We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service and Tasteless Food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Saffron

Saffron
1600 Dakshin Marg | Sector 35, Chandigarh 160035, India
0172 3955555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 758 Restaurants in Chandigarh
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Terrible Service and Tasteless Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I dined at Saffron (JW Marriott) on 03 Aug 2012.
The food was Worse than a roadside restaurant. The service was pathetic, yet there were 10 people running around serving no more than 4 tables that were occupied.

My friends and family suffered acidity and stomach pains all night.

Never go to Saffron. I bet it will close down within 12 months.

Jerry

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    7
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Disappointing Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We ate a family dinner with Parents. On a table of six, one plate of papads was given to which i objected. My daughter wanted Jasmine Ice tea - which was not available.
SUBZ - mix veg dish was not cooked , raw vegetables in little masala, dal was served cold. Bari ki boti was the only tolerable dish. All breads - Naan , Roti, Paratha were poorly baked. Chicken Methi was very bland and barely edible. Raitas were ok - but thats not a great credit to the chef............they also use very poor crockery - looks very cheaply sourced.
The ambience and service is ok, the restuarant needs a good chef to make the difference required.
I wont go there again unless they confirm having changed the chef.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohali, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“tasty food and wonderful ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

we had a wonderful experience at the saffron. they do set meals which was really good. the set meals are veg / non-veg / veg kebab / non-veg kebab meals. In all the set meals the food is unlimited. u can repeat the starters/main course and dessert at any time during the meal. the dessert especially the paan falooda was wonderful with rose petals. This particular dessert was repeated many times :p. The dinner was summed up with meethi supari / meetha paan / meethe saunf etc. The ambiance was great and a traditional punjabi folk look has been portrayed.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italy
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“bad food and service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Some indian people brought me in this indian restaurant in the Marriot Hotel in Chandigarh just to offer me a dinner in a special restaurant. Also for the indian people was the first experience in this restaurant and for all has been a very bad experience just from the starting.
The maitre at the beginning offer as a table that was not asbolutely confortable for 8 people and also not convinient for continue a business discussion, after our complains the maitre shift us in a more confortable and reserbed table. The non vegetarian kebab starters are not good and just for foreings people for the vegetarian starter We have to wiat for more than 30 minutes. Also all the dishes of the main course are absolutely not good and also in this case the service was very bad and long

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron also viewed

 
Chandigarh, India
 

Been to Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saffron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.