We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Stuff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caliche's frozen custard

Caliche's frozen custard
2251 N White Sands Blvd, Alamogordo, NM 88310-6139
575-439-1000
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 81 Restaurants in Alamogordo
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
“GREAT Stuff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This place has a VERY good strawberry and banana shake (maybe they call it something else) that is well worth going out of your way to try.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    21
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
AvidTraveler57
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Fun, Old-Fashioned Custard Stand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

These are classic old-fashioned custard stands that I hope never go away! Kids need to have these experiences before every business is all corporate owned.

Stopped in for a hot dog and ice cream before our day touring. There are so many choices to pick from for ice cream, food, etc. Clean and service very fast.

Definitely a value-priced custard stand also--we ordered medium custards and they were huge!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Family Favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This review is primarily coming from my family. I'm not much of a sweet food fan, but my husband and daughters are. They love Caliche's. The custard is really creamy and sweet. I usually get a sundae , which helps in balancing out the sweetness. I'd definitely go again, but not as often as the rest of the family.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM USA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best treat in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were less than impressed with the other restaurants we sampled in Alamogordo, so we were super excited to come upon great custard with loads of different flavor options. Come on, you know you want to try the green chili sundae!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Verde, Arizona
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is really good. Lots of variety to choose from - you might have to go back again the next day for a different flavor! Has a drive through too!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caliche's frozen custard also viewed

 

Been to Caliche's frozen custard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caliche's frozen custard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.