We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing Italian restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sector 35B, Dakshin Marg, Chandigarh 160035, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Affordable Luxury at JW
Ranked #3 of 76 Hotels in Chandigarh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amritsar, India
1 review
“amazing Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I had to spend couple of days in Chandigarh and I wanted to have a good Italian dinner. So I decided to go to the JWMarriott because I've heard about his restaurant "Oregano". Chef Antonello prepared some different kind of "ravioli" for me and everything was excellent! I could also drink a glass of red wine from Italy. I felt at home. Chef Antonello and his staff were really nice and helpful with me and they create a welcoming atmosphere also singing some Italian songs with the guitar.
I also appreciate the beautiful hotel in which the Oregano restaurant is located, his big and comfortable room and the nice swimming pool on the top.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    151
    31
    13
    10
See reviews for
145
59
16
223
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Metro Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Traveling in India can be difficult. One strategy for more adventure on your India travel is to have a nice retreat at the end of the day. The JW Marriot Chandigarh is the nicest hotel that I have stayed at in this city.

The exercise facilities are v. good to excellent and the roof-top infinity pool is nice. The hotel staff are cordial and provide good service. The rooms are new, spacious and, unlike many hotels, not mouldy.

Without hesitation, I will use this hotel again.

Room Tip: The 8th Floor is the club floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Very good service and nice big rooms. Breakfast buffe was excellent and also the restaurants in the hotel.

The pool on the roof was dirty and needs to be cleaned more often.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi india
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

New hotel!nice big rooms huge bathroom.the sunday brunch was terrific lots of variety and delicious.the Italian restaurant was excellent too.the only reason I have given one less star is because some of the front desk staff and concierge needs to be trained.they were helpful but Chandigarh is a small place they really need to be aware of what is happening in there city.great stay apart from this.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Had an excellent stay at this hotel with my family. Rooms are spacious with beautiful interiors. Loved the pool side area. Buffet Breakfast and Dinner are delicious with a vast variety. One cannot possibly even try all the dishes. All in all, an excellent Hotel. Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambala, Haryana, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The cafe restaurant of JW marriott has got "The most amazing Buffet".The non-alcoholic drinks are really nice,they offer 3-4 non-alcoholic drinks which are well prepared .The starters(veg.) (other than barbecue dishes) are really scrumptious.The starters(veg.) (barbecue dishes) are nicely served but are not too great to taste,but one can have them once.The salad is exhaustive,premium,fresh 10/10 for that.They serve 7 course meal which is really awesome!!!.....best to taste,well presented,actually more than sufficient variety.As i was having my brunch with my family i found the ambiance excellent,they have employed the best staff which is extremely helpful,courteous and would exhaustively explain whatever you asks for again 10/10 for that.I don't have taste for Thai food so can't really comment on that.Taking about The desserts they offer you almost a pastry shop combined with conventional sweets,again the desserts are scrumptious,variety of choices(you can't taste all of them)...................................I am definitely going back again very soon........

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a few times over the last twelve months that it has now been opened. Consistently the breakfast is delicious - fresh juice bar, fruit bar, weetbix (hard to find in India!), plus all the other offereings! Beds are sooooo comfortable. Gym is 24 hours and state of the art, Pool is infinity and v nice. staff are friendly. Previously i used to stay at the Taj and this is far far superior to Taj (sorry Taj but see this as healthy competition for you in CHD:)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh

Address: Sector 35B, Dakshin Marg, Chandigarh 160035, India
Location: India > Chandigarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 76 Hotels in Chandigarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every nuance of the JW Marriott Chandigarh spells understated luxury. Conceptualized around the five elements of nature, the hotel is an epitome of magnificence. The hotel is centrally located within close proximity to the airport and the railway station, in addition to the Business District Sector 17 and the Information Technology Park. Chandigarh, being a gateway city, provides easy access to key tourist destinations of North India as well. The hotel offers 165 spacious rooms, 4 suites and 1 presidential suite elegantly designed in a unique open layout. In keeping with tradition, the culinary experience at the JW Marriott Chandigarh is an extravagance of flavours and finest delicacies. The food is authentic, true to the local culture and crafted to suit the refined palate.It offers multiple dining options, The Café at JW: All Day Dining; Chandigarh Baking Company: Deli and Patisserie; The Lounge: a transitional bar; Saffron: Signature Indian Cuisine; and Oregano Restaurant and Bar: Fine dine Italian cuisine; a full service executive lounge and the luxuriously relaxing, world renowned Quan Spa, the JW Marriott Chandigarh is the perfect mix of business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.