issues you encountered immediately. I am going to look into the orange juice situation in our breakfast and make sure it is being made correctly. Thank you for your feedback, it is extremely helpful to ensure future guests a more pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great customer service. Rooms are clean, grounds and public areas always in order. I have stayed numerous times at this BW and cannot say enough about the staff-always courteous and willing to go out of their way to make sure the guests are comfortable. Great rates, great rooms and great employees

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Aire Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! We appreciate you taking the time out to let us know how we are doing. Your feedback helps us make sure we continue to deliver the right accomodations for future vacationing and business guests. Please let us know if you need anything else and call us when you come back to town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Desert Aire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Aire Hotel

Address: 1021 S. White Sands Blvd., Alamogordo, NM 88310 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Alamogordo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Alamogordo
#6 Family Hotel in Alamogordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Desert Aire Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this pet-friendly Alamogordo, New Mexico hotel located at the crossroads of Highways 82, 70, and 54 near Holloman Air Force Base, White Sands Missile Base and New Mexico State University at Alamogordo. Guests staying at this Alamogordo hotel will be conveniently near the New Mexico Museum of Space History, White Sands National Monument and the Holloman Air Force Base. This New Mexico hotel is also near the White Sands Missile Base. The Desert Aire Hotel proudly features 92 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, each equipped with cable satellite television and wireless high-speed internet access. Guests can begin the day with a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast before taking a dip in the seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool or working out in the fitness center. This Alamogordo hotel is ideal for guests visiting family and friends at nearby New Mexico State University at Alamogordo. Pets are welcome with a small fee. Guests staying at the Desert Aire Hotel will be minutes away from a variety of local events including the White Sands Balloon Invitational, Oktoberfest and the Gus Macker Basketball Tournament. This hotel also offers convenient access to skiing in the Sacramento Mountains and golfing.The Desert Aire Hotel is proud to offer superior customer service and a convenient location in Alamogordo. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Desert Aire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alamogordo
Alamogordo Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Aire Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.