We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Shroud of Turin: Part of New Mexico's history!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shroud Exhibit and Museum

Shroud Exhibit and Museum
White Sands Mall Suite D-1, Alamogordo, NM
+1 575-415-5206
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 11 Attractions in Alamogordo
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Non-profit 501-c-3 NM corporation formed to educate the public concerning the Shroud of Turin and the connection to New Mexico history through the world's largest scientific expedition ever launched to study a single artifact, which began in NM because of a proof discovered in NM in 1976. Our mission is to make the Shroud of Turin an experience available to everyone through facts, exhibits and research. The exhibit features a full-size color scientific grade image of the Shroud and the only interactive 3D exhibit using a VP-8 Image analyzer, as well as recent 3D works by Dr. Petrus Soons. We will reopen at our new larger location in November 2014.
Silver City, New Mexico
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The Shroud of Turin: Part of New Mexico's history!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is one of the most fascinating museums in New Mexico; it is in the White Sands Mall in Alamogordo, NM. The Shroud of Turin is actually a special part of New Mexico's own history, and it was part of the Centennial celebration last year, with speakers from all over the world. It was in Albuquerque that the Shroud of Turin Project began, and the famous project itself included many scientists from Los Alamos! Plus, the research is ongoing, so New Mexico is still part of the Shroud.

The museum's founder, Peter Schumacher, was the original VP-8 image analyzer production engineer during the 1970s. He gives great tours and explains how the VP-8 was involved in the early studies of the Shroud. You can even try the machine yourself, because the museum holds one of the few left in the world. He is glad to answer any questions.

There is a life-size photo of the Shroud under special lighting, so it feels like you are looking at the original. There are also several "3-D" pictures of the Shroud, developed by Dr. Petrus Soons (who himself comes up from South America to give presentations)--and you have to wear the 3-D glasses to view these so that they seem to come alive. Kids will love this especially!

Other distinguished guests come throughout the year, including the Shroud of Turin Project's Dr. John Jackson, Dr. Eric Jumper, and the shroud.com founder Barrie Schwortz. Wow, these presentations are historical, and well worth planning for!

This place is magical. Personally, I believe I am looking at the face of God when I see these beautiful photos of the Shroud of Turin. Prepare to be amazed.

As for the White Sands Mall, it is a lot of fun and the food is fantastic. There are 2 Chinese buffet-style cafes, and I also like Juan's Cactus Café, which is a New Mexico original.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marshalltown, Iowa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stumbled on this one. This is a must-see if you're into history/christianity. The person working the museum showed us a true-sized photo of the shroud and some special equipment developed by a group of engineers that's used to examine and image the shroud. Admission is free. It's well worth the trip to see the shroud photo, as well as all of the other exhibits here.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“THIS IS A MUST AND SHOULD BE ON YOUR BUCKET LIST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I have no words but only that it is surreal that something like this occured......you must see this museum.........your children and your childrens chidren must see this and we must never let this history die.............!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“I wish this place had more exposure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We found a pamphlet for this place at the Alamogordo Visitors' Center. When we arrived at the White Sands Mall to visit at 1:00 p.m. we found the museum closed for lunch so we did some window shopping and returned. We are so glad we did!
The free museum was staffed by two gentlemen that personally showed us around. Turns out that the 1973(?) examination of the Shroud was led by a team of scientists from New Mexico and one of our guides was responsible for providing some of the equipment used to test the fabric. There is a photographic replica of the Shroud at the museum and several pieces of equipment that allow you to see the results of the experiments that were performed on it. All of this was personally explained by our guide!
We spent about 1-1/2 hours here, and were amazed by the exhibit and the personal attention we received. A few weeks after our visit the Shroud was in the news again, and the information on TV confirmed what we were told at the museum. Skeptic or believer, this is a worthwhile activity while in the Alamogordo area!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shroud Exhibit and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Shroud Exhibit and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shroud Exhibit and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.