We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tavares Inn

Tavares Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alamogordo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tavares Inn
Save Saved
You added Tavares Inn to your Saves list
153 San Pedro Drive, Alamogordo, NM   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Alamogordo B&B and Inns
Forest Hills, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Pleasant Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We arrived late our first night for a 3 night stay in Alamogordo, NM. Bob and Debbie greeted us with an open smile and gave us a tour of the house. While visiting White Sands National Monument this is a far better catch than all those corporate based hotels in the area. Our room faced the back which was quiet and clean. This B & B is a 20 minute drive to White Sands and 5 minutes from restaurants in the town.

Breakfast was generous and delicious. We were both served eggs any style, hash browns, fresh fruit and your choice of coffee and tea. Each morning we were served either waffles, pancakes, or a baked fruit pastry. Don’t feel guilty if you can’t finish your meal- any leftovers get served to the animals. They also have an indoor pool.

Bob and Debbie were both great hosts during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
21
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We recently stayed here, and had a wonderful time! The hosts go out of their way to make you comfortable. For example, Debby brought fruit, coffee, and juice to our room every morning. We were then able to relax on our patio, listen to the birds, and look at the mountains! We were encouraged to use their indoor pool, which we did after visiting White Sands Monument (which is very nearby.) The breakfast was huge and delicious! Any questions, including restaurant recommendations, were gladly answered.
We highly recommend this Inn.

Room Tip: Both rooms upstairs are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This place is just wonderful. Our room was very adequate- lots of room in the closet for our suitcases & such. Debbie and Bob have made it a place to relax and feel comfortable, but it is all done with class. We loved the location out of town a bit- the mountains closeby- their assortment of pets- having space to do as we needed- the lovely furnishings- and on and on. They not only have class- they provide a breakfast out of sight-and they offer their own personal kindnesses. Totally super.

Room Tip: We had one of the upstairs rooms and we were very happy and comfortable, and we were there for 4 nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had a beautiful room with access to the patio under a huge willow tree and with an incredible view of the mountains. Lots of critturs and livestock, perfect weather and accomodations. If you go, be prepared for breakfast. Not for bird style eating. We ordered our eggs over easy, and the plate came with 4 eggs, done perfectly, about a quarter pound of potatoes, a slice of ham you could serve for dinner for 2 and toast. This after fruit and juice and bottomless coffee. Ranch style cooking and very good. A bowl of oatmeal serves like 2 meals. What doesn't get eaten goes to the chickens. Homey, warm, and friendly, with a beautiful setting. Don't miss wrestling with Rocky- the resident house kitten( they also have several outdoor cats). He's a hoot. Play a few games of pool, or jump in the indoor pool. This was our honeymoon and we got to share the patio with friends who have special needs children. They soaked in the peace and quiet like sponges. So di we. Bob and Debbie are very gracious and personable. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed in many B&B'S ant this topped them all! The place is absolutely gorgeous. The furnishings and decor are
lovely. It was clean and comfortable. The amenities were amazing. We had a large flat screen TV in our room which is unusual. The attention to detail in every way was amazing. We are sorry we did not plan more than an overnight visit because we did not have a chance to walk the grounds, take a swim in their indoor pool and use their workout room. The breakfast was unbelievable with three eggs (from their chickens), a choice of meats (I chose the ham and it was a ham steak), potatoes (delicious), toast, juice, a large fruit cup, and a baked apple pastry. What great hosts too. They went out of the way to welcome us and make us feel at home. I do not understand an earlier review that had a negative description of Bob, a perfect gentleman and host who was very respectful of us and our privacy! And Debbie was the perfect hostess, lovely in every way! Don't miss this place. It is fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were so pleasantly surprised at this fantastic B&B. Deb and Bob couldn't have been better hosts! The accomadations were outstanding including a pool, patio, balcony, not to mention one of the biggest and best breakfasts we've have ever had. Deb also suprised us with an Anniversary surprise!! The Tavares Inn is so close to White sands and Carlsbad, that it is a must to stay there when visiting these areas. Thanks Deb and Bob!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarver, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Debbie and Bob, you have a great B&B, we wished we lived closer, as we would do weekend getaways with you. From the minute we arrived, and until we left the next morning, we could not have asked for anything more. On arrival Debbie provided us with a great tray of cheese and crackers, and whatever we wanted to drink. We had a great room, with a patio, that we enjoyed our morning coffee and fruit on. Breakfast....BEST ever, so much food and delicious. They have great indoor pool, with a bar area that you can get beer, wine, pop. I had the pool to myself while my husband watched the football game, floated around sipping a glass of wine. The house is gorgeous, the grounds and animals, the mountains, just a beautiful area. This was well more than I was expecting and hated to leave! Thanks again Debbie and Bob. We had a great time, Your apple tartlet you packaged up made a great snack on the way to the caverns.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tavares Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavares Inn

Address: 153 San Pedro Drive, Alamogordo, NM
Location: United States > New Mexico > Alamogordo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alamogordo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tavares Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.