We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY AT MOUNTVIEW” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mountview

Hotel Mountview
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mountview to your Saves list
Hotel Mountview
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sector-10, Chandigarh 160 011, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 74 Hotels in Chandigarh
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“STAY AT MOUNTVIEW”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Located in peaceful & lush green area. Old but nicely maintained specious, beautiful hotel. Rooms are specious with all amenities for very comfortable stay.

Food is good & in a quantity. Housekeeping & room service staff are well mannered & attentive. Restaurant is also beautiful , located near swimming pool gives you relax feel while having tasty food.

SPA service is also very nice & offers you best relaxation.

Room Tip: Select room facing to swimming pool which is actually the interior side of hotel but gives you best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    65
    43
    14
    8
See reviews for
24
26
11
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks. . its located slightly away from the business district. .. However the food and efficient service pretty much makes up for it.rooms are clean and big.
They have a nice spa in the hotel always good after a day's work
M surprised it's ranked so low on TripAdvisor

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This 30 year old 5star hotel is still charming. I stayed here 3 days in last Nov. and pleasantly surprized to find it was surviving the competion from young ones like Marriott and Taj. The hotel matches in room service with any other hotel, but lobby level restaurant lack in efficiency and service quality! I found that old timers still love to be there! The fitness center is really a happening place.

Room Tip: Dont stay in rooms viewing to garden as it turns noisy in marriage season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa, India
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is is first start hotel city had. Used to be a 3 star property that was converted into 5 star. Rooms are average and so are the toilets. The lawns are great though. Coffee shop is simple but carries an old world charm around it.

Room Tip: Most rooms face the lawns, see if you can get a room with mountain view actually :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Room style was old floor still wooden service was ok outlook is excellent. I was on champion league trip. I stay there for three days. Gym was perfect. Garden was so big. swimming pool was small. I stayed in room no. 352. reception was quick and supportive. overall ok.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mountview, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest

We are thankful for your comments and positive impression about our facilities and services from a well travelled guest like yourself.

These feedbacks such as given by you that keeps the team motivated and encourages them to continue to deliver to the guest expectations.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Harmilan Singh
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently for a four day conference. First impression is that of an attractive lobby which was well maintained - except for the enormous flower arrangement which was in an advanced state of wilting. Rooms are adequate but have a very tired feel with numerous small items in need of maintenance. Walls were quite thin - you can here everything in detail in your neighbours room. Food was mediocre - but there are numerous excellent restaurants which are quite inexpensive nearby. Location very central.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mountview, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedbacks for your experience at Mountview, Chandigarh.

We value your patronage and it is our endeavor to ensure all our guests to have a memorable stay with us. I have noted your feedback can assure you that contrary to the impression you have gained from your experience, we are dedicated to always deliver warm hospitality and good service to all our guests

Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience caused to you with regards to your brief stay experience with us.

We truly value our guests and invite you to continue sharing your valuable feedback about the hotel and our services for our improvement.

Thank you very much for staying with us and give your feedback.

Warm Regards

Harmilan Singh
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

As previous reviewers have mentioned, if the powers-that-be have seen fit to award this government-run hotel 5* they should get out more! Aside from the impressive reception area, I'd probably give it 3* for rooms and service if it was in the US/Europe.
The positives:-
Good location.
Lovely spacious reception area.
The food (buffet style) in Ruffles restaurant was generally good with veg and non-veg options (although the range of dishes did not change much from one day to the next). Rotis and naans very good and plentiful.
Bar was atmospheric with good service.
Large (but bland) rooms with AC that wasn't too loud.
The negatives.
Worn bath towels and just one tiny hand towel (for 2 people) in the fully functioning (but far from stylish) bathroom.
Don't try changing money at reception, especially in the morning, as they don't have any cash. Reception service was patchy in general.
Terrible instant coffee and canned juice at breakfast.
Pool area and associated changing room not terribly appealing, and I felt a bit uncomfortable in a swimsuit being stared at by builders renovating rooms and men setting up for a event on the adjacent lawn, so returned to the room.
In summary, I'm sure there are better places to stay in the city e.g. the nearby Taj - where I had a much-needed decent coffee.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mountview, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting you comments on Trip advisor
Your positive feedback for our public area and food will go a long way in motivating our team and encourage them to create a memorable experience for our guests every time.

We have noted your concerns with regards to towel, coffee and pool area. We ensure you to take corrective action and to ensure such issues are not repeated in future.

We look forward to welcome you back for your stay at MOUNTVIEW Chandigarh.

Warm Regards,

Harmilan Singh
Guest Relation Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mountview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountview

Address: Sector-10, Chandigarh 160 011, India
Location: India > Chandigarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Chandigarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountview 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Mountview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountview Hotel Chandigarh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mountview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.