We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was okay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IHG Travelocity
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Kerry Avenue, Alamogordo, NM 88310   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 14 hotels in Alamogordo
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It was okay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Check-in was really fast, however, the front desk was empty, the staff would all retire to a back room, so it was sometimes hard to talk to someone on the front desk except you called.The hotel room was okay, the fire alarm went off at 3am in the morning and woke up everybody but the receptionist had no idea what was happening. The king suit was good, bed was soft, breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressalamogordo, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your stay and the time to post a comment. Hope you visit our area again. Parla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    23
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
28
19
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Nice and new! Very quiet and cozy, and the beds were comfortable, not hard as a rock. Highly recommended. The staff is friendly and helpful. The full breakfast bar is well-stocked and maintained nicely. Worth every penny spent.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressalamogordo, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. I'll pass your comment on to our staff and we hope you'll come again. Parla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed a night in a King Suite.No problems until we went to bed & discovered that the mattress topper seemed to contain a layer of plastic which rustled every time one moved & caused the sheet to slide & ruck up - like sleeping on a plastic bag. Much worse, however, was that the plastic was not "breathable" which made trying to sleep a sticky, sweaty experience even with the noisy A/C on full all night.
When I complained as we left I was told they knew of the problem & were "going to do something about it". I did not receive an apology. If you don't suffer from incontinence I suggest you stay elsewhere.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressalamogordo, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for you response. Your imput is important to us. We are in the process of changing our pillows and the mattress pad covers. I hope you stay again. I am sorry you did not get a full explaination or an apology at check.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Typical HIE, perfectly adequate, with an all-white-bread breakfast (I.e. no healthy options) included. The only complaint: you had to log on to the Internet (password etc.) every time you didn't touch your computer for 5 minutes...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressalamogordo, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your stay and input on our breakfast. We do have fresh banana's, apples and yogurt on our serving line as well as skim and 2% milk. We offer whole grain cereal as well. Perhaps we were out of whole wheat bread when you dined. Our apologies. I will speak with the IT person about the 5 min securtiy log off for internet. Again thank you for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everywere
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
941 helpful votes 941 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

great location, nice rooms !
i love Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, i stay there a lot , and the Alamogordo location is in a great spot its near many resturaunts and near the hwy so its easy to get around from there, the staff is nice the rooms are nice, very clean !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressalamogordo, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your comment and it will be shared with staff. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Parla GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duisburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Nice Holiday Inn Express. A good place to stay, when youre visiting White Sands as I was.
Rooms are comfy and clean, staff friendly and efficient. Lots of dining options nearby. Didn't have breakfast there.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressalamogordo, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We appreciate our guests taking time to comment. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

On the night of our stay, that was the best deal for such a hotel. The clerk gave us an upgraded room, we didnt even ask for it. The rooms were spacious, nice bathrooms. The pool and jacuzzi were very nice, but not much privacy there, anyone walking in the hallway can see you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressalamogordo, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the great comments. We are glad you had a great stay. Sometimes depending on availability we have upgrades available. Thanks for your business!

Arpan Bhakta -GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Alamogordo
Holiday Inn Express Alamogordo
Holiday Inn Alamogordo
Alamogordo Holiday Inn
Address: 100 Kerry Avenue, Alamogordo, NM 88310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Alamogordo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 hotels in Alamogordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Alamogordo, NM, a completely nonsmoking facility. We are located at the south end of town only minutes away from Holloman Air Force Base, New Mexico State University at Alamogordo, and The New Mexico Museum of Space History. Here in the Tularosa Basin you can find one of the world greatest natural wonders, the white sands of New Mexico. Located 13 miles from the hotel, White Sands National Monument is a spectacular 275 square mile unique ever-changing landscape. Also located near the hotel are the Oliver Lee Memorial State Park, Alameda Zoo, which is the oldest zoo in the Southwest, and White Sands Mall. We are in walking distance of shops, restaurants and lounges. Other area attractions just 45 minutes away include: Ruidoso Downs Race Track and Casino, Ski Apache Ruidoso, Ski Cloudcroft, and the White Sands Missile Range. Our hotel features an indoor pool, spa, exercise room, meeting facilities, complimentary Express Start Breakfast, high-speed Internet access and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, hard boiled eggs, and the best-tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Alamogordo, NM and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.