We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Sands Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alamogordo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Sands Motel
1101 S. White Sands Blvd., Alamogordo, NM 88310   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Alamogordo
Encinitas, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed here 2 yrs ago and again last week. Yes it is a motel but It is far superior than most 3,4 star hotels. Its is super clean and carpet, curtains, furnishing all is in top shape. V. comfortable bed with nice linens, Cable Refrigerator Microwave Coffeemaker.. at prob 1/2 the price of surrounding hotels. Nice owners & best part is you can just walk over a few yards to applebee's & chili's.. a big plus it you want to gave some wine or beer without being concerned about drink/driving.

Room Tip: Eat & Drink next door without driving
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    70
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
46
76
17
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shepherd, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were on our 6th anniversary vacation & wanted to see White Sands National Monument, so, what better place to stay than White Sands Motel. I checked all reviews & all were good except maybe 3. This place is small but very clean & staff is great, very friendly. We will stay here again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We were in town for two nights to visit White Sands and attend the Balloon Invitational. As we weren't going to be spending too much time in our room, I was primarily concerned about the motel being clean, safe, convenient and not overpriced. This motel was all of the above. We got a regular room with a queen bed. Room wasn't very large and it was older, but it contained everything we needed including fast wifi, mini fridge, and microwave. It's also family run and the owners were very friendly and readily available. They also had several sleds to borrow if you were going to White Sands. The free breakfast was very limited, but there are several restaurants nearby to dine at if you wanted more choices.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Its no frills all value!! Super clean freshly painted and like others have stated the owners are off the hook friendly. Each room has a table and chairs out front to relax and unwind after along days ride...WiFi was really strong even in the back room we stayed in. Breakfast in the morning.

You will not find a better deal for a nights stay in Alamogordo!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

What attracted me was the outside appearance of the motel. Freshly painted and spacious with a really keen retro sign.

Everything was great inside the room also. Very clean with wi-fi, fridge, coffee maker. Great cable selection and wi-fi.

The owners were very friendly and take pride in the appearance of their property. I saw them dusting off the AAA discount sign and cleaning all the rooms even though some weren't rented out.

The only downside was the shower which was small.

$50 bucks plus tax for a single. Sure beats the chains that must charge at least twice as much for the same quality room - if that. Well, maybe the chains give a hot breakfast. But save the $50+ and eat like a King or Queen at a local restarant.

Easy to see why it is Tripadvisor's top-rated motel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clyde, Texas
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Convenient motel for a stop over when passing through Almagardo. It appears to be well maintained and our room with king sized bed, refrigerator, microwave and Internet was quiet, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliance, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed in the family suite, which consisted of 3 double beds. It was perfect for our family of 6! After visiting the sand dunes, we took food back to the hotel & ate at the little table & chairs. The breakfast was very small, but filled our bellies & the owners were more than accommodating! They even let us borrow their sleds for the dunes! We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to White Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Motel

Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Alamogordo
White Sands Hotel
Address: 1101 S. White Sands Blvd., Alamogordo, NM 88310
Location: United States > New Mexico > Alamogordo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alamogordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Sands Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added White Sands Motel to your Saves list