We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Staff and Accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Panorama Blvd, Alamogordo, NM 88310   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Alamogordo
ewell, surrey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Super Staff and Accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were impressed by this hotel as soon as we walked through the door into the colourful lobby with its super fish tank but what really made it special was the exceptional customer service we received throughout our stay from the friendly young lady on reception (dark hair & glasses - sorry we did not catch her name).

The first room we were allocated was not acceptable as there was a terrible musty smell when we opened the door (we think the air-con unit had gone wrong). This issue was rectified efficiently and promptly and we were soon settled into a new, large and comfortable room on the third floor. Although we were sandwiched between floors we did not experience noise from fellow guests around us and we all slept well. The sofa bed was a slight inconvenience when made up at night as it blocked the way from our bed to the bathroom (we had to clamber over the end whilst trying not to wake our daughter up!)

There was an excellent choice of food and drinks at breakfast and plenty of restaurants nearby to choose for an evening meal.

One minor annoyance was that the business centre computer was out of action. The lovely receptionist offered her computer if we wanted to print anything but our daughter wanted to chat to her friends back in the UK as they had just received their exam results and we wanted to make back ups of our photo’s. She was most apologetic and suggested we visit the library giving us helpful directions.

This is a great place to stay if visiting White Sands National Monument (approx. 15 miles away). We went twice on one day– early morning to do a short hike before it got too hot and again in the evening to take the “Sunset Stroll” with a ranger.

All in all a great hotel – this was our first Fairfield Inn experience and if this is the standard we will be certainly be using them again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your response. I am glad to see that our staff was able to get you into another room right away. I do recall speaking with the three of you and it was a pleasure. We were able to get the business center back up and running. Thank you for choosing the Fairfield Inn & Suites, Alamogordo. We hope to see you again during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    32
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
50
33
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I've been staying in Alamogordo for business over the last 10 years. I've tried many of the hotels in town which have become dated and beds are worn. Since comfort away from home is a top priority for me, I prefer newer hotels with newer beds. The new construction also shields you from some of the desert bugs that make their way into older buildings and creep through the night.

The suites at the Fairfield are spacious and very comfortable. The normal rooms are small and give me a cramped feeling. I prefer to pay a little more if I am there for more than a few days.

The hotel has a modern decor and the lobby is kept clean. Breakfast is decent for this type of hotel.

The exercise room is "good enough" to maintain a simple fitness routine and I wouldn't expect much more. If you need more space, free-weights, dumbbells, etc. you should not expect to find it at a hotel this size and should pursue a local gym.

The pool and spa were cloudy and foamy and seem to be this way every time I've stayed here. As a home spa owner and frequent swimmer I would never enter a public pool where I cannot see the bottom. This pool seriously lacks chlorine and is not sanitary. The chlorine should be adjusted every night but this is not done since it is just as cloudy first thing in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share this with us. Fortunately, we were able to correct the cloudiness in pool. Our facility uses bromine instead of chlorine and our Maintenance staff ensures all levels are where they should be each day. We appreciate the feedback and I am glad you were able to enjoy the hotel. Please come back and see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on a recent weekend trip. The room we had was very small. The room itself was fairly clean. The hallways really need a good cleaning. The carpet was grungy and the furniture in the elevator lobby showed excessive wear. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The noise from the room above was annoying and it seemed to be coming from general movement about the room not any boisterous activity. This would not be my first choice if we return to Alamogordo. The hot drinks that were provided for breakfast were never hot and at one point barely lukewarm. The pancake machine was pretty cool!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for the quality of service you experienced. I want to assure you that these issues have been addressed! We have taken several steps to help ensure these situations don’t happen again. We hope with our continued efforts to improve the quality of stay for our guests, you will give the Fairfield Inn & Suites another try if you find yourself in the Alamogordo area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrhardt, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Here are the details:
Staff:
Very friendly at the check-in.
Room:
New clean and modern rooms with enough space for my family (4 Persons).
The room had a flat screen TV, a refridgerator and a coffee machine.
The beds are very good and comfortable.
The air conditioning and the bathroom were clean.
Hotel and lobby:
The lobby was very nice and modern to sit in and read a newspaper.
The hotel has an elevator, so you have no problems to get in an upper floor with your luggage.
The hotel has free WiFi and an exercise room.
Breakfast:
A lot of different cold and hot food, we liked it.
Pool:
Great indoor pool, well heated, large jacuzzi for chatting and relaxing and outside a barbeque area.
Parking:
You can park in a safe parking lot in front of the hotel.
Area around the hotel:
Shops and restaurants are nearby.
The hotel has a good connection to the Highway, the city and it is easy to find

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing such detailed information about our hotel. I am glad to see that our staff was able to deliver great service. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

An engaging receptionist, Josh answered our questions about the beautiful lobby fish tank, the interesting fake flower arrangements and some local restaurants. Our clean, commodious, well appointed room remained quiet. The ample free breakfast featured the usual suspects and endless refills. No vegan-compatible milk, which probably disappoints maybe 2% of the market.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share this with us. We are always looking for new ways to improve our service to best accommodate our guest. We appreciate all suggestions. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Travelling through Alamogordo, NM and staid the night at the Fairfield. The staff was amazing, helping with some local color and ideas. The hotel is a newer model, very clean and well kept. Greatly beat expectations in the middle of NM! One of the best Fairfields ever. Also, cannot recommend the White Sands Park enough it was great. Amazing.

Room Tip: suite is fantastic - great king bed and plenty of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. White Sands is such an amazing place to visit. We hope to see you again during your next trip to Alamogordo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Point, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The fish tank in the lobby is absolutely gorgeous! As were the rooms...very comfortable beds and pillows, nicely done bathrooms with a rain showerhead. Breakfast was standard hotel faire. There are restaurants close by that are convenient. We did not try the pool, spa, or fitness room.

Room Tip: Away from the ice machine. Top floor for great sunset/sunrise views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! Please come back and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo

Address: 300 Panorama Blvd, Alamogordo, NM 88310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Alamogordo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Alamogordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.