We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food.. Average rooms..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Deccan

Save Saved
You added Taj Deccan to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Deccan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Road No. 1, Banjara Hills, Hyderabad 500034, India (Banjara Hills)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 268 hotels in Hyderabad
hyderabad
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food.. Average rooms..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Taj Deccan is one of the most beautiful hotels to dine at. They have 3 restaurants serving authentic food and exotic drinks. The Arena, a 24hr coffee shop and has very good continental and oriental cuisine. Spice Junxion, an authentic south-indian restaurant serves some of the best andhra and karnataka food. Vada Sambar, malabar paratha and andhra pappu are a few of the many options one can choose from. They also have a in-house pub named Syn, which is one of the best in the city. Some of the most happening parties are hosted there and one always gets to see many celebs and page-3 folks. They serve some of the exotic drinks and mocktails. Its location makes it one of the most convenient places to stay in. It is very near to some of the best shopping malls and eateries.

Coming to the rooms, its not that great, atleast not to the reputation of a Taj hotel. The standard rooms have very average furnishing with box-type TVs and queen size beds. The same is with the hotel staff. They are good but not that professional. As I dint like the room, I asked for a refund so that I could shift to some other hotel. So, they upgraded me to a Junior Suite, which was definitely more spacious, contemporary and comfortable. The hotel has amazing exteriors and architecture and has all the standard facilities like a gym, salon, travel desk and a swimming pool. Overall, its a pretty good hotel to stay and an amazing place to dine.

Room Tip: Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    138
    49
    8
    1
See reviews for
18
24
47
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Taj Deccan may not enjoy the classiest of interiors. You will find various pieces of kitsch littered around the property: charging horses at the courtyard, hurried paintings on the walls and odd baubles at corners. But the one thing that makes this middle-budget hotel stand out is its service.

Food, whether ordered at the table or to the room, was brought quickly. Special dishes not on the menu were offered. Side dishes were brought over from another hotel restaurant. Complimentary fruits were offered in the room without asking. Tables were cleared between plates quietly, at the right moment.

The laundry turnaround was quick when I needed it. A noise that needed fixing was done quickly.

But perhaps the reason for my gush is a small gesture from one member of the staff. I needed a couple of copies of a backdated newspaper. There was only one in their stock. A frontdesk guy brought me the other one from his home. Small help, big relief.

Room Tip: None of the rooms have a grand view. But the ones facing the lawn at the back have a longer view. An...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHENNAI,INDIA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have stayed in most Taj hotels but my experience in this one was the best. I was surprised to find that the general manager and the executive chef were always around---omnipresent I should say,rather unusual for a star hotel. Problems,if any and however small, were promptly solved.Room service is excellent and the staff very courteous. The front office/duty managers are excellent.Wi Fi is great.

Room Tip: The rooms on the third floor are good.However,like in any other hotel, make sure repair wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights on a business trip and was impressed with the lobby entrance which has an understated richness to it, understated that is untill you see the 30ft high plaster wall mural of stampeding horses above the lobby restaurant and the coy carp pool. It sounds ridiculous but it all works very nicely. At lobby level there are three restaurants, all of which are decent. The main buffet/breakfast area which is comfortable and sits below aforementioned stampeding horses, an Indian restaurant which is very pleasant and an asian fusion/sushi place which is also pretty good. The bar at the back is light and breezy which contrasts with the dark wood of the bar itself giving it a pleasing club like feel. Outside is are some pleasant grounds and a decent sized swimming pool. There is a tennis court and a gym as well if that takes your fancy.

One of the things I love about this place is that it is almost totally anonymous. It hides behind tall walls and shrubbery so it can barely be seen from the road unlike its neighbour the Taj Krishna, which parades itself like a cheap tart above Banjara. (to be fair I rather like the Krishna too but that is another review, I once met a lovely pair of Liverpudlian singers in the bar there....). So the Deccan is a place for the kind of person who doesnt need to shout their presence, understated and calming.

Now the downside - the rooms are rubbish. They are quite big and they are clean which is kind of the bare minimum. Otherwise they are in need of some serious updating. CRT tv which flickers, dodgy bathroom fittings, dated furniture and light switches which make no sense at all.

The sevice is typically Taj, excellent, and it is much better value than its upmarket sister hotel but it does need a little love and attention. On the other hand I would definitely stay here again and the location is great too. I would have given it five dots were it not for the room and I almost gave it three but thought that too mean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bidar, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Taj deccan is one really nice property out here in hyderabad. Its offerings were mesmerising right from check in to check out. The staff is really nice and co-operative. Tried the buffet lunch and dinner and mind you they were really nice and the take away fragrances of hyderabad "Biryani" was really mouth watering. Rooms were nice and the overall ambiance of the hotel was nice. Nice jestures such as early morining wake up call to catch flight was nice.....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Once again I have to admit my soft corner for Taj properties in India.. with their excellent and personalized service levels

The Taj Deccan is a good hotel, but I think it is in need of an upgrade.

It was the usual warm welcome and smooth checkin.

Breakfast is good, but nothing outstanding....I think the Taj Begumpet property scores over them.

The rooms are a little olde decor with an ancient TV. This was the only let down in an otherwise great stay. However the post sales follow up by the GM was great and left me with a good feeling.

I think congratulations are due to the GM Ms Suman Ghelot for trying to keep up to the Taj standards despite the state of the property. Hope the Taj top brass are listening.....

Room Tip: Some of the rooms open on to a sort of garden....not sure which side though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, Madhya Pradesh, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Taj hotel as you know are always graceful.here in Taj Decan Hyderabad you have many option to enjoy with the swimming pool.Tried dinner buffet and breakfast - very impressive.Rooms are Impressive.The staff is very cooprative.For early check-out they packed breakfast for us.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Deccan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Deccan

Address: Road No. 1, Banjara Hills, Hyderabad 500034, India
Location: India > Andhra Pradesh > Hyderabad > Banjara Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Hyderabad
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hyderabad
#24 Business Hotel in Hyderabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Taj Deccan 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Taj Deccan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Deccan Hyderabad
Taj Deccan Hotel Hyderabad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Deccan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;