We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to watch the locals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caliche's frozen custard

Caliche's frozen custard
2251 N White Sands Blvd, Alamogordo, NM 88310-6139
575-439-1000
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 78 Restaurants in Alamogordo
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Restaurant details
san francisco, ca
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great place to watch the locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Best entertainment ever: order a frozen custard sundae (tastes like soft serve ice cream), sit outside + eavesdrop on the locals.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    16
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cloudcroft, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Make sure to get a poochie cone for the dog!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Great custard and upon request your dog gets a free small cone called a "poochie cone." Our three dogs love going through the drive through and scoring their cones! A must hit place in Alamogordo.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Generous with toppings but little seating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We really enjoyed our stop here. The custard was tasty and they put a ton of toppings on our sundaes. Only problem was the lack of seating (its suppose to be a drive up with window service) but they have a covered car port to the right that you can sit in to enjoy out of the sun.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Custard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Fun drive up stand with great frozen custard. Large menu with classics like banana-splits and brownies with custard and hot fudge.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Caliche's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

their shakes are so good, really sweet though. got a medium chocolate shake, the best in fact, but i had to throw half of it away cause it was so sweet! I recommend them though!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caliche's frozen custard also viewed

 

Been to Caliche's frozen custard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caliche's frozen custard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.