We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sukhna Lake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sukhna Lake

Sukhna Lake
Chandigarh, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 55 attractions in Chandigarh
Type: Bodies of Water
Attraction Details
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sukhna Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Sukhna lake is a man-made lake in the northern part of Chandigarh touching almost the foothills. Half of the path around the lake ~ 2km is paved, well maintained and is excellent for early morning strolls and jogs ( parallel dirt track for jogging is available). Boating is available as well. You can often see migratory birds too.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    161
    59
    12
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice place to hang out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This place is nice for a relaxed visit. We went pedal boating in the morning. There are ducks in the water. We went again in the early evening. There are some food places and souvenir places around. There are also some rides for kids. I liked the walking track around the lake the best. The place is well maintained.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Crowded, yet good for a stroll in the early hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Very close to the Rock Garden, this is more of a family picnic spot. If you wish to take in the beauty and calm, then go there early morning or late evening when its less crowded.

It's a man made lake, but the water level is fast depleting. I wish people would pay more attention to maintaining the cleanliness of the promenade. The wait for the boat ride can be quite a pain during peak hours. They have loads of ducks and swans that you can feed and enjoy hearing them quack.

Plus point is adequate parking opposite the lake.

The food court has yummy hot and cold chocolate...loved it!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Ok for a quick visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I went here after visiting the Rock Garden, we went in the evening so could not really enjoy the lake as it was dark. We sat and had a tea in the food court area which was nice. I'm sure if we came during the day we would of got more use out of the visit

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhiwani, Haryana, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A good picnic spot , when you are with family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The children will definitly love to come here & will have the full enjoyment. Boating is good & during peak time you have to wait a long. Some problem comes in vehicle parking due to rush.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sukhna Lake also viewed

 
Chandigarh, India
 

Been to Sukhna Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sukhna Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sukhna Lake to your Saves list