We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hosted a party” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Altius A Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Altius A Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
The Altius A Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Plot No. 25/9, Industrial Area Ph-II, Chandigarh, India (Formerly Altius Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 116 Chandigarh B&B and Inns
amritsar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“hosted a party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

we hosted a party a few weeks ago and it was a very nice experience.the staff was very helpful,the food was also good but there was only one problem that the hotel did not have separate washroom for ladies and gents

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    12
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
12
10
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Nice and clean hotel in a not so good area. Room was nice but the bathroom flooded when having a shower so very slippery. Exiting the bathroom was a 3/4 inch high step which a banged my toes on more than once and could of broken it. Key card stopped working on day 4 and not much help from the staff, thankfully it worked again by itself. The Person who said he was gunna fix it didn't come back to me. Not many of the staff speak English and those who do, not very well (this is a hotel after all ) had the phone put down on me twice so far (day 4) internet is a joke. Ive just read you only get 150mb a day, which i wasn't told about if true, after that they charge you which I'm going to have to ask these god awful staff about. The restaurant isn't that cheap and the night club above is so bloody loud i cant sleep till 3ish.
I would leave but I'm only here for a few days and i really cant be bothered packing. I would complain to the manager but the phrase piss up in a brewery springs to mind.
Not a good experience in my view, plenty of other hotels to choice from.
I wont be recommending this hotel unless ii really dislike them.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Went to Chandigarh a few weeks ago with some friends. Partying in this place is just amazing!!! Good environment, great people and best service. One of the best experiencies in my life. Definitely coming back!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

It was a one night transit stay on our way to Manali, we'd been fortunate enough to step into The Altius on a saturday night. An amazing set up given to the lobby with nice artifacts and show pieces. Nice spacious rooms with fantastic comfort - purely customer oriented. GREAT FOOD @ their fine dining restaurant reminds those colonial set ups of English reigns with good view at their 6th floor and it was a club night in their club with an excellent crowd. WOW - is the word which came out when we entered in their Ten Downing Street. Amazing Music from their In House DJ - really good bartenders after a long time i had amazing flavored Martinis, Loved their Martini Pitcher. Commendable In room services were provided with a wide breakfast buffet spread. Nice standards of hospitality and a charming and very helpful staff that they helped my husband to fix the punctured Tyre of our car.
The Comfort was beyond our expectations that we stayed back again on our return and we were lucky again that it was a Wednesday this time. This time we took their Super Deluxe room as our prefered room was not available. The staff offered us a really warm welcome and all those who served us remembered our name. WOW what a special feeling they gave us. I was so excited when RINNIE the Reception supervisor informed us that its LADIES NIGHT OUT @ their Club. The Altius really made our trip memorable.
High standards were met with a nice hospitable staff and out of the world food at the restaurant and amazingly happening Club 10 Downing Street.
REAL VALUE FOR MONEY PACKAGE

Room Tip: The deluxe and Super deluxe rooms are with an amazing view of rising sun and a beautiful lush green...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginny C, General Manager at The Altius A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to review The Altius Boutique Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to receive your feedback and to learn that you enjoyed the room, services and our 10D Lounge.

We are delighted to note that you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel and that you will recommend The Altius to your friends. Your feedback is very encouraging and I have shared it with the team. It also inspires us to scale greater heights of excellence.

We value your patronage and look forward to your continued visits.

Thank you,

Kind Regards,
The Altius Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Had a 3 day stay here in May. Booked on Expedia and made the mistake of paying for 4 days but only needing 3, tried to tell them that it was a mistake but no luck, I think that's a fault of Expedia but there's no recourse there as the policy is no refunds. Regardless, I checked in at about 3am and was greeted with a smile. The room was comfy enough but the bed was too short... I'm 6'4" and the bed was around 6' so my feet stuck out. Quick fix I slept diagonally, turns out the bedhead cuts off a few inches when the bed is pushed under it so I handled that ok.

Big problem though is the club upstairs with the boom boom boom every weekend night and the patrons walking down the marble stairs yelling and giggling. My room was next to the stairwell and I couldn't sleep through it. Problem #2 the internet, they say free wifi but you find out pretty soon that you only get 150mb which is ok for a few emails and web browsing but after that you gotta pay up, I was offered "unlimited" 1Gb for r1000. Strange thing was that you only had 1 allowance which didn't reset each day, so after your first day "sorry".

Otherwise the hotel is adequate, quite liveable. The room service food is very expensive and not that good but the staff went the extra mile, although their response time to requests was atrocious. Special mention to assist manager (forgot his name) who dropped me at the train station at 6am. And the manager (forgot name too) who was very proactive when my fridge broke. The breakfast was quite good and although it was in an industrial area, it was pretty conveniently located, just not close enough to walk anywhere... I would probably look elsewhere next time or... maybe not.

Room Tip: stay as far away as possible from the roof and stairwell on weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginny C, General Manager at The Altius A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Altius Boutique Hotel!

Thank you for staying at The Altius Boutique Hotel and for sharing your detailed feedback through Trip Advisor.

I am very sorry to learn of your experience. Expedia forwards their guests to our hotel on a very regular basis, this was our first experience that someone had to pre-pone their stay, your opinion would surely be passed on to Expedia management.

We have noted your feedback regarding the bed and shall certainly review options for taller people as our standard bed size is 6.25 feet.

Your comments on the club sound experience have been briefed to our security to not allow lounge guests near the rooms. We play Club music only on Saturday nights in our lounge and will surely take further measures for rooms next to the stairs.

We have considered your feedback on the WiFi network usage as well. The free internet for browsing and e-mailing for the in house guest is upto 150 MB per day, yes for the matter of fact it is not sufficient for downloading purposes. Keeping the customer’s request in view for downloading purposes we offer different internet packages up to 1 GB as well. My sincere apologies on that the front office staff should have passed this information on to you. Nevertheless they all have been told to inform the guest in future at the time of their Check in, as you have given us a chance to improvise on our services and your feedback has been very much valuable and useful for us to provide flawless services in future.

I have met the In Room Dining team to share your experience of service and all of us are committed to excel in this area as well. Your comments on inspires us further to do even better.

Your detailed feedback helps us understand, learn and improve and at the same time some most wonderful comments of yours make us feel very proud of our team. Your final words that you would return to The Altius makes us all very excited and we look forward to your next visit.

As and when you plan a trip, please let me know so that I can make arrangements for your stay.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
The Altius Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

During my stay at the hotel ,between 19th to 20 th april 2013...the suite was way beyond expectations...xclnt service ...great buffet breakfast ....piyush shah ...mumbai....A MUST VISIT FOR ALL....the staff also very co-operating ....The live music at the lounge located on the top floor offers music lovers a value for their money.....

Room Tip: suites are recommended with the kids travelling along with you ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginny C, Manager at The Altius A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Altius Boutique Hotel!

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Altius Boutique Hotel and for sharing your feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to receive your wonderful review and to learn that our service and facilities have exceeded your expectations.

Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire Altius team and the 10 Downing Street team for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.

The team and I, look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Thank you,

Kind Regards,
The Altius Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

EXTERIORS AND INTERIORS OF THE HOTEL-TOP NOTCH
But thats all the positive i can speak about the hotel

Built right on the National Highway,it can get very noisy if u choose the room facing the road.
The Food can be temed as Good,but nothing special
You can get other hotels,strategically placed within the city in almost the same range as the prices in here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginny C, General Manager at The Altius A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Altius Hotel!

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Altius Hotel, despite of the other opportunities available in the city.

We are thankful for your constructive feedback, we've been very unfortunate that day that we couldn't keep ourselves up to your expectations.

We would be looking forward for your next visit so as to have another chance to serve you better and to prove that your feedback is really valuable which gives us a chance to make continuous improvements to have guest friendly policies so as to provide the guest with the complete satisfaction.

Once again, we would like to present our gratitude and thank you for rating us Very Good with an assurance that you would be served with improvised & better services onto your next visit.

We would be looking forward to serve you in the near future.

Thanking you,

Kind regards,
The Altius Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Altius A Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Altius A Boutique Hotel

Address: Plot No. 25/9, Industrial Area Ph-II, Chandigarh, India (Formerly Altius Hotel)
Location: India > Chandigarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Chandigarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Altius A Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Altius Boutique Hotel, the hottest address of Chandigarh, offers matchless indulgence for the modern traveler with Hip interiors, multi cuisine, and personalized guest service. Stylish and individualized, Marked by art, music, cuisine, and all that’s uplifting and edgy in-between is surely a discreet designer haven providing the finest home-away-from-home experience. Creativity is the hallmark of the facade with Spectacular architecture and an ambiance of pure glamour. The Altius approach goes beyond visual aesthetics, offering unparallel levels of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your The Altius A Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Altius A Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.