We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good a choice as any in Alamogordo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1020 S White Sands Blvd, Alamogordo, NM 88310 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 14 hotels in Alamogordo
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“As good a choice as any in Alamogordo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Stayed here because I wanted to visit White Sands. All the motels/hotels in town are along the same busy strip...a 6 lane highway where US 70 and 54 come together, so I'm guessing one is pretty much as good as the other, and I went for the least expensive that night. And they're ALL pricey, perhaps because since it's a military town, most of the travelers are getting the military discount so they sock the rest of us.

This place has exterior doors (unusual for a Comfort Inn) but I was on the second floor so I didn't mind. No elevator. Spread out through 3 separate buildings, and the breakfast is served in a 4th building. In short, you need to go outside to access the lobby or breakfast.

I was in the building furthest back, so that dampened the highway noise quite a bit. Still, I never travel without earplugs.

My bed was comfortably firm, which is how I like it. In fact, I chose to stay a second night when I decided there was more hiking to do in the area than I'd anticipated. Both nights I slept like a log and awoke refreshed. Be sure to visit one or both of the pistachio farms and sample the many different kinds of flavored nuts and candies!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    17
    5
    7
See reviews for
20
21
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
on th road
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

I stayed here Sept 20 and Oct 2, 2010, in rooms 131 and 121. All of the staff I interacted with (office, housekeeping, breakfast room) were efficient, courteous, helpful and friendly. The hotel was easy to find on White Sands Blvd.

The rooms were clean, smelled nice, everything functioned well and there were plenty of pillows. If your room is on the first floor, you can park right outside the door of the room, making loading and unloading the car easy. Having the small fridge with freezer is great for keeping the cold packs for the car cooler solid. The pool is conveniently located, with security gate and well fenced for privacy and to keep critters out. There is a fitness room, but I was unable to make the treadmill work on my last stay. There is a hot breakfast (scrambled eggs, biscuits/gravy), as well as the standard cold cereal, boiled eggs and fruit, beginning at 6 am every day. Monday through Thursday they have an afternoon Happy Hour in the breakfast room which was nice and out of the ordinary, with chicken wings and fresh veggie platter.

This hotel is conveniently located with plenty of restaurants within walking distance. The Wal-Mart, if needed, is not too far down the street, also in walking distance if you don’t have heavy things to carry back. Plenty of gas stations within easy driving distance.

Each of my visits to this hotel was pleasant, with no noisy neighbors or barking dogs (gotta love that no pet policy!). I hope you enjoy your stay, as well. Happy travels!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Room was a little dated but clean. Large breakfast area. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

This place is the average motel. We stayed on the 2nd floor so we had to carry our luggage up the stairs.....I guess we needed the exercise! The pool was small, but refreshing. The breakfast was great and although busy, was run well. My greatest disappointment is that Choice Hotels never had an upgrade available to us on our 28 day road trip, of which we stayed in several of their hotels. We'll be changing all future road trips to places that cater to their loyal customers!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Stayed here while visiting family in Alamogordo. The hotel we usually stay in was booked. We've stayed in other Comfort Inns in other parts of the country and have not been disappointed. However, this one needed cleaning and was very outdated. It was very disappointing. When someone asked about how our visit to New Mexico was, the first thing our 12 year old said was "the hotel was gross". So next time we'll be sure to book our favorite hotel well in advance or we'll stay in Las Cruces.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penonome, Panama
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

Room was superficially clean but, when I wiped up a simple water spill around the sink, the towel came away black. Well, at least the cockroach was dead, the centipede and the 2 spiders were not. The room was nicely made up every day but there was always at least one hair in the sink or shower. Bed was ok but getting a little soft. Parking was good up front but in the back area the spaces were too narrow and there were not enough of them. Took 2 days to get a laundry list the first time. Never did get one the second time I asked. Do not use their laundry service for western shirts, they ruin the snaps.

On the other hand: There is a very good, full breakfast available and plenty of it. Pool looks nice but I never had a chance to use it. Friendly staff. Good location. Good washers, driers and soap available. Quiet.

I would stay here again only if I could not find someplace better.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

We had a 1 bedroom, king suite with partial room divider. The room was very large with a wet bar/kitchenette. The refrigerator was not turned on and warm, when we arrived. The room layout was much better then most suites with the tv on a stand where it could be easily be turned between the living room and bedroom. This is a older property but well maintained and clean. The breakfast includes some hot items but the best part was the evening reception. The night we arrived, there were sloppy joes, nachos, a very fresh vegetable platter, and free sodas. We didn't even have to buy dinner that night. There was a computer and printer in the lobby that we used to print out our boarding passes for the next day. We were very comfortable here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 1020 S White Sands Blvd, Alamogordo, NM 88310 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Alamogordo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 hotels in Alamogordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Alamogordo
Alamogordo Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.