We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TAJ DECCAN HYDERABAD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Deccan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Deccan to your Saves list
Taj Deccan
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Road No. 1, Banjara Hills, Hyderabad 500034, India (Banjara Hills)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 280 Hotels in Hyderabad
kolkata, India
1 review
“TAJ DECCAN HYDERABAD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Amazing hospitality and great ambience. Very courteous and pleasant staff. Fantastic food and lavish spread at the buffet. Prompt and impeccable in room service. A must recommended hotel for all kinds of tavelles.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    154
    57
    11
    3
See reviews for
26
25
48
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When I am in Hyderabad with my wife I usually prefer staying here and have been staying here since almost 15 years now as previously it was known as The Taj Residency.I find the rooms very comfortable,the service very good,the ambience is great and the breakfast has a great variety.
Dr.Javed Rasheed

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RishiChopra1, General Manager at Taj Deccan, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Taj Deccan, Hyderabad!

We thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we highly value your feedback, Look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again at Taj Deccan, Hyderabad soon.

Assuring you of finest in services at all times.

With warm regards,

Rishi Chopra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Quite a quaint old place, with good well kept grounds, lots of space, good pool, good rooms. Yes, a little laid back, a little frumpy at times, but essentially top drawer as far as class and elegance is concerned. The rooms aren't the biggest, and the interiors are, well, old. CRT TVs? Seriously? But otherwise, charm oozes conspicuously, especially in this age where every other place is flush and modern and glass and chrome and..well...soulless. This place does stand out, and the stay is very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RishiChopra1, General Manager at Taj Deccan, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Taj Deccan, Hyderabad!

We thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we highly value your feedback, Look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again at Taj Deccan, Hyderabad soon.

Assuring you of finest in services at all times.

Kind regards,

Rishi Chopra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When its Taj, anyway its not easy to find fault. Once you experience Taj hospitality, you start missing the smallest of the stuff. In my last visit, had some time on saturday and hence thought of experiencing the spa. Tried Taj Krishna ( across the road ) and tried the in house saloon and were disappointed. The stuff seemed completely uninterested to take another guest.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RishiChopra1, General Manager at Taj Deccan, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Taj Deccan, Hyderabad!

We thank you for selecting to stay at Taj Deccan – Hyderabad.

At the outset, we sincerely apologize for not being able to meet your expectations during this visit. We have noted your feedback with utmost concern.

Kind regards,

Rishi Chopra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good location. The property is old. Perhaps not the best of maintenance. Lift at a single point. No bacons for breakfast.

The staff try to be helpful, but perhaps lack the finesse. You can observe difference with staff of other Taj hotels.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RishiChopra1, General Manager at Taj Deccan, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Taj Deccan, Hyderabad!

We thank you for selecting to stay at Taj Deccan – Hyderabad.

At the outset, we sincerely apologize for not being able to meet your expectations during this visit. We have noted your feedback with utmost concern.

With warm regards,

Rishi Chopra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

Good room, Huge long balconies, only one lift at the end. Design very old. Staff is good and courteous, joins the nearby Taj across the road. good wifi. free for 24hrs only. can be better as its in such a place. Very good spa area.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RishiChopra1, General Manager at Taj Deccan, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Taj Deccan, Hyderabad!

We thank you for selecting to stay at Taj Deccan – Hyderabad.

At the outset, we sincerely apologize for not being able to meet your expectations during this visit. We have noted your feedback with utmost concern.

With warm regards,

Rishi Chopra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Having stayed at Taj Deccan back in 2010, I decided to stay here again in 2015. The hotel now feels very outdated. The walls are dirty, the roof in the atrium is in disrepair. The TV in the room is still a CRT TV (I cannot believe that a reputable brand like Taj still has CRT Tvs in 2015!!).

The hotel clearly doesn't justify the prices it charges for the rooms.

There are only two things this place has going for it
+ The staff are extremely courteous and accommodating (for example, i requested an early checkin at 10:00 am and they agreed to it. It is very rare for a hotel to do checkin so early!)
+ The breakfast buffet included in the room price is AWESOME

However, they nickel and dime for everything. A bottle of Aquafina water is Rs 155! PLUS taxes. The lunch buffet is great but overpriced!. With taxes it comes close to Rs 1600 per person.

Overall, I don't recommend this place. You are better off choosing other 5 star hotels nearby even if it means you need to spend a little bit extra. The value you get would be much better.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RishiChopra1, General Manager at Taj Deccan, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Ma’ am,

Greetings from Taj Deccan, Hyderabad!

We thank you for selecting to stay at Taj Deccan – Hyderabad.

At the outset, we sincerely apologize for not being able to meet your expectations during this visit. We have noted your feedback with utmost concern.

With warm regards,

Rishi Chopra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Taj Deccan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Deccan

Address: Road No. 1, Banjara Hills, Hyderabad 500034, India
Location: India > Telangana > Hyderabad > Banjara Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Hyderabad
#26 Business Hotel in Hyderabad
#26 Luxury Hotel in Hyderabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Deccan 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Taj Deccan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Deccan Hyderabad
Taj Deccan Hotel Hyderabad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Deccan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.