We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sector 35B, Dakshin Marg, Chandigarh 160035, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early & get 20% Off
Ranked #3 of 74 Hotels in Chandigarh
Hackettstown, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good business stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is a typical business stay hotel. The room interiors are modeled in a way to reflect luxury and corporate touch. The bathroom is spacious and overall the room has nice space even with a small work table. The breakfast buffet has a nice selection of items and the highlight was the fresh juice counter.
Sadly they do not offer any complimentary airport drop or pickup, its paid and quite costly for the car they provide.
I would not say its very good overall, its just about good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    123
    23
    13
    8
See reviews for
124
49
15
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

JWM is perceived as #1 in Chandigarh tri-city and rightly so. There wasn't any real competition for JWM as such till very recently but now after Lalit has come up in IT area, and things wouldn't be as easy for them.

However, as of now they are a an excellent option in the top-end bracket.

Front office is courteous, friendly and helping. Concierge is simply superb. Entire staff greets you with folded hands namaste each time your eyes meet theirs. Rooms are very decently decorated and are perfectly sized. I stayed in 327 for a night.

If i wear my critic hat then i can only point out at their buffet breakfast as an area with some scope of improvement. The spread isn't as large as it could perhaps be if you benchmark with hotels abroad. I didn't quite like tea being served in glasses like a road-side tea stall ! Ideally there should be a choice between Darjeeling, Assam or Organic green tea etc etc

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeepakManocha, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Gj4567,

Thankyou for taking out time to share the valuable feedback of your stay on Trip Advisor, we are delighted to know that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the expansive rooms and the services extended the associates at Front Office and Concierge; we do get similar feedback about the rooms and friendly nature of the associates and everyone appreciates the warm welcome in local language as Sat sree akaal.

I have made a note of your feedback on expanse of the breakfast buffet and am surprised as on most of the occassions guests have appreciated the choicesand variety available to them at breakfast , would you be kind enough to share what else was your expectation that we could consider adding upon to the breakfast buffet. I have also made a note of choice of tea options though it is available with the servers the chai station specifically serves masala chai, Indian style henceforth we wil keep an option of different type of mugs wherein the team could be offered.

Mr Gj4567 everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely

Deepak Manocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I stayed in JWM at chandigarh last week. The hotel is world class. Staff is very courteous. Rooms are very spacious. Wash room has all world class amenities. Breakfast has got a very wide menu. Special attraction is fresh juice counter and freah parantha counter and desi chai like dhaba. I enjoyed the food vey much.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeepakManocha, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear drsanju,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay experience at the Trip Advisor. We are delighted that your stay with the JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh was enjoyable.

Thank you for your words of appreciation about the Hotel product in general its rooms; food and beverage facilities especially the breakfast expanse offering authentic punjabi paranthas and desi chai; almost all our guests love these and appreciate them; such notes of appreciation motivates and inspires the team to continue to deliver more and more.

dr sanju, everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely

Deepak Manocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riffa, Bahrain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We spent two nights at the JW Marriott as a stop place to spend the night at, at our first stop our room was directly above the party hall. And unfortunately there was a party at that night and we couldn’t sleep. At our second stay, we requested a room far from the hall, and we were placed on the 5th floor, however the did have a party as well at that night and several drunk people were roaming in the corridor, I called the front desk and they apologized. We had a chat with the manager next morning and she apologized.
Other than that, everything else was average.

Room Tip: chose a room far away from elevators and corridors, and make sure the party hall is not directly bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeepakManocha, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Aeris_83,

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experiences at the TripAdvisor. I apologize that your recent stay experience was not satisfactory and it was marred by noise disturbances.

I have taken time since your feedback to find out the details and do acknowledge that there was a wedding group in the Hotel during the period of your stay and the noise of their event travelled to your room. Whilst we limit noise levels during such events however at times the DJ's get excited and increase the base level thereby increasing chances of noise travelling to the rooms.We do have check and balances to prevent it however it appears that they were missed; we have taken immediate corrective steps and measures to avoid such inexpeiences in future.

Dear Aeris_83 if you would like to discuss your experience further, please feel free to contact me directly at the phone number listed below.

Once again, please accept my apology. We would like to regain your trust and as a gesture of our sincerity and goodwill extend a courtesy upgrade to a suite room during the your next trip and travel to Chandigarh. I do hope you will allow us this opportunity to provide you with an different guest experience when your travel to Chandigarh next. Please do let us know when you are travelling next so I can make the necessary arrangements.

Sincerely

Deepak Manocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed in hotel in Jan-14 for 2 nights.the rooms are big and well decorated.Enjoyed the most most mouth watering indian dishes spl punjabis with Soup,Nan. The kashmiri Pulaoo was the most succulent. At the top the Hospality of staff was very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeepakManocha, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Pradeep,

Thank you for taking out time to write your feedback as a review on Trip Advisor; your words of appreciation and comments become the source of inspiration and motivation to Hotel associates and encourages them to continue to do more.

Yes indeed we have the most modern;spacious and well appointed rooms across the city in fact our Hotel rooms are the largest rooms in the city at 42sq meters; we always get complimented for being the most spacious and well appointed rooms.I am pleased to read that your experience of Indian food including food quality and hospitality of the staff impressed you; we thank you for sharing your feedback as this motivates and inspres the team at the Hotel to deliver better at all times.

Pradeep,everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely

Deepak Manocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Visited the hotel in December 2013 with family for a two night stay. Check in was a breeze with a room upgrade, and all the preferences taken care of as per my Marriott membership details. The front office staff is exceptional, any request and it was taken care of in minutes. The location of the hotel is excellent with all the markets and tourist spots nearby.

The morning breakfast at the cafe deserves a special mention with one of the most innovative spread that I have seen in hotels in India. The chai and Paranthas deserve a special mention.

In case you are in Chandigarh, do dine at the Indian restaurant in this hotel.The chef make the most succulent and mouth watering kebabs, loved the food here.

This review would not be complete without a mention of the cleanliness of the hotel and the courteous staff. My kids loved the hotel, it was truly a memorable stay thank you guys and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeepakManocha, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Gaurav,

Thank you for taking out the time to share your experiences and feedback with us and all on Trip Advisor. Your kind words of appreciation about the Hotel staff services and in particular about Front desk, Food and Beverage and Housekeeping associates is sincerely appreciated; it is such words of encouragment that motivates and inspires everyone in the team to deliver good service to all our guests.

Gaurav, as mentioned by you the breakfast buffet at the Cafe@JW is indeed the largest spread across the city offering authentic Indian food across north, south and western part of the country; with fresh juice station; oriental and western delights including bakery; its a great value for money. Saffron the Indian restaurant with its new Chef Shiva Arora is foodies delight when it comes to Punjabi food and many a guests give similar feedback.

Gaurav, everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely

Deepak Manoch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

enjoyed the most mouth watering indian cuisine at saffron fine dine restaurant. the starter with potato and hash brown as main ingredients was out of the world. the tandoori chicken was most succulent, it just melted in my mouth. main course was a winner all the way with the honours going to kali dal/ dal makhni- calling it that to put it simply - a must have. not to be left out we tried a thai soup - the flavours were exquisite. we freaked out on the hospitality of the stewards and the chef - who went out of their way to make us comfortable and at home. looking forward to the next time. oh i forgor, the paan ki kulfi was the icing on the cake to wrap up the evening. Chef Shiva Arora rules.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeepakManocha, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Harrymavi,

Thank you for taking out the time to share your experiences and feedback with us and all on Trip Advisor. Your kind words of appreciation about your experience at Saffron, the Indian restaurant is sincerely appreciated; it is such words of encouragment that motivates and inspires everyone in the team to deliver good service to all our guests.

Shiva the Chef at Saffron came on board recently and has since then refreshed the menu entirely by adding in additional local specialities; bringing down the pricing for many items. These changes has been getting quite some good feedback similar to yours and it is now the favourite Indian restaurant of residents of Tri City and also the resident guests of the Hotel.

Harrymavi,everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely

Deepak Manocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh

Address: Sector 35B, Dakshin Marg, Chandigarh 160035, India
Location: India > Chandigarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 74 Hotels in Chandigarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every nuance of the JW Marriott Chandigarh spells understated luxury. Conceptualized around the five elements of nature, the hotel is an epitome of magnificence. The hotel is centrally located within close proximity to the airport and the railway station, in addition to the Business District Sector 17 and the Information Technology Park. Chandigarh, being a gateway city, provides easy access to key tourist destinations of North India as well. The hotel offers 165 spacious rooms, 4 suites and 1 presidential suite elegantly designed in a unique open layout. In keeping with tradition, the culinary experience at the JW Marriott Chandigarh is an extravagance of flavours and finest delicacies. The food is authentic, true to the local culture and crafted to suit the refined palate.It offers multiple dining options, The Café at JW: All Day Dining; Chandigarh Baking Company: Deli and Patisserie; The Lounge: a transitional bar; Saffron: Signature Indian Cuisine; and Oregano Restaurant and Bar: Fine dine Italian cuisine; a full service executive lounge and the luxuriously relaxing, world renowned Quan Spa, the JW Marriott Chandigarh is the perfect mix of business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.