We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating B&B on outskirts of Alamogordo ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tavares Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alamogordo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tavares Inn
Save
You added Tavares Inn to your Saves list
153 San Pedro Drive, Alamogordo, NM   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Alamogordo B&B and Inns
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Very accommodating B&B on outskirts of Alamogordo ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This place has a little of everything. Located about 3 miles from Alamogordo's main drag, this once family home converted to a guest house is quiet and very accommodating. Innkeeper Debbie took care of all my needs and was helpful with area attractions and restaurants. Eclectic art work, indoor pool, billiard table, and an assortment of pet animals will greet you. Many amenities await you, including an honor bar, wake up coffee tray, and a huge breakfast made to order. Truly an unique lodging experience!

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home by the hosts Bob and Debbie. The house is amazing and the rooms are beautifully decorated. Debbie recommended a restaurant for us to go to in Alamogordo for dinner and when we got back later that evening we hung out for a while in the communal area playing pool. Debbie delivered a wake up "pre-breakfast" to our room consisting of fresh watermelon accompanied by a jug of coffee. Breakfast itself was the biggest I've ever seen. The food just kept on coming and we had to stop eventually because we were completely stuffed - we certainly didn't need lunch later in the day! We only spent one night here and I wish we could have stayed longer. If we go back to Alamogordo I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We followed our gps and wondered if we had entered the correct address. Tavares Inn is a bit out in the country. The minute we arrived Debbie greeted us and gave us the grand tour. An amazing place and very comfortable. We were able to relax and try out the wine bar (donation).
Debbie gave us directions to a nice Italian restaurant just a couple of miles away. Breakfast is fantastic. Too much to eat, and it kept coming. We skipped lunch. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We booked this place last minute for our visit to White Sands and we loved the place.
It's a one of a kind B&B which has the best hosts; very friendly and they have made their place unique and thought of everything that can make the place more enjoyable. There is a 24 hour heated indoor swimming pool and a pool table available in the communal area. In this area there is also an honesty bar; they have provided people with various refreshments. They also have a parrot in the communal area which is very entertaining and can be chatty but at the same time, we couldn't hear the parrot when we were in the bedroom so perfect for sleeping. There's also a gym and plenty of outdoor seating but unfortunately we didn't have time to make use of these facilities.
The bed is very comfortable, making it hard to get up and the bathroom is very clean and spacious.
Wake up call (with drink of your choice and watermelon) and the breakfast was so delicious that we ate so much and had to have a quick power nap afterwards before we continued with the day.

We highly recommend this place to anyone in the area- way better than any hotel. We wished we had a couple of days spare on our trip to enjoy the Inn properly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The accommodations are ever so nice-and it is a place to spend some time if one wishes. There are several areas to just "hang out". The best part is probably Bob and Debbie- just the best-and that was not even mentioning their wonderful breakfast. When in the area again, it will be where we stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the lovely and unique Tavares Inn for a night during our honeymoon. We knew we wanted to see White Sands National Monument and this B&B had so much more personality than any hotel around. Debbie was incredibly friendly and knowledgeable. We loved that they had an all-hour indoor pool to use, honesty bar and pool table. We only wish we had more time to enjoy all these things! We stayed in the small downstairs bedroom, which worked perfectly for us. The internet was a bit slow in there, but was faster out in the pool area.
Breakfast was a feast. Started with a wake-up call at our room with tea, juice and fruit, and followed by more eggs, potatoes and bacon than we could eat. Finished with an apple blossom, we were stuffed.
If ever I passed through Alamogordo again, I would definitely stay at the Tavares Inn!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Bed and Breakfast of Robert and Debbie Tavares. This place is special in so many ways from the beautiful views of the mountains to the beauty of the home both inside and outside. Our hosts were wonderful and the home itself was so clean with a great decor. We would not hesitate to recommend Tavares Inn to anyone who is looking for a first class place to stay while in Alamogordo.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tavares Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavares Inn

Address: 153 San Pedro Drive, Alamogordo, NM
Location: United States > New Mexico > Alamogordo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alamogordo
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tavares Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.