We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique place to visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rock Garden of Chandigarh

The Rock Garden of Chandigarh
Sector No.1, Chandigarh, India
91 172 740 645
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 55 attractions in Chandigarh
Type: Parks
Attraction Details
Pune
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unique place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

It was a unique trip to Rock garden. It is a whole garden made out of scrap. Its wonderful to see the walls and statues made from waste. Mr. Nek Chand did a very good job. Its huge though and gets boring after some time. There is a phase 3 added with swings, camel ride, tiny aquarium and places that sell snacks.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    206
    58
    15
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Creativity at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Had heard a lot about this and it took me almost an hour and a half of leisure sauntering to see the entire garden. Loved every bit of it. From the rock sculptures to the broken bangle figurines to the mosaic designs...everything was so creative and imaginative.

I loved the part in Phase III where they have swings in the pillared hall. It was so much fun to re-live childhood :)

One surely would think....today's generation has iPhones and iPads and iPods....the one who created this sure had iMagination :)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhiwani, Haryana, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chandigarh is not complete without ROCK Garden .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

It is mind blowing experience. We have seen the creativity of a person , whose imigination have converted the waste material into a world of silent liveness.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Not my cup of tea”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Found the Rock Garden a bit boring and pretty standard. I didn't think there was anything special about it. Though it didn't appeal to me i am sure others would enjoy it

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I was thrilled at the creativity of the artist who did this place. It's indeed an amazing place for tourists to visit and spend time looking at the marvelous structures. What saddened me was the way the whole place was maintained by the authorities. It is pathetic that such an important tourist location is not maintained properly in spite of collecting entry fees from visitors. The place was littered with waste paper, wrapper, bottles etc. Authorities should take steps to maintain this beautiful place.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rock Garden of Chandigarh also viewed

 
Chandigarh, India
 

Been to The Rock Garden of Chandigarh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rock Garden of Chandigarh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Rock Garden of Chandigarh to your Saves list