We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop on our cross country trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Sands Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alamogordo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Sands Motel
Save
You added White Sands Motel to your Saves list
1101 S. White Sands Blvd., Alamogordo, NM 88310   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Alamogordo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stop on our cross country trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on the way back from California to the east coast. It is clean and is run by a very nice couple. It's not the Ritz, but their 3 bed family room was perfect for our group of 5. We would definitely stay here again. As a bonus, you get to hear the sonic boom from the local Air Force Base at night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    76
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
56
82
19
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Price was $62 for a non-smoking room in single-level motor court style motel (You park right outside your room.) With a queen-sized bed you don't have too much room here, but it was clean and comfortable (Just remember to turn on your fridge when you get in the room as they
don't keep them on all the time.) This is on the edge of town and many fast food spots are within a few blocks. Walmart is less than a mile away and the local grocery store (Lowe's) was less than two. White Sands National Monument is about 13 miles west down the highway. Although it is close to the highway, we didn't have any problems with noise from the road or from our neighbors. We slept fine and thought this was a good value. They offer a continental breakfast starting at 7 AM, but we are already on the road by then.

Room Tip: We had an end unit (they have a few) so you only have a neighbor on one side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Michigan, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

5400+ miles of travel in 7 days took us through Alamogordo NM. We had a long day of travel and found the White Sands Motel. What a jem in the desert. Bonnie was very pleseant and welcoming. Provided us with a family room that was historically modern, comfortable, quiet and convenient. I would never use the term "cheap", but certainly was very affordable. My only reason I did not give them a "Five Star" rating was due to the WiFi issue I experienced. I could not get a signal in the room, but once out on the parking area and in the office area, there was no issue. In the morning there was a good, not great, breakfast of great hot coffee, bananas, juice, milk, cereal, and pre-packaged pastries. I prefered this over the other breakfast we experienced on the road. So if you are traveling through Alamogordo, NM do yourself a favor and give the White Sands Motel a try…it is worth the stop.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed at the White Sands Motel for two nights @ $50 per night. The White Sands Motel is an example of an exemplary budget motel.

Here's what I loved about the White Sands Motel, none of which you can take for granted in a budget motel:

Clean
Mini fridge
Microwave
Free wifi (secured and fast for my needs)
TV
Coffee maker
Deadbolt + locking door knob
Shower curtain with a crisp, bright design
Ample-sized desk for laptop or meal (only one person, tho)

Extra thoughtful touch: A power strip on top of the desk so no need to crawl around floor or behind clunky furniture for a free outlet

Extremely comfortable bed (although bed comfort is such a personal thing, it's difficult to standardize the concept)

Attractive building exteriors and landscaping
Burly ice maker
Air conditioning
Pleasant management

The breakfast is OK, nothing special, but the value of the place isn't in the breakfast, it's in all the details above. In fact, most "free" breakfasts are of dubious value. (For a great breakfast, cross the street - carefully - to the Waffle and Pancake Shop that is next to the Denny's. Good food, good service, good prices.)

The motel doesn't have a swimming pool, but for me, that's not important.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poolsharkpatel, General Manager at White Sands Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Sir,Thanks a million for taking the time to write your great review.We appriciate it alot.Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I NEVER would have stayed at a motel except for the reviews on this site. I am so glad we took the chance! Very few hotel rooms comfortably fit a family of five with teenagers. The family suite had a separate room for the kids (a big bonus for me) and was very clean. The price was impressively low. The room had a fridge and microwave, very handy when traveling. I would certainly stay here again. The whole family gives it five thumbs up.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Says it all in the title... you don't need much more than that. Have been travelling around 4000 miles across the US and it's by far the best motel we've stayed in. We stayed inn the family room which was quite large with 3 double beds. Also being able to borrow sand boards free of charge is an added plus.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a charming, non-chain hotel to stay while you explore white sands monument, this is it! The staff was do friendly and even had sleds for us to borrow for sledding on the dunes! Great place, definitely recommend! For dinner we loved the Hi-Di-Ho Drive-in just up the road...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Motel

Address: 1101 S. White Sands Blvd., Alamogordo, NM 88310
Location: United States > New Mexico > Alamogordo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alamogordo
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alamogordo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alamogordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Alamogordo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Sands Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.