We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“courtyard by marriott, a diamond in the rough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyderabad Marriott Hotel & Convention Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hyderabad Marriott Hotel & Convention Centre to your Saves list
Hyderabad Marriott Hotel & Convention Centre
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Opposite Hussain Sagar Lake, Hyderabad 500 080, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #29 of 279 Hotels in Hyderabad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Navsari, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“courtyard by marriott, a diamond in the rough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed in courtyard recently in Hyderabad for 5 days, which is attached to its big brother Marriott hotel.For what ever reason, this is a hotel not well known yet in the city, even the taxi drivers do not know it.Fair to say it is a daimond in the rough. Courteous staff,with excellent service. It does not have a lounge of its own but we used the one in the Marriott. They have excellent spread of Hord D'ouevers in the evening with cocktails. Okra restaurant serves great breakfast . enjoyed our stay throughly.
Naren Gupta.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyderabadMarriott, General Manager at Hyderabad Marriott Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Dear Sir,

We really appreciate your feedback!!

We agree that Courtyard by Marriott, Hyderabad is a new gem in the city of Nizams, and we strive to make it the most preferred one. We are happy to meet your expectations and it is good to know that you enjoyed the overall stay at Couryard by Marriott.

Please let us know about your next travel details to Hyderabad, so that we can make your stay more comfortable.

Warm Regards,
Ramesh Jackson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    214
    94
    21
    20
See reviews for
61
46
49
384
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Marriott is one of the best hotels i ever stayed in my life till date. It is beautifully designed with the carved sand stone exteriors & lusty interiors. Good sized rooms with world class facilities. Centrally located & situated opposite to the Hussain Sagar Lake ~AKA~ Tank Bund where stands a statue of Gautam Buddha. One can feel a cool breeze every time he comes out of the hotel & feel like in heaven, either at pool side or while exiting from hotel. Those three days were fun at "Marriott-HYD".
...The 3 days to be cherished forever...!! :) :) :)

Room Tip: Pool side view rooms should be preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyderabadMarriott, General Manager at Hyderabad Marriott Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Dear Sir,

It was good to know you enjoyed the overall stay at Hyderabad Marriott. Thank you for taking the time out and reviewing our hotel; your feedback is valuable.

Please let us know about your next travel details to Hyderabad, so that we can make your stay more comfortable.

Warm Regards,
Ramesh Jackson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ningbo, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

it was my fisrt time travel to Hyderabat and this is my second travel to India for wedding. 7 night straight party. the best is to stay in town and party to avoid all traffict. best location.

Room Tip: dont get the room face the old cemetry
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyderabadMarriott, General Manager at Hyderabad Marriott Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Dear Guest,

It was good to know you enjoyed the overall stay at Hyderabad Marriott.
Thankyou for taking the time out and reviewing our hotel; your feedback is valuable. Please let us know about your next travel details to Hyderabad, so that we can make your stay more comfortable.

Warm Regards,
Ramesh Jackson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed here for almost a week while working out in Tech City. The hotel is in the center of town, and the ride is easily 45 minutes to Tech. The rooms are small but very nice, there were times that I had trouble communicating with staff. Room service is average, but the lounge is great and the kid who is the chef, I can't say enough about his service and smile. I would recommend this hotel if you are staying in Hyderabad, but but be warned it's a long way to anywhere. Traffic in HYD is always bad.

One thing of note, if you have a car coming to pick you up the staff will not call out your name. They will call out your room number, so listen for that.

Room Tip: Be patient if English is your only language.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyderabadMarriott, General Manager at Hyderabad Marriott Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Dear Sir,

It was good to know you enjoyed the overall stay at Hyderabad Marriott. Thankyou for taking the time out and reviewing our hotel; your feedback is valuable.

Please let us know about your next travel details to Hyderabad, so that we can make your stay more comfortable.

Warm Regards,
Ramesh Jackson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
151 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
391 helpful votes 391 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Stayed here in Sep but would have checked out on day 1 except I was with a group on business. It's not that it's a totally bad hotel, it's that the bad bits far outweigh the good bits. FAR outweigh. FAR FFAAARRRRR outweigh. So forget it if you want proper 5* hotel; this is not 5* and never will be without the Caterpillar D6 solution. It’s 3-4* at the best. And expensive to boot.
First the (mostly) good bits (and there are some)

1) Reception staff good, courteous, without being over the top, fluent English.

2) Free internet if you are Marriot rewards member.

3) Okra restaurant for breakfast looks good and the poolside looks great, even though the pool is small, and what were they thinking of for style? Ancient-meets-modern, Greco/Roman schoolboy nilhism meets Doric Columns looking for a Hollywood (or maybe Bollywood) partner no doubt.

4) Very comfortable bed so had a reasonable night’s sleep, as good as you can get with clogged sinuses, see mould smell issues below.

5) Brightly lit and very clean bathroom.

6) Iron and ironing board in the room. However, the iron is a light weight, cheap, flimsy non-steam thing, with a worn sole plate, that barely would iron a handkerchief. Not the sort of iron anyone in their right mind would buy. Can’t see a reason since the iron is hardwired to the board and I don’t believe anyone staying here would pinch an iron like that. In addition, once the ironing board is up, movement is very restricted as it can only go in one place in the room, and it blocks the corridor. Maybe another attempt to make you use the laundry service and pay the exorbitant charges.

7) Windows are double glazed so noise is low

8) Incoming the security was very good, with sniffer dogs and a pat down. But I think is is variable because I saw hotel staff coming and going with no check. Maybe Marriot thinks terrorists don't think to dress as hotel staff to get in?

Bad bits (Really BAD) (No I mean REALLY REALY BAD)

1) There is an overwhelming smell of must and mould as soon as you walk in the hotel, and it is even worse in the room. It is so strong as to defy words. I was so tired I didn’t ask for a room change because I figured it was so bad in the lobby that it would be everywhere. If you have sinus, asthma or allergy problems forget this hotel immediately. This was the worst feature by far of my stay. The Air con ducts must be full of condensation, mould and mildew so you are probably breathing mould spores all night.

2) The complimentary airport-to-hotel transfer didn’t work (no one was there from the hotel to meet me) so had to get a taxi from the airport. The hotel offer of a free transfer back to the airport was unacceptable since I was leaving straight from work on the 5th day for the airport.

3) The hotel is in a semi-residential area far from any shops or restaurants. So if you do not have your own transport you are trapped. In addition, although the description of the hotel by the lakeside sounds nice, it is one of the dirtiest, filthiest, garbage strewn areas unattractive areas ever. Best viewed from afar, say at 30,000 feet heading home.

4) The rooms are on small side not enough room to swing a cat. Also the work area is tiny and cramped, just big enough for a small laptop, an open A$ folder and the phone.

5) The restaurant looks good but the choice of European food for breakfast is very limited to cereals, eggs, fatty bacon, sausages, grilled tomatoes and so on. A small selction of cut fresh fruit but as it is all exposed to coughs and sneezes, not very attractive. Not a huge selection and very boring after a few days. The milk coffee is undrinkable, I think they make it by boiling full fat milk with coffee for a long time. Black coffee is tasteless muck, maybe an American blend. No expresso machine so bring your own favourite blend if you want a good coffee. I also watched as they wheeled a dirty green barrow of broken up lumps of dirty ice into the restaurant to refresh the ice under some of the cold salads and fruit. The ice looked as if it could cause food poisoning at 30 paces. Not a pretty sight to watch at breakfast time! Bizarre!

6) Basic bathroom amenities, but no extras, eg no razor or comb. The sort of things you might get in a 3* but not the same quality as say Taj, Sheraton, or Hyatt.

7) Overhead deluge shower is something I don’t like, I prefer a shower on the side and the small handheld did not compensate. Plus the bathtub does not drain quickly so by the end of the shower you are standing up to your ankles in dirty water. Yuk. Plus whatever they are using to clean the tub makes it super slippery, superdoper slippery. Can't sue them in India like you can in the States either if you slip and break your neck.

In addition, no clothesline for hand washed items and you will be paying more for laundry than the item is worth, eg 100Rp (about US2.50) for a pair of socks or underwear, nearly 10 bucks for a shirt, is more than I want to pay.

8) Another example of some of those annoying hotels where the direction to the fire escpae is signed, the direction to the elevator is not marked. You can wonder aimlessly around until you stumble on the right corridor. And coming back, not directions to room numbers are posted, so another wonder around trying to check the dull room numbers. Maybe they are wanting to give you morning exercise??

9) VERY Expensive for what it offers.

10) This is not to the Marriot standard, how did it get its franchise?

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyderabadMarriott, General Manager at Hyderabad Marriott Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the feedback.

We are investigating in the matter and will also request you to share your email details so that the hotel management can get in touch with you to get the better understanding.

Marriott worldwide is committed to exceptional hostpitality and we strives to make the same for all our guest. Your feedback has given us a chance to improvise on our quality of service.

Warm Regards,
Ramesh Jackson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Located right opposite to the Hussain Sagar Lake. If you are taking an evening flight out plan a minimum 1.5 hours travel time to account for the traffic - the Hotel is that far away for city traffic. Food selection and variety are quite good. Check-in and Check-out are smooth - especially if you have advace reservation. The front-office staff are courteous and fast. The rooms are large but the furniture takes up so much space that there is left out very little free space in the room. Otherwise is a good place to stay for 2 / 3 days.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyderabadMarriott, General Manager at Hyderabad Marriott Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Dear Sir,

It was good to know you enjoyed the overall stay at Hyderabad Marriott.
Thankyou for taking the time out and reviewing our hotel; your feedback is valuable. Please let us know about your next travel details to Hyderabad, so that we can make your stay more comfortable.

Warm Regards,
Ramesh Jackson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
174 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This hotel offered good service, comfortable beds, a great breakfast and concierge lounge (if your at the club level). The service was good and the desk staff were very friendly and helpful.
The gym is on the top floor and is very well stocked with a full range of equipment. I was very pleased with the gym though I missed a steam room or sauna for post work out relaxation.
The hotel was located near the Sagar lake. It was a bit quieter as a result, but also it felt a bit removed from the more bustling areas of the city, which left me feeling a bit isolated in options for dining, walking around.
Overall a good stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyderabadMarriott, Manager at Hyderabad Marriott Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time out and reviewing our Hotel. It was good to know that you enjoyed the stay with us. Your feedback is most valuable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyderabad Marriott Hotel & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyderabad Marriott Hotel & Convention Centre

Address: Opposite Hussain Sagar Lake, Hyderabad 500 080, India
Location: India > Telangana > Hyderabad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Hyderabad
#13 Spa Hotel in Hyderabad
#22 Luxury Hotel in Hyderabad
#24 Business Hotel in Hyderabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyderabad Marriott Hotel & Convention Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Hussain Sagar Lake, Hyderabad Marriott Hotel & Convention Centre blends fresh style and traditional aesthetics to provide premium accommodation for the business and leisure traveler. Situated in the heart of the city, Hyderabad Marriott is conveniently located just 35 mins from the Rajiv Gandhi International Airport and has an easy access to the business districts US Consulate, HICC, Hitech City; along with the historic monuments like SalarJung Museum, Charminar, Golkonda & Laad Bazaar. An ideal destination for conventions, the hotel houses a Convention Centre with the latest AV and interpretation facilities. The hotel’s picturesque location with 13,000 sq ft of outdoor spaces and sumptuous restaurants make it a popular Convention destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Marriott and Expedia so you can book your Hyderabad Marriott Hotel & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hyderabad
Hyderabad Marriott
Jw Marriott Hotel Hyderabad
Hotel Marriott Hyderabad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyderabad Marriott Hotel & Convention Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.