We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing architecture” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Deccan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Deccan to your Saves list
Taj Deccan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Road No. 1, Banjara Hills, Hyderabad 500034, India (Banjara Hills)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 274 Hotels in Hyderabad
Mumbai
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Amazing architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Taj Deccan has an amazing architecture and a unique concept with atrium dining. The food spread is great and sumptious. However, the rooms need renovation. The sanitary fixtures are very ordinary and the TV needs to immediately replaced with an LCD one. However, stay was very comfortable and sleep quality was very good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    146
    51
    11
    1
See reviews for
20
25
47
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I was happy to enjoy the comforts of Taj Deccan for the nights of Jan 6 and 7, 2012 and the stay was really pleasant. This was earlier known as Taj Residency hotel and its a business hotel with pleasing interior decor and very good food. Would recommend a stay when you visit Hyderabad.

Room Tip: Lots of greenery around, higher rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel during my business trip to Hyderabad. I have choosen this hotel mainly because of nearby from my business location. However i have stayed only one days and had only breakfast here. the breakfast quality was very nice. Room was nice and also very comfortable. Bathroom was also very spacious and well cleaned.
Lobby size was also very big. one should stay here atleast once here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a week, enjoyed great hospitality, impressed by cleanliness of rooms, but would have enjoyed it if the air con had been maintained better.
The syn restaurant is really ok, and I Will probably go there again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Large property with all corridors looking into the atrium (well mostly). Plenty of interesting art works on all walls. Efficient check-in process after which I was promptly escorted to my room.
Rooms were comfortable, bathroom was clean and supplies adequate. My request for extra supplies was readily addressed by the attendant.
The 24 Hour gym (seperate for ladies) is well equipped; attentive trainer on hand for helpful tips to aid your workout.
Breakfast spread had a large variety of options (including a 'breakfast on the go' for those in a hurry). Some of the cheese slices, as well as breads looked (and felt) slightly desiccated though.

Arrangements for our conference were executed well, and participants enjoyed the buffet meal laid on by the banquet staff who were very responsive to guests' needs.

I was kindly permitted a late check-out, and the billing process was as quick and pleasant as the Check-in. This applies to the banquets billing process as well.
Must say the quality of staff at this hotel is outstanding, and service was mostly faultless. Would certainly like to go back.

gripes: my room overlooked an outdoor balcony, where participants from another conference seemed to be having their lunch etc; privacy was lost to some extent.

My welcome drink took time to reach my room despite guest services confirming that 'it was on the way'. I wasted about 20 minutes waiting for it in all (it hadn't arrived till I left for a workout).
The telephone has a red button for guest services- however, on pressing this I got connected to the operator who tartly told me to "dial 77". Perhaps a change of button or of attitude is called for.

Room Tip: Higher Floors looking out on the Lake would give a panoramic view of the City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

I had to stay in this hotel for two nights as part of an international conference which was in the sister hotel Taj Krishna across the road.

First appearance:
Good location.Nice and grand lobby

Check in:Was fast and pleasant.
.
Room: Good size but lots of issues with the quality.See the attached pictures.

Old style TV with the picture tube.
Mattress was saggy on one side where the phone is kept and the pillows were not comfortable at all.
The furnishings were dated including the window curtain which has definitely seen better days and curled up carpet.
Guest services: Terrible to say the least.Three different requests made by me and none of them were resolved satisfactorily.
I was given a room above the pool and tent and because of the (?semi-permanent) tent,there is not much view of the pool or garden.There was loud music being played from the pool side in the after noon.Though I complained to the guest services and was assured that there is no functions/weddings there,the music continued for some time.
As there was a spa in the hotel,I asked the guest services for a menu which was not available in the room.I was told it will be sent right away but never heard any thing after that.After 4hours I called in to the spa to see it personally.The person there was helpful and told me he will make sure one copy of the menu will be sent to the room.But again,that was a long wait with no result!! I decided not to use any spa/gym services just because of this and instead went out to the opium spa in the city centre mall.
Thirdly,I requested to arrange pay as you go sim card for local use(which was done happily by Taj in Delhi last year) as they had all my details including copy of passport and identifications.After a long wait on the phone,I was told it is not possible as they don't offer the service any more.A trip to the main road and a mere 5 minutes at a corner shop and the sim was in my pocket.No questions asked except the copies of identification.
Come on-this could have been easily offered at the hotel.But getting the customers interest did not seem to be their priority.

The sleep was terrible due to the mattress and few noisy children next door shouting all night keeping their room door open.

Breakfast : Plenty of choices.Options I chose were delicious and authentic.The service was also good

Spice Junxion restaurant: Good ambiance,choice of food and helpful staff.Bit pricey.

Check out: was smooth and easy.

All in all,I felt like I was some how being punished for being part of a group booking.
The stay did not match my expectations of a 5 star Taj property (of which I have stayed in several)
Will I return to this hotel-surely not.There are 4 star properties in the city which offer far better value for money and ambiance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room well away from the pool and marquee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Had a very pleasant stay for two nights at this hotel. The usual Taj service, very courteous staff, good breakfast, nice coffee shop. The hotel seemed a little dated but beautiful none the less.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Deccan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Deccan

Address: Road No. 1, Banjara Hills, Hyderabad 500034, India
Location: India > Telangana > Hyderabad > Banjara Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Hyderabad
#22 Luxury Hotel in Hyderabad
#24 Business Hotel in Hyderabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Taj Deccan 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Taj Deccan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Deccan Hyderabad
Taj Deccan Hotel Hyderabad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Deccan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.