We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and Friendly Owners & Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Sands Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alamogordo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Sands Motel
Save
You added White Sands Motel to your Saves list
1101 S. White Sands Blvd., Alamogordo, NM 88310   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Alamogordo
New London, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel and Friendly Owners & Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel twice now for a week at a time. We plan another stay this July. The place is very clean and the owners and staff very friendly. Situated in good area, close to downtown and White Sands.

Room Tip: All rooms on lower level. Easy access to room. Large parking lot.,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    76
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
56
82
19
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Stayed here for one night while visiting the White Sands National Monument. Room was immaculate, had all the amenities one needs (the in-room coffee was outstanding), quiet and comfortable. Very reasonably priced. Proprietors friendly and helpful. Convenient to White Sands. Wi-fi worked well for me. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

On a lengthy road trip and booking many of our motels and vacation rentals based on comments from fellow TA reviewers. We booked in Alamogordo so we could visit the White Sands Monument and play a round of golf.We stayed 3 nights.

The Motel is old but it is well cared for and extremely clean. We love finding places like this with character . Our room was at the rear of the complex with a view of the mountains and the morning sunrise. Chairs an a small table made for a comfortable , shady location at the end of the day for a drink. Several restaurants within walking distance meant the car could stay parked!

The room itself was clean , bed comfortable,TV worked well, Wi-Fi was excellent , bathroom small , the water pressure one of the best we have had in 7 weeks of travel. Breakfast location is small, content your typical cereal, juice, yougart, pastries . Coffee was great!


The Hotel manager was delightful and very helpful . She called to tell me the full moon was rising over the mountains and I should look out to see how beautiful it was!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have the best views and a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We just stayed there 2 nights and as others said the service was top notch. The hotel is older but has been cared for. They have a 3 bed room set up that worked perfectly for us. They do need new mattresses though! The wi-fi worked fine for us....we had 2 smart phones going as well as 2 nooks for the kids running netflix etc. The bathroom didn't have a fan and it got very stuffy so you had to open the window to an industrial looking street which wasn't super nice. The waterpressure and shower head worked great though. Not much for kids to do though. The free to borrow sleds were nice for the dunes! The rooms were clean, the TV was really nice and the fridge worked well. The staff was great too!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Service was very friendly and helpful and the room was clean and spacious however the wifi was not the best and we had to stand outside our room to be able to access it properly. A small but nice breakfast was included and we were able to borrow sleds to use when we visited the white sands. The hotel was also well located and close to restaurants, etc.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I headed down to Alamogordo with a group of fellow photographers to visit the White Sands National Monument. We stayed at the motel and found the price reasonable and the room spotless. It is an older motel, but the rooms have a new refrigerator, microwave and flat screen television. The bed was very comfortable, which is very important to me. The owners were very friendly. I would definitely go back. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because we couldn't get the wireless internet to work. We mentioned it to the owners and they worked on it right away. Unfortunately, several of us still were unable to connect. There are restaurants very close by with internet access so overall it wasn't a problem.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the back parking lot have patio chairs and tables set outside. It was perfect fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
277 helpful votes 277 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Unlike other places we've stayed at on our trip that cost way more, the White Sands Motel offers a great value for the price. The rooms are basic and clean. The water is piping hot and stays hot. The hosts are friendly and helpful with answers to questions. On a strip with chain restaurant after chain hotel, this is a nice LOCAL establishment. We would would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Motel

Address: 1101 S. White Sands Blvd., Alamogordo, NM 88310
Location: United States > New Mexico > Alamogordo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alamogordo
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alamogordo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alamogordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Alamogordo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Sands Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.