We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean place to spend a night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Kerry Avenue, Alamogordo, NM 88310   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Alamogordo
New Delhi
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice, clean place to spend a night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This Holiday Inn is well kept, clean and homely. The hot complimentary breakfast was fresh, well stocked and refreshing. The rooms were well maintained, nicely done and diligently cleaned each morning. The hotel is close to several major restaurants in the area, and conveniently located at the intersection of the main arteries into the city.

The hotel provides complimentary sleds for use at the White Sands Monument. Make sure to grab these if you are headed in that direction, the kids will love it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressalamogordo, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your review. The comments have been shared with the staff. Thanks for your business.

Arpan Bhakta -GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    27
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
33
22
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here for the 2nd night of a SW road trip and after a day at White Sands.

The hotel is adjacent to quite a vast selection of fast food and chain restaurants: Carino's, Chili's, McDs etc etc; so that solved the dinner problems. I'm not a big fan of the typical HIE breakfast (cinnabons and machine pancakes etc) which were par for the course.

Room was decent, with a small refrigerator and microwave. Priority Club Platinum recognition was just a couple bottles of water.

It's a good launching point for the various attractions near Alamogordo such as White Sands and the Space Hall of Fame. Can't say much sets this property apart from the other major chain hotels in the area, but it was a good stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressalamogordo, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review and being a Platinum member. We are reviewing our Platinum member recogonition to add more local goodies. We are glad you had a great stay and thanks for your business.

Arpan Bhakta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

While making the reservation by phone, the receptionist (female) was very polite and friendly. When checking in, the receptionist (male) was extremely helpful and nice. We were given sleds to borrow to use at White Sands and actually felt welcomed here in the city of Alamogordo.

The room was nice and clean. Great price too. Comfortable bed and pillows. It is so nice to stay in a place where you don't here doors opening or closing at all hours.

We will be visiting Alamogordo again, I can't say thank you enough for making us feel welcomed in your city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressalamogordo, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. We have shared your review with the staff. Thanks for spending time in Alamogordo.

Arpan Bhakta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I travel alot and always book my airline flight, car rental and hotel room at the same time on the American Airlines site. I've never had any problems doing that until my last trip. I went to south Texas for 9 days and then to Alamogordo, NM for 3 days. When I arrived at the hotel in NM the desk clerk told me that I souuld make my reservations on the Holiday Inn site so I would get the points for my stay. I asked what he meant and he said that by using other sites to book my room I don't receive any Priority Club points. I later called the 800 number on the back of the card and some clerk there told me something like "gee too bad". I have now signed up for the Marriott Rewards program and will probably be staying there when I can.

Room Tip: Top floor on the back of the building is quiter and you don't have to look at the back of other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressalamogordo, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Sorry for the inconvenience you expierenced. When reservations are booked with third party websites you do not recieve points, because you are packaging hotel airline and rental,so the rate does not qualify for priority club points. You do recieve qualifying nights to earn status in priority club. Thanks for your business.

Arpan Bhakta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My family of 4 (3 adults and 1 teen ) stayed at this property while on vacation through NM. We checked in late pm and everything was just perfect. The rooms were very clean and nothing out of place. Beds were a little firm for me personally but each person has their own opinion about that. The bathrooms were perfect and perfectly stocked. We didn't have to ask for one single thing. Couldn't have been happier with our stay and if I was staying longer or again I will definitely be looking at this property as my first choice. I am not affiliated with any hotels and we were just on vacation. This was the best hotel of our trip so far.

Room Tip: Everything we saw about this property was ranked from very good to excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressalamogordo, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Scott H,

Thanks for your review. We are glad that your stay went really well and the room was clean and fresh. We have shared your comments with our staff.

Thanks,
Arpan Bhakta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I thought this hotel was a bit pricey for what it was but it was a nice clean 2 queen suite. The front desk staff was so nice, giving us 1 bottle of water per person upon check in. We swam in the pool even though it appeared a bit cloudy. The breakfast was not great but it was free and no one got sick. Our 3rd floor odd numbered room got us a nice view of the desert and mountains. Overall it was a clean place to sleep but not somewhere I'd want to stay more than a day. It was close to a few dining options which was also a plus.

Room Tip: Get an odd numbered room for a view of the mountains and desert.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressalamogordo, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review of our hotel. Sorry that the breakfast didn't have more options we are reviewing the breakfast to hopefully have an updated line up soon. Our odd numbered rooms on second and third floors do give nice views of the mountains. I am glad you had a good stay with your family.
Thanks,
Arpan Bhakta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The rooms are spacious and very clean, has all the basic amenities. The staff is courteous and helpful. Very close to places to eat, can walk to some of them. There is a railway track nearby but we couldn't hear the trains when they passed by. Their breakfast is included in the price and much better than most places.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressalamogordo, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Suburb123,

Thanks for your great comments! We appreciate that all the amenities and room were good. Thanks for your business.

Arpan Bhakta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites

Address: 100 Kerry Avenue, Alamogordo, NM 88310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Alamogordo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Alamogordo
#5 Family Hotel in Alamogordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Alamogordo, NM, a completely nonsmoking facility. We are located at the south end of town only minutes away from Holloman Air Force Base, New Mexico State University at Alamogordo, and The New Mexico Museum of Space History. Here in the Tularosa Basin you can find one of the world greatest natural wonders, the white sands of New Mexico. Located 13 miles from the hotel, White Sands National Monument is a spectacular 275 square mile unique ever-changing landscape. Also located near the hotel are the Oliver Lee Memorial State Park, Alameda Zoo, which is the oldest zoo in the Southwest, and White Sands Mall. We are in walking distance of shops, restaurants and lounges. Other area attractions just 45 minutes away include: Ruidoso Downs Race Track and Casino, Ski Apache Ruidoso, Ski Cloudcroft, and the White Sands Missile Range. Our hotel features an indoor pool, spa, exercise room, meeting facilities, complimentary Express Start Breakfast, high-speed Internet access and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, hard boiled eggs, and the best-tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Alamogordo, NM and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Alamogordo
Holiday Inn Express Alamogordo
Holiday Inn Alamogordo
Alamogordo Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.